We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mt. Engadine disappointment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mt. Engadine Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Engadine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mt. Engadine Lodge
Save
You added Mt. Engadine Lodge to your Saves list
#1 Shark Road | turn onto Spray Trail, 38 km south of Canmore, Mount Engadine, Alberta T1W 3H9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mt. Engadine disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

location, rooms. friendly staff - great! Food, HUGE disappointment! Cold hot breakfast, mushy vegetables and pasta/rice, odd flavour/meat choices . Please, for $250 a night per person, offer a second choice of meat for dinner. Not everyone likes raw lamb and mushy fish. Food took the edge off paradise for us. k Calgary

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewKananaskis, Owner at Mt. Engadine Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for coming to Mount Engadine Lodge and I am sorry that your meals were not up to our high standard that are guests all expect. Next time you visit please ensure that you let our innkeepers know your preferences for dietary, as we always try and accommodate our guest requests. We are a small property and given our buffet style of serving and selection, we always try our best to have a variety of dishes that changes from day to day to satisfy most everyone. Andrew Kyle, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
40
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We absolutely loved our stay here and would love to be able to return some day. We had a 3 night stay in the Whiskey jack and it was just perfect. From the outset the staff were helpful with our booking and when we arrived late due to our flight being delayed they even had an evening meal waiting for us, which was very much appreciated.

The views from the room were just breathtaking and we were absolutely thrilled to be able to watch the moose each morning and evening in the valley just below. The location is perfect, far enough away from town but still within easy driving distance of Canmore should you feel the need.

The food was fantastic, made even better by the incredible surroundings. We met some fascinating people and totally loved it here.
Make sure you visit - you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Stay in a cabin room - amazing views into the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewKananaskis, Owner at Mt. Engadine Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for your review. I always enjoy staying in the whiskeyjack cabin too! Andrew Kyle, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drumheller
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Attended a 12 person stay and business meeting and there are not enough superlatives to describe this property. The scenery takes your breath away. The meals were excellent.
They are extremely protective of the environment and search for and find ways to be "Green".
Thank you Mount Engadine and Staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewKananaskis, Owner at Mt. Engadine Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thanks for your review. It is a very good place to have corporate events. Andrew Kyle, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We live in Canmore so tend to get blasé about living in the Canadian Rockies... great views, hiking,skiing, people are everyday for us. Dropping by Engadine was one of those, "why don't we do this more often", days. After a day of back country skiing we stopped in for Tea and I mean capital Tea. This includes soup(weekends only), bottomless tea/coffee. Snacks.(cookies, cakes pie, cheese crackers) Of course you don't have to go this route just get the beverage but I bet you won't be able to resist.
Chris gave us a tour of the place.
The rooms are really well appointed and all are onsuite (with bath). We think we'll head up here and stay for our Anniversary.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewKananaskis, Owner at Mt. Engadine Lodge, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Thanks for your review, all feedback is very important and we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit. Look forward to your return. A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We have stayed at Mt. Engadine Lodge before, but last week we decided to drop in for afternoon tea after an energetic snowshoe.

We were welcomed with open arms. Staff is all extremely friendly and eager to ensure you have everything you need. The tea was delicious and substantial. Well worth the cost and the location is just so beautiful. Cozy sitting rooms with the fire burning brightly.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond, quebec
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We had the occasion to visit here in honour of my brothers birthday and where promptly addressed by name. The cosiness of the lodge, where you leave your boots and coats at the front door, impressed my spouse and I. The food was outstanding from the salmon and the beef tenderloin to the salads, desserts and everything in between. Breakfast was hot pancakes, bacon, eggs and yogurt and fruit, along with granola or homemade bread for toast. There is a sandwich bar to take out your lunch while out x country skiing or snowshoeing. Our king sized bedroom in the lodge was spacious and extremely comfortable, as was the cabin rooms. The staff were more that mere staff, they were like family members, but very efficient in their duties.Thanks, Chris, Shari-Lynn, Bree, and Carol ...we will be back!!!!

Room Tip: a pet friendly resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

What a fantastic find we had here. Chris and Shari-Lynn made us so welcome, they were most helpful in suggesting our daily walks and the food was great and plentiful. I said to my husband as we were leaving, 'it is a good job this is not our last night in Canada, because I would not want to go home!' Thank you for making the start of our trip so memorable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mt. Engadine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Engadine Lodge

Address: #1 Shark Road | turn onto Spray Trail, 38 km south of Canmore, Mount Engadine, Alberta T1W 3H9, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Mount Engadine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Mount Engadine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Mount Engadine Lodge in the beautiful Canadian Rockies close to Canmore, Alberta. The Lodge provides a quiet Rocky Mountain retreat in the heart of Alberta's Kananaskis Country. The Lodge meadows are natural habitat for many of the Rocky Mountains' wild animals and birds, including coyotes, moose, elk, deer and beavers. Hike, XC ski or snowshoe nearby, then relax by our wood fireplaces or enjoy our authentic wood burning sauna. In this intimate setting, enjoy gourmet meals, a cozy family atmosphere, fresh air and spectacular scenery. All rates include breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner; all served buffet style in our dining room overlooking moose meadows. Recent renovations were made to all the bathrooms and showers in the 3 cabins in the meadows edge chalet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mt. Engadine Lodge Mount Engadine, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt. Engadine Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.