We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great beach bar with friendly service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surfers Beach Restaurant

Surfers Beach Restaurant
Anse Parnel, Takamaka, Mahe Island, Seychelles
+248 2783703
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Takamaka
Price range: $12 - $49
Cuisines: English, Indian, International, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: We're that wonderful, casual seaside spot where locals gather with old friends, and meet new ones. A welcoming, comfortable place for a family meal or a high-energy afternoon-evening & late-night rendezvous for drinks and meals. The Surfers Beach Restaurant has fresh, familiar, absolutely crave-able food, with a large seasonal open patio style decking and water views from every table. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly. The restaurant specialises in Creole & International & Indian cuisine and is an oasis of taste and visual beauty.
Lichfield, England
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
298 helpful votes 298 helpful votes
“A great beach bar with friendly service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Surfers is a great beach bar set in a lovely location. Excellent for lunch or dinner the food choice is fairly limited and basic but more that acceptable. If nothing else just call there for a burger and a beer!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard Y, Owner at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for your review on Surfers Beach Restaurant, It gives us great pleasure and pride when we get 4 stars or more and such good short sweet comments about us. We hope you enjoyed your time in the Seychelles and will be comimg back again in the future. We will be very elated to see returning customers to our establishment.

Thank You

R.Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    66
    29
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A Great Relief From Hotel Restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

As guests of Allamanda Beach Resort, Surfers was our only other option. True, service was a little slow but this is island life. The food, however, was delicious. Even the soup - which got a poor review in an earlier write-up. We both had the fish soup and then split the curried fish and creole red snapper. Portions certainly could have been larger but the tastes were very good. I really liked the fact that you had an option to sit either on the decking or on the sand. Either way, it's as beach front as you can get. My only real complaint is that there was a large party smoking heavily in the no-smoking section. We mentioned this to the staff - who did absolutely nothing. We ended up picking up all of our stuff and moving ourselves. Still, I'm not going to slam the restaurant for having one table of classless guests.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard Y, Manager at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for your review on Surfers Beach Restaurant. Your comments are noted and we appreciate the 4 star rating you have given us. We are happy you enjoyed the quality of the food and dishes that you ordered. If you had told us when you received your food at your table that the portions could have been a bit more generous we would have obliged by sending out side dishes such as rice or fries and salads. We actually measure and weigh portions to restaurant standard norms unlike a lot of other eateries in Seychelles before they are cooked & served and such portions are sufficient for one portion per guest. We do however realize that different people have different appetites.

You will be happy to note that we have now posted signs around the restaurant informing guests to respect the non smoking and smoking areas. We have also briefed our staff to ask clients when they walk in if they want a smoking or non smoking table and to seat and guide them accordingly and we have noticed a very big improvement in this area.

Otherwise it remains for me once again to thank you for your nice comment and positive feedback on Surfers Beach Restaurant.

Regards

Marlene Young
Co-Owner & Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The best thing about this place is the view, for which one can forgive everything else. Yes the service is slow, as it is all over Mahe, yes the food is hit and miss, but if you pick and choose carefully there is something for everyone. The view, the beach and the location are what you go for, if you are expecting a memorable, gourmet meal, you're in the wrong place. Just lower your expectations, sit back, order a cold Seybrew and check out what the other customers are eating, if nothing else you'll have a great day out, which is what it's all about.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard Y, Manager at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Haraigoshi

Thank you for your recent review on Surfers Beach Restaurant. We are glad you enjoyed our lacation and beach setting. We actually have quite a variety on offer in our A la carte menu and in addition apart from our menu we also have our daily chef specials posted in front at the counter with a good selection of different kinds of dishes including fresh seafood. Our wines and drinks list is also quite extensive from our Bar. We thought it would be best to mention this as your review can be misleading and give other customers a false impression that we are limited on what we can offer to clients and diners.

Regards

R.Young
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“a lot of good, eastern flavors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Very, very nice restaurant with a view of the sea. for four days we ate there every day, living on the other side of the island. I recommend fish or octopus curry. And red snapper. And shrimp. And everything except soups.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard Y, Owner at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for your review on Surfers Beach Restaurant. We are always appreciative when genuine and sincere customers enjoy our food and restaurant setting with good service then give us a 5 star rating. We hope you enjoyed your time in The Seychelles and that you will return soon to experiance more of our hospitality and creole culture. Until then "Bonne Chance"

Regards

R.Young
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Dreadful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Granted, we were only stopping there for a lunchtime snack, but to wait nearly an hour for hotdog and fries when the place was only a quarter full was a joke. The staff clearly couldn't care less - we even waited 10 mins for them to bring ketchup. Avoid at all costs - you'll thank me for the advice.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lionheart85, Owner at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
We apologise for any inconveniance that you may have experianced at our establishment, we have done some research with the staff on that day and it was not more than 1 hr passed from the time you walked in. From the time that you were seated and served on arrival with menus and the time your order was taken took another 10 mins for you to decide on what you wanted to order. You were then served with refreshments/drinks that you ordered which took 5 mins. Your food was delivered to your table some 40 mins after you initially ordered from the menu. Cutlery was placed on your table together with ketchup and condiments before your food arrived at your table.

We are sorry we have not responded to this review earlier but we were unaware of how to respond to reviews until recently, however if you were not happy with our service or quality of food we would still like to offer our sincere apologies to you for any inconveniances that you may have felt you experianced.

Best Regards

R.Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surfers Beach Restaurant also viewed

Mahe Island, Seychelles
Takamaka, Mahe Island
 
Mahe Island, Seychelles
 

Been to Surfers Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfers Beach Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.