We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites

Save Saved
You added Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Anse Bois de Rose Bay | Seychelles, Anse Bois de Rose, Praslin Island 22965, Seychelles   |  
Hotel amenities
Budapest
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

Coco de Mer is a small hotel on Praslin Island with an awsome view on the sea (no big surpise on the Seychelles.) It's a lovely hotel with the rooms on one side of the main area, the suites being on the other. We chose the suite and I think it was a good decision. It had a pretty small a step-down bedroom with a jaccuzzi which we never used. The bathroom was big and nice, plus it had a cozy terrace/balcony overlooking the garden and the sea.

Breakfast was all right. We had lunch and supper at the poolside restaurant. Interestingly, here one of the waitresses was really not loving either her job or the guests but we could live with her attitude - we turned to another waitress. Otherwise the staff were great. The owner's wife was from Austria, she was a very nice lady.

The beach was great (again, no surpise), but the sea was full of seaweed. Probably because of the wind direction which changes according to seasons, as I understand. Swimming in the seaweed is no fun so we opted for the pool.

Praslin Island is one the most romantic places of the Seychelles, if it's not an understatment since everything is most romantic there. Our favourite sport was Cote D' Or beach which I can't describe, it would sound so banal. Just go there and see it for yourself. There's a beautiful restaurant/arts gallery on the beach where we had dinner one night. Oh my... Anse Lazio is the most famous beach but then again, see it for yourself. Wherever you go, you can't miss. It's just pure paradise.

Vallée de Mai is a must. It's like Jurassic Park and it's real. You walk in a prehistoric rainforest. I've never seen anything like this in my life.

Also, you can visit many of the smaller island from Praslin. We went to La Digue which is like 20 minutes from Praslin on a boat. Oh my, oh my... The paradise of paradise. On La Digue you can only walk or rent a bicycle. No cars are allowed.

It's easy to get to Praslin from Mahé. Either you take a small prop plane (it's the fastest way) or take the catamaran. Praslin is a must when you're on the Seychelles and Coco de Mer is a very good choice if you prefer a quiet and lovely hotel.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    119
    24
    14
    12
See reviews for
51
248
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Black Parrot for a week. After staying at two other resorts on Cerf island and another one on Praslin, both more expensive, we came to the conclusion that the Black Parrot is by far the best deal on any island in the Seychelles. Definitely not a "Butlins" nor a snooty pretentious place but a great value on an over priced destination. The staff was always charming {the manager perhaps a little too chatty} the place clean, rooms modern, I very strongly recommend spending the extra money for room 504 because of the stunning view, private pool, spacious size, and after all, its a once in a lifetime experience. The only thing to pay attention to is, the taxi drivers the front desk sends out charge according to what they can get out of you, if you go up to the gate the passing taxi drivers charge the honest rates.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

I stayed here at in the black parrot rooms in Novemeber with my partner and had a great experience.

We were warmly welcomed at reception and had the fun experience of being taken up to our rooms, a short walk away, by golf cart - we thought it might not manage the hill - but we arrived safely! The rooms are stunning with all the mod cons; aircon; beautiful shower room and comfy bed with a balcony to enjoy our cocktails. There is a lovely decked area with small plunge pool-which I have to admit I didn't use because in seychelles I prefer to go to the beach-but its a stunning place to watch the sunset (if I remember correctly) and to enjoy a few drinks! With your own bar for these slightly more upmarket rooms, you're rather spoilt. The service while we stayed was exceptional - I forget her name now but the lady who looked after us up at black parrott was soooo helpful, polite and friendly - she was a breath of fresh air and really made our visit special!
As for the food...well you could not be disappointed with the CHOICE! They have a different theme each night which is great esp if you fancy a change...sooo many chefs...so much food...buffet style but yet still attentive service at the tables for drinks! A real treat!

Then the nightlife...well with a selection of bars...and different activities in the evening..it great. We enjoyed some traditional seychellois dancing which was great as all the staff from the restaurant came through and appeared to be really enjoying themselves, encouraging as many guests as poss to join in!

The only thing that surprised me was that this is a large hotel...the restaurant is big! But then if you wanted a quiet drink or meal there were other places within the hotel complex that you could go...

Overall a brill few days!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

My family and I stayed at Coco de Mer for 6 days over Christmas 2009. We had a great time there. We stayed at the main hotel (not the Suites - as No Children) are allowed. The room was big, airy, clean, all you really need. Food was fantastic, the evening buffets always had plenty to offer. What gives this hotel a big thumbs up is the staff - nothing was ever a problem! We really had a fantastic time there.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

Friendly hotel, friendly service, wonderful beach, good food, composed atmosphere. thank you, Coco de Mer!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2009

We stayed at the Black Parrot for the first week of our honeymoon/wedding. Our families joined us and stayed in the Coco de Mer. Both parts of the resort were amazing. We were able to go back to the Black Parrot to have time to ourselves and enjoy the lovely pool which we had to ourselves most of the time, or spend time with our family in the main part of the resort.

The staff were amazing and made our wedding the most beautiful it could possibly be. They made us all feel like kings and queens for the week. The wedding coordinator, Pip, organised everything possible for us and we had a no stress wedding! So much so, that we were in the pool until lunchtime and got married in the afternoon!

The food was great. My sister-in-law doesn't like fish, and there were still plenty of options for her every night. Definitely choose half board.

In my opinion, Praslin is more beautiful than Mahe and there are lots more things to do if that's your thing - especially if you like beautiful scenery and animals.

I would definitely recommend this hotel, and we've already started saving to go back!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

We spent a week at the Black Parrot in October this year. We were there for the first part of our honeymoon and loved it. The staff in the suites area were so helpful, and really showed the Creole lifestyle very well. The hotel itself has lovely rooms, and we felt completely secluded. The small pool for the suites area isn't much for swimming, but is perfect if you want a relaxing dip in the pool. The only thing I would have liked would have been the option to have a snack or something poolside. I understand that they got rid of the kitchen as it created too much noise, but the need to go up and down for all meals was a bit painful. All in all, we loved our time there.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites

Address: Anse Bois de Rose Bay | Seychelles, Anse Bois de Rose, Praslin Island 22965, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Bois de Rose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Anse Bois de Rose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Reservation Counter, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco De Mer - Black Parrot Hotel Anse Bois De Rose
Coco De Mer - Black Parrot Suites Seychelles/Praslin Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.