We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would stop here on the way” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Surfers Beach Restaurant

Surfers Beach Restaurant
Anse Parnel, Takamaka, Mahe Island, Seychelles
+248 2783703
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4 restaurants in Takamaka
Price range: $14 - $54
Cuisines: English, Indian, International, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: We're that wonderful, casual seaside spot where locals gather with old friends, and meet new ones. A welcoming, comfortable place for a family meal or a high-energy afternoon-evening & late-night rendezvous for drinks and meals. The Surfers Beach Restaurant has fresh, familiar, absolutely crave-able food, with a large seasonal open patio style decking and water views from every table. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly. The restaurant specialises in Creole & International & Indian cuisine and is an oasis of taste and visual beauty.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I would stop here on the way”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I wouldn't go out of my way to come to this restaurant as the food wasn't amazing, but it was good. We had the creole seafood platter and it wasn't that fresh, but the staff was friendly and its a cute little place on the beach. I would stop in here if i had just had a long day of snorkeling ( as its a good spot in Anse Royale) and a cozy atmosphere to grab a beer and hangout on the beach

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard Y, Manager at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review Surfers Beach Restaurant, the comments you have made are noted and we are happy that you mention the overall experiance was good.

Your creole seafood platter consists of half a slipper lobster, 3 large prawns, a piece of fillet fish, 4 mussells, 4 scallops or 1 piece of crab meat. This platter is also served with rice or fries and a salad. The platter is garnisehed with a garlic sauce as well.

The waitress serving you did ask how you found your your meal after you finished and she was told it was very good, but your comments on the review say the seafood was not fresh however you mentioned nothing to the waitress about it not being fresh or during the course of your meal.

The platter is prepared with frozen ingrediants which are purchased from a reputed hotel and restaurant supplier in Victoria. Some of the other items like the fillet fish and slipper lobster are purchased fresh from the local fisherman at the market so we are a little confused when you mention it was not fresh, if you had been more specific about which of the ingrediants you did not find fresh or to your liking would have been more helpful. However we did serve several other customers that day who also had the sea food platter and they said it was one of the best platters they had tasted and had no problems with it.

Also just for your information the restaurant is not situated in Anse Royal but instead Anse Parnel which is in the District of Takamaka. We do hope you enjoyed our are still enjoying your holiday in the Seychelles and inspite of what has been mentioned your comments are noted.

Regards

Marlene
Manager & Co-Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    38
    43
    25
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Good food, albiet service is really slow and food takes a while to make it to your table. It might be nice to accommodate children and families. A high chair would be a nice touch

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard Y, Manager at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for your review on Surfers Beach Restaurant, your comments are noted and for your information a baby high chair is now on order to cater for young children. We are happy to note your comment about the food being good . Where as it concerns the service and the time it takes for your food to reach your table we apologize for any delays you fely that you may have experianced but bear in mind our food is prepared fresh and not precooked in order to give the tasteness and freshness to the meal or dish. Depending on the dishes ordered and their complexity it is inevitable that a waiting time is to be expected and normally for the most complex dish on our menu 30 mins is considered a fair waiting time.

Regards
M.Young
Manager & Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
2 reviews
“Magical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Truely magical experience. One of the best locations on the island. Also with open or covered seating, this venue can be enjoyed whatever the weather. Fantastic service and good food selection. Ideal for a quick bite to eat and drink or a full day enjoying the beach and good food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard Y, Manager at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review on Surfers Beach Restaurant, we are truly elated to get such a good reviews from happy customers who appreciate the whole concept of a family run business and what its all about with the added finishing touches. We hope to see you again soon at the restaurant for some more of our delicious cuisine and hospitality.

Our Very Best Regards

M. Young
Manager & Co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
2 reviews
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Truely magical experience. One of the best locations on the island. Also with open or covered seating, this venue can be enjoyed whatever the weather. Fantastic service and good food selection. Ideal for a quick bite to eat and drink or a full day enjoying the beach and good food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Excellent service and food in the most scenic spot of the island. Beach side restaurant does not come better than Surfer.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard Y, Owner at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
The pleasure was all ours and we are happy you enjoyed the experiance at Surers Beach Restaurant. We sincerely look forward to seeing you again soon on one of your many trips back to Seychelles.

Best Regards
R. Young
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surfers Beach Restaurant also viewed

Anse Royale, Mahe Island
Takamaka, Mahe Island
 

Been to Surfers Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfers Beach Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.