We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking” 1 of 5 stars
Review of South Point Chalets

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added South Point Chalets to your Saves list
South Point Chalets
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   P.O. Box 3033, Takamaka, Mahe Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel amenities
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Shocking”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our room aircon worked 3/10 . When ever we went out even for a short while our aircon would be switched off and temp in room was at 50 degrees.
Owner said we should keep doors and windows closed, heat was unbearable.
We had raw sewerage leaking out of back of toilet.
Shower leaked more water out the back of the nozel than from the front.
Bed falling apart. If I turned in the night it made enough noise to wake my partner.
Very uncomfortable. No mattress cover. Very old mattress.
Owner would not lend us an iron.
Our second room door did not lock.
Manageress/owner very rude and should not be in hospitality industry.
No money is being spent on maintenance
Shocking selection of cooking utensils and crockery and cutlery
We moved to green Villa on La Digue and it is fantastic. Everything works.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angesmussard, Owner at South Point Chalets, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Mr.Vic D
Thanks for your review.
First of all you arrived at our place late in the night and one day before your planned date of arrival.We organized your room straight away and you appeared to be very happy.
When you were at the airport you called us asking us to organize a taxi for you which we did ,after the taxi would turned up at the airport you had already left in another taxi and we had to pay the taxi driver.
You got to our place you decided that you were going to have dinner at the banyan tree which according to you was a 25 minutes drive.I explained to you that it is quite far especially in the middle of the night and i prepared a fruit platter for both you and your wife and gave you a bottle of water.(Complimentary which you never stated in you review)The next morning your wife told me that all was good and she really enjoyed the fruit platter and you requested to have breakfast with us and you said that the breakfast was really nice.You asked me for fresh chilly which i gave to you free of charge as you wanted to cook with chilli.
As for the shower it was a mistake done by the maintenance personal where he forgot to put the washer in and you volunteered to fix it.I was not too keen of you doing it as i did mention that you were on holiday but you insisted.
As for the bed you are the only one who has an issue with it.We have very comfy mattress and we keep them very clean.
As for the bed we had a lose screw which as soon as you mentioned i got personal concerned to have it fixed.
As for the leaking toilet we have no idea what is it as nothing brought to our attention during your stay and we do not see any leak with the toilet.
As for the room A/c :the A/c is for cooling the room only and you cannot have both fresh air by leaving the windows and doors open and want the room to be cool.This is not possible.Your A/C worked perfectly well and you are the one who played with the setting as you did not know what you were doing as most of the time you turned up to your room very drunk and you have to get people as mentioned in your other review to drive you back.
You were not a guest of the Banyan Tree but only enjoyed the facility of other people staying there so you cannot compare South Point Chalet to Banyan tree and cannot expect the same standard as a five Star Hotel.
The Guest House was full during your stay and you were the only guest with issues.Our laundry area is private and you wanted to borrow the iron which i offer the service to you free of charge asking you to give your clothes to the housekeeper to have it pressed but you were not happy about it.One has to respect peoples procedure as well and cannot have everything your way.
You would come to our place with strangers who would not even greet us.Is that normal for you?Security at my place is very important as should something happen we are the ones responsible.Even though we wrote our side of the story we take everything written in a positive way and wish you all the best..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    7
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

I stayed here for 8 days on my own in December 2014.
The quality of the houses and service were both outstanding.
My house offered plenty of space, a full kitchen, bathroom and a terrace.
You can also have very nice local food there, which is prepared fresh every day.
There is a pool for refreshment, but a very nice beach is just 5 min by foot, so I never used it.
The security is maintained well, there are extinguishers, safes, enough lighting at night and the police station is not far. Good to know, although there was really nothing to worry about.
For shopping you can walk for 10 min to a small, but very well equipped mini-market. Renting a car makes sense, if you want to see the whole island, but for relaxing it is not necessary.
WiFi is available, but it is not included.

I would totally recommend and will definitely come back!

Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

1. Free Internet not working as promised. 2. Bad and rude management: for example owners used all roof covered parking spaces for their own vehicles (including one car park for a motorbike!) and unwilling to move them at our request, meaning we had to leave our car outdoors in the sun. 3. No proper sun protecting curtains on windows. Overall Price is attractive but better off spending a bit more to get a decent service (and better view and location which we knew was poor in this place) and avoid unnecessary frustration in amazing place like seychelles.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angesmussard, Manager at South Point Chalets, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Sir,
Thanks for your review but appeared to me that you are not using the proper name.
Your booking was done under the name of Mrs Katia Szerer with Booking.com for a one night Stay.
I was not around when you checked it but met with your wife the very minute i got to SouthPointChalets.
We talked and she told me that all is good and you are happy.
The next morning you both came to the office and when i asked you how you were doing ,your answer was" Yes all is good and you asked me if you could extend your stay as you like the place."You extended your stay for two more days and you asked me to give you a good price ,which i did.
So your rating of South Point Chalets is inappropriate as should the place is as bad as you have rated it i don't think one would like to extend their stay after spending one night.
People will agree with me that you loved the place and that is why you stayed for another two more nights otherwise you would have checked out after the very first night especially when no payment has been done.
You were annoyed just because when you come back to the guest house all covered Parking space have already been taken.Parking under the shed is first come first serve and please note that you were not the only guest at my place.You came at around 10pm and other people who came before you took the sheltered parking .As for you ,you did get a parking so i can't see where is issue and in the night there is no sun.
As for the internet i can't understand your lies,i will invite readers to check the booking.com site were you booked for your one night stay and they will see that it is clearly stated that we don't give access to internet facility.Why you are coming up with such story i really can't understand.
Please note that this is the first time we have guest who has issue with the curtains,we will take this point in a positive way and get feed back from other guests.
For you to describe me as being rude is a laughing matter as the only thing i can say about that : it takes one to recognize the other.
Prior to check out you decided to mess up the room by spreading Tumeric powder everywhere as well as on the table, the list is long to mention other nasty things you did.
Our location is not the best maybe for you but we do get a lot of people and even returning clients who really like our place.
I would like once again to thank you for your review and hope you enjoy my beautiful island as you have some more days to spend before going home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

we stayed here for just one night in December before the villa for the rest of our stay was available. The chalets are in takamaka in a relatively 'remote' location, away from the main road in a very quiet area. All around you is lush tropical vegetation. The beach is not very close. But the plus is they have small pool where you can take a dip to cool off- more like a plunge pool- something not a lot of selfcatering villas in Seychelles have.

There is one relatively well stocked supermarket at walking distance from the chalets. The nearest good restaurant is Surfers. Right opposite the chalets there is a restaurant called 'Le reduit'. But it looked quite dead and deserted when we were there.

Other than the location it is nice place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

This self catering hotel has only 4 to 6 very well appointed units, which consist of a huge bedroom, fully equiped kitchen, living room (in some units associated with the kitchen) and modern bathroom with well functioning shower and fluffy bathtowles. Each unit has a terrace with a table and sunbeds. Beachtowels are provided. If you are lucky (or booked it) you may even have a whole 3 bedroom bungalow for yorself (we were lucky!).
A delicious breakfast is served either at the common terrace or at your own private one, consisting of eggs of choice, croissants, Danish pastry y or muffins and a huge platter with fresh fruit.
If you don't want to cook yourself (like we did) there are at least two highly recommendable restaurants in walking distance:" Le Reduit", 50 m from the hotel serves fresh and tasty curries and seafood and "Chez Batista" at beautiful Takamakka beach (15-20 min. walk). Due to the remoteness of the hotel and not located directly at the beach (which we found was no disadvantage at all, even if you do not have a car) prices here are affordable. If you stay longer than 1 or 2 days a rental car is however recommented (unless you don't mind going to the same beach all the time).
The Seychellois hotel manager Patrick and his wife Sandra are very nice and helpful people; we even got a late check-out.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

It is a self catering accommodation with spacious but plane apartments in tin- roofed buildings far from everything, in a mountainious surrounding without view. The so-called swimming pool is a larger bathtub 2x3m and the small grounds are very uncharming. We had booked 4nights,but were disappointed to the point of leaving after one night. The manager made us pay the 4 nights: understandable, but not generous.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to South Point Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Point Chalets

Address: P.O. Box 3033, Takamaka, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Takamaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Takamaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — South Point Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your South Point Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Point Chalets Seychelles/Mahe Island - Takamaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Point Chalets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.