We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“romantic !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Batista Villas

Save Saved
You added Chez Batista Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Chez Batista Villas
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Anse Takamaka | PO Box 3013, Takamaka, Mahe Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Takamaka
Breitenfurt
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“romantic !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Very romantic dining directly at the shore. Fresh fish, pizza, creole food; the price a bit upper level: 300 Rupies +15% charges for the menu of the day. You also will find draught beer there ! Take a bath in the ocean afterwards, but there are no fresh water showers available.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    18
    8
    10
    11
See reviews for
9
33
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vincennes, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We booked Batista via a Travel Agency, who described it as a "well managed family hotel with a great restaurant". In the Lonely Planet there was already an indirect warning, that this place was spoiled by its location and success, but missed good service. It turned out to be true. The location is really amazing, Takamaka is indeed one of the nicest beaches on Mahé, even though the waves and currents make swimming and snorkeling at most seasons difficult. You definitely need to rent a car, if you dont want to be stuck at the beach all day and/or need to eat other than the Batista food (restaurant was closed for dinner anyways, which made all of us search for food outside and dependent on renting a car). In our case we were informed by the Batista manager, that the restaurant would be closed at evenings because "they are not that busy at the moment". Strangely enough the hotel seemed to be booked out quite well, since there were many guests for breakfast and lunch. The restaurant is a beautiful building, very charming, built with local materials. But don't be seduced by it: the food is not as sensational as we have heard and read and its quite overpriced for the way it is lovelessly presented. We had some cocktails and prawns one day at lunch time. The servant could not answer any of our questions about the food and was absolutely unprofessionally and careless (the only thing she said after every of our questions was "I dont know"). On sunday the place fills up like crazy with locals and tourist for the famous Batista Creole Buffet. Nobody informed us at check in, that we had to reserve a table for that lunch buffet, even though we stayed at the hotel - we were sent to a sad plastic table outside of the restaurant. 20 Euros each for some mediocre left-over buffet - not pleasant.

In the evenings we had to drive around to look for a restaurant, and we can recommend "Le Rèduit" which is basically around the corner and much much higher quality and service.

So in short: The worse thing at Bastista is the service. Staff and management seem to be spoiled by the amazing location, overworked or whatever it is - they just dont care, no matter if in hotel matters or in the restaurant.

Water was turned off at restaurant/hotel toilets during mornings and nights.

We booked a standard room and were disappointed. First of all its not worth the money you pay for (120 Euros a night). Bedrooms are tiny, the interior is old and in our case the put together to single beds and mattresses, so that every night one of us ended up in the gap between the mattresses. In addition our terraces were exposed to the parking lot, and there was no intimacy between the 2 other rooms left and right of us. At night we heard every single word our neighbors said, even clearing their throats in the bathroom or opening a plastic bag/charging the phone - it seemed as if the walls were made of paper. It was a nightmare! After the first night we tried to reach the reception in order to upgrade our room, hoping to have a better place to stay for the last 3 days - believe it or not, even after 3 days nobody was reachable, even after asking several times at the kitchen, were the hotel manager was and contacting Mason, the travel agency we did not even manage to TALK to somebody. At the end we left a message at the reception door, saying that we would like to upgrade - but no reaction. On our check out evening, we found the note we left untouched on the reception desk, but the manager neither commented on it, nor did she apologize. The only thing she was interested in was, that we pay our restaurant bills.

Generally we had the impression, that the hotel is unprofessionally and carelessly managed.

So, Batista? - never again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Takamaka hotels

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Villa Batista was my final staying distination over the island hopping tour in seychells & this Villa & the people spoiled my holidays :( starting from the bed, they attached two single beds together showing as it is a double bed,the bed itself is not the main problem but the mattresses were; as they were two single bed mattresses laying over the beds, at one point in the middle of the night you realise you are hanging or dumped in between two mattresses :/,
The way they present the meal is terrible, our meal was brought to us in a metal plate same as plates used for prisoners. & the lady bringing your food maked up herself as a ... :/.that was the fist & last time I had lunch there. When we had questions about the food she only answered with "I dont know" an answer which we later heard again often from the staff. I dont know if the staff was either overworked or just spoiled, but they were either not interested, unfriendly or even not responding.
Have been searching for some body,someone whom I can ask/complain about for things which were not ok to me but could never find some one, only at the check out time or at payment time you can find someone there.

Location is great,all you have to do is book a better hotel then you can come to this beach everyday buy the car you hire.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We invited seychelles in low season, but it didn´t mind at all. There wasn´t so crowded. Awesome beach takamaka was almost for us. I booked the room through the site http://www.seychelles-last-minute.com/. I didn´t know the site but I read recommendation on tripadvisor, I was a little bit scared because a confirmation didn´t come just a request but wasn´t problem with that. Judy gave us room immediately when we came with smile on her face and with welcome drink of fruits from the garden.Beach Takama is one of the best beaches of Mahe. Snorkeling by the rocks is wonderful. We rented a car so we travelled through the all Mahe island. The rent a car cost 40EUR per day it cost similar like take a taxi from the airport to Takamaka. The price is with insurance a fuel isn´t so expensive..Every Sunday they are doing buffet of the creole cuisine. It was tasty and interesting - fruit bat curry, sharks, fishes, sweet potatoes, breadfruits, ......

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We chose to stay on Mahe for the 8 days of our honeymoon and deliberately chose a lower star hotel to stay in so that we could splash out in the second week. However, once we arrived we realised that lower stars did not mean lower quality.
One arrival (after a 3 hour delay which meant we arrived in the heat of the day) we were offered a cold freshly made fruit drink and sat down in the restaurant to fill in the welcome paperwork. If you take a deep breath, slow down and relax, you instantly get into the Seychelles pace of life - nothing is hurried but you are looked after. Don't feel that you are being ignored if things take a while, the staff just like you to appreciate the view and relax!
We were upgraded straight away as this was our honeymoon and put into one of the rooms with its own balcony, jacuzzi and sun deck. It was bliss! There was construction work being carried out nearby on new rooms but our travel agent had warned us of this so we were aware and didn't mind due to the free upgrade.
The room was basic but very clean and the staff cleaned it beautifully every day.
The hotel is very remote (which we deliberatly chose) so we arranged to hire a car for 3 days to explore Mahe. I would recommend doing this as walking to nearby restaurants / shops is tricky as the hills are all around and the buses are scary!
The other evenings we ate at the restaurant attached to the hotel and enjoyed the varied food. All food on the Seychelles is relatively expensive so you need to budget for it. We bought lunch from the side cafes and local supermarkets which considerably cut down the cost of food.
The beach next to the hotel is lovely but we really appreciated our jacuzzi as the waves can be vicious and its not a great swimming beach. It was lovely to relax in the jacuzzi in the heat of the day and read.
Overall, this hotel is clean and well run but without the upgrade we would have felt it was a little overpriced - with the upgrade, the jacuzzi and the sun deck it felt perfect.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

Such a lovely spot we drove in and asked if there were any free rooms. Nobody seemed to know or care or be able to find a key to show us one. Having wasted half an hour, we left and went to the Anse Soleil Resort. Lucky us, it was far less expensive, very much nicer and the people there were charming.

Two weeks later we decided to drop by Chez Batistas for a beer and watch the sunset as its such a lovely spot. There was a sign to say the restaurant was open and we actually walked past one of the staff as we went into the bar. There were no customers, we waited for somebody to come and serve us, nobody did. We went back to the barman still chatting in the car park, asked if we could please have a beer. "Finished" was all he could offer.

We gave this place two chances. They were our two worst experiences in touring the islands,

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

I booked into Chez Batista with a slightly worried look on my face, greeted at the reception by someone holding a young baby, the place itself quite 'rustic' I did wonder what the experience would be like....

The room I was gievn sat back from the main reception, but was large, clean and beautifully laid out, if a little disjointed in its decor. The bathroom was sizeable and the a/c worked, which is always a bonus in Seychelles.

Once I'd unpacked, I ventured out to the restaurant for a quiet beer, armed only with my book. It was at this point when any cares or concerns I may have harboured, just ebbed away and I suddenly felt like I was truly at home. The views from the restaurant/bar area were stunning and the beer was nice and affordable, not words one usually associates with Seychelles. The sea lapped in front of me on a large and empty beach, with small white ghost crabs feeding on scraps found in the pure white sands.

The meal I had was a beautiful home made octopus curry which is an absolute must have in Seychelles, but done fantastically well here.

Takamaka is a stunning beach, shared amongst the 8 or so rooms of Chez Batista and the locals who come down to enjoy the afternoon sunshine. So essentially the space and sea is yours. It's nice swimming with some coral if you venture out and some inquisitive fish who followed me around as I took my afternoon dip.

To sum up then, it's a brilliant place to stay, great value for money, properly homely and warm in its welcome and stunning in location terms. The food is very good value and it's one of the most amazing places to enjoy a sundowner beer (£3.50) or cocktail.

Just a lovely lovely place to enjoy a few days r & r.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chez Batista Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Batista Villas

Also Known As:
Chez Batista Villas Hotel
Chez Batista Villas Hotel Takamaka
Chez Batista Hotel
Chez Batista Villas Seychelles/Mahe Island - Takamaka
Address: Anse Takamaka | PO Box 3013, Takamaka, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Takamaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Takamaka
Hotel Class:2 star — Chez Batista Villas 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chez Batista Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Batista Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.