We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure Marko is around” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Rancho Colibri

Hostal Rancho Colibri
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quime
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Rancho Colibri
Save
You added Hostal Rancho Colibri to your Saves list
Barrientos | Communidad Milloque s/n, Quime, Bolivia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Quime B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Make sure Marko is around”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

My wife and I went back to Bolivia this year to see the Carnival in Oruro and to see the Salar, which was too flooded last year when we were there. We decided to balance out our two week trip by doing something different by visiting Quime, which is kind of on the way to Oruro from La Paz.
Marko was great corresponding with me leading up to our vacation and told us that he was going to be out of the country at the time of our visit and that someone named Franz would be there and would be expecting us. Not a problem for us. When we got there around 1pm, we couldn't find anyone and searched and knocked until about a half hour i think we finally woke Franz up. After showing us our room, we really didn't see much of him after that. In fact, Franz was probably the most unhelpful person ever to be in charge of a hostal that i have ever met. If we were on the front porch, he would practically run past us just to avoid having to talk to us or answer any questions we might have. If we hadn't met two very nice young girls from Colorado to hang out with, we would have left to stay at Hotel Quime in town. I'm sure if Marko were there we would be able to get more information about the great day hikes that Quime is supposed to offer, instead we were on our own. Quime surprisingly has a tourist office, unfortunately every time we tried to visit it was closed. But the girls from Colorado were able to get some info and we did the hike one day from nearby Pongo to waterfalls with the lake at the top of the mountain. It was really beautiful. One other day we tried to do another hike recommended by the tourist office but i think we missed the path and stayed on a road that followed the river. It was pretty nice anyway, and we had lunch by a waterfall and walked back.
Marko's place is charming, at the top of the hill from Quime nestled in tree filled area with a great variety of plants and flowers some which are attractive to hummingbirds which are pleasant to see while relaxing on the porch. The kitchen is large and open and we had a great time with our new friends cooking meals together and deciding which movie to watch in the connected living room after. We didn't have any hot water while we were there so we had to wait until we were in Oruro to take a shower. Since Franz was so unsocial it was hard to tell if he was interested in fixing it or not.
In spite of Franz, and not being able to do and many hikes as we would like, i would still recommend staying here, but you might want to check if Marko is there first. i'm sure our experience would have been much better with more information about the hikes, the area and the place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Helena, Montana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

After being on a 5 day tour of the Southwest circuit and spending each night somewhere different we were ready for a little R&R. That is exactly what we got. It was so nice to cook for ourselves in a stocked kitchen. The location was just lovely. We loved sitting and watching the birds every morning and managed to see some truly amazing hummingbirds. The bathroom was clean and the showers hot. And Marco was terrific company. He was able to direct us to some beautiful hikes where we met some very friendly herding women and saw condors soaring overhead. But more than anything he was friendly, a great baker, and provided some terrific insights into Bolivia life and culture after living there for 30 or so years. He also loves company and treated our kids with great consideration. The road into Quime was paved so the trip from Konani was fast - too fast on the way out and we literally feared for our lives. My kids will forever be scarred by that drive. But Don Marco and hotel Colibri are well worth a visit for some down time and beautiful hiking in an easy to get to yet remote area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Bolivia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I live in La Paz and Quime for me is the perfect place to run away from the city's rush. The best thing about it is that it's off the tourists trails. It's not mentioned in Lonely Planet, so only really special people find out about this place. Marko's home is a piece of art. Rooms with amazing furniture, all the stone work around the place, the garden. Marko himself is quite a character, I like him so much that I am not taking my girlfriend when coming around, because I wanna hang out with him! Kidding, but close to the truth. Marko is a very inspiring person to me (don't expect a poet though). Impossible to describe, you'll see, but all positive. Anyway, I've been there 3 times and definitely will keep on coming back. And his pancakes, mama mia!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Stayed just one weekend but would happily spend a month! Don Marko El Gringo is a most welcoming, friendly host, and a veritable mine of information on the town, the country, and most importantly the hikes! Thanks to him we felt we really got the most out of our too-brief stay in this stunning hidden gem of a town.

Don’t go expecting champagne on ice and satellite TV – this place is off the beaten track and that’s the attraction! – but all the facilities you need are well and truly on-hand. Do go expecting comfort, hospitality, interesting chats, very reasonable prices and more beautiful scenery than your eyes will know what to do with! Can’t recommend Rancho Colibri and Quime enough! GO NOW! :D

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

I visited the Hostal Rancho Colibri in September of 2011 on a whim. I was trying to decide between Coroico and Quime. I'm not sure how the two compare but I'm glad I chose the less touristy (me being the only tourist in town) option for an adventure. Quime is sleepy town, not a well known tourist destination but Alaskan expat Marco is trying to put in on the map with his beautiful Rancho home and guidance for the hiking trails of the impressive Quimsa Cruz mountain range. Expect a more personal experience than you'd get at a hotel or hostal. It's more like a bed and breakfast. Marco gave a great tour of the home and made time to talk about the town's history and politics and culture.

Marco designed and built the home and garden above town mostly by himself and continues to improve on it. Each of the rooms is unique and cozy. It can get chilly at night so I was grateful to have a fireplace in my room. I didn't stay long enough to do all the hikes recommended but did enjoy the major day hike I did to Naranjani Lake, which hides in the mountains north and above town. There's not much to do in town and the only internet access you'll find is at the municipality library so plan to focus on the hiking and chilling out with a good book back at the house. Marco's also got quite a large collection of English language movies you can enjoy. He provides a homemade breakfast upon request and we even cooked together for dinner as the kitchen is open to guests. Market day is Sunday and after that it may be hard to find all the produce and other products you may want for cooking.

Check out the WikiTravel link about Quime (http://wikitravel.org/en/Quime#b) for more info about the town and getting in and out. For photos of the home and hikes check out my Flickr page at http://www.flickr.com/photos/margiehatch/sets/72157627614429687.

Room Tip: Get one with a fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oruro, Bolivia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

Stayed four nights. Cheap & Fantastic place at Quime hidden in an Andean valley (wikitravel for details). Place is a mix between homestay-guesthouse-hostal. Very hospitable and knowledgeable gringo host Marco, Locals are friendly and open to chat. Marco who has years of experience in the area can guide you on a number of beautiful hikes in the area on local mule trails (some unexplored) between tiny indigenous villages. Waterfalls, small town, rivers, distant glaciers, lush valley, ruins, condors, and no pizza. Wanted to stay longer wIll - go back definitely.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostal Rancho Colibri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Rancho Colibri

Address: Barrientos | Communidad Milloque s/n, Quime, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > Quime
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Quime
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A colonial hacienda built within pre-inca style terracing, overlooking 50 miles of valleys and mountains. the Hacienda Colibrí was built on a barren eroded mountainside above Quime. I restored the soil and terracing. It has a bird refuge with 50 species of birds within the hummingbird garden and enchanted forest. The hostel is located 4 blocks uphill from the alcalde in the main plaza and one block right, ask the kids for Don Marko “el gringo”. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Rancho Colibri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.