We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely idiosyncratic retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clos Masure Hotel de campagne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Clos Masure Hotel de campagne to your Saves list
Clos Masure Hotel de campagne
8 route de la Plaine, 76590 Belmesnil, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belmesnil
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“A lovely idiosyncratic retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed for one night on return to UK.
Rooms are in two small blocks overlooking beautiful tranquil grounds in the heart of the countryside. Very peaceful.
Restaurant was closed on the night we arrived (despite having booked!) but the owners booked us into an excellent restaurant in a nearby town. Breakfast was very good however.
Hotel decorated in a very individual style with an ecletic mix of objects d'art which seemed to suit the style of the delighful hosts.
This place may not be to everyones taste but we really liked it and hope to return possibly for a few days and based on what we saw look forward to eating in the restaurant next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    20
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
36
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mequon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My family and I visited during the first week in July on an extended tour through Belgium and Normandy. Our stay at the Clos Masure was an absolute highlight. Having squeezed our vehicle through the entrance gates (part of the charm were authentic touches of character like this) we arrived in the manicured and charming grounds of this country inn. My wife uses a wheelchair and we found our hosts to be incredibly accommodating, from adjusting the sink access to providing special dinner table arrangements for us. As the sole visiting Americans, we were incredibly honored when upon our July 4 return from Monet's gardens, our hosts hung an American flag (which we embarrassingly initially missed noting) in recognition of our holiday. Charmingly, Jean Francois advised that he would be sure to tell Obama of our oversight.

The gardens- beautiful. The atmosphere- both artistic and relaxing The renovations (we stayed in the converted stables with a twisted overhead beam) - unique and memorable. The dinners - magnifique Jean-Francois and Patric - kind, charming and unobtrusive hosts.

Do not miss the opportunity to stay here if your travels take you through the area. Perfect for couples.

Room Tip: If you have a disability there is a room available with a no barrier shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed in one of their suites earlier this month. Suite comprises living area (with sofa bed), double bed and bathroom. My husband found the bed too hard but I thought it was fine. We had one of the rooms in the eaves of the accommodation block and there were a few cobwebs where the two sides of the roof meet which I guess are hard to reach but nevertheless spoil the atmosphere a bit! Convenient to have fridge, microwave and kettle in the room, as well as bath robes and slippers for us both although water pressure in the shower was awful and small shower curtain meant that water got everywhere despite that! We ate dinner in their restaurant every night which we loved - everything freshly prepared. No choices in terms of menu but they were flexible in catering to any specific requirements. You need to book ahead if you want to have dinner there so just make sure you mention it when you book your room. We also had breakfast there each day which was simple but good. Beautiful main house and grounds. We never tried the pool but it seemed clean and nice. Lovely part of Normandy with plenty to see and do within a short driving distance. We hope to come back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay. The room we had was nicely decorated and comfortable with some nice well thought touches.
Nice sized room and bathroom.
The garden was beautiful and the pool was just what was needed to relax in the heat.
The food was a set menu each night with freshly bought food each day that was then well cooked and interesting.
The owners were a lovely couple and made each every effort to make our stay memorable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This was just a lovely, but unexpected oasis in the Caux region. A delightful hotel with wonderfully prepared food and very hospitable hosts. The little shop was a great place for the gifts we hadn't bought elsewhere on our travels in France and the Clos Masure cuvee chardonnay complimented the meal wonderfully. The room was characterful while the restaurant and lounge area were a feast for the senses!

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed 2 nights for last minute Bank Holiday break. Good size room in the eaves in one of the accommodation blocks. Would have been nice to have had a ground floor room but I think they must have been all booked up Saturday night.

Ate in restaurant on first night. Set menu with lovely food. Didn't have breakfast as it was quite a lot extra and the room already quite expensive.

Used the pool first day but weather a bit chilly on second day. "Heated" pool on the cool side. Annoying that there were never enough towels put out for guests by the pool. Also having paid for an extra bed, didn't give us extra towels for our daughter. Unbelievable the number of times this happens (and extremely annoying).

Two guys run the place. One spoke poor English (and didn't seem to want to try out my dodgy french - couldn't work out if I was that bad or he couldn't be bothered). Other guy (saw in restaurant first night) much more flamboyant and very friendly to our young daughter at dinner (when she was being naughty).

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms looked better although poor soundproofing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The rooms are gorgeous, contemporary and rustic at the same time! Beautifully done with luxurious bedding and towels. This is a relaxing place to stay and has a very chilled atmosphere. The garden is a delight, complete with pool and loungers. Jean Francois was a perfect host and the breakfast was just fabulous - everywhere you look there is something beautiful! We would love to return

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clos Masure Hotel de campagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clos Masure Hotel de campagne

Address: 8 route de la Plaine, 76590 Belmesnil, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Belmesnil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belmesnil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between Dieppe and Rouen , 1:30 PARIS CLOS MASURE hotel de campagne(R) CLOS MASURE illustrates the hotel de campagne(R) hotel concept, where an old farmhouse combines contemporary comfort concept . A real closed farm of the 17th century , where you may have the sweet sensation you feel like in a guest house and, at the same time in a beautiful and good level 3 * hotel. A marriage between freedom and usability for both private and professional stays . Here the decor is everywhere, without ostentation. A hotel which only luxury is to allow you to feel good, in a comfortable space accessible to all . And for those that combine living and relaxation, we have created several packages - wellness, romantic and weekend - . To make your stay a moment special. Clos Masure is also a perfect venue for hosting professionals evening stage , small groups or businesses time a study day or seminar green. Here you will stay 15 minutes from the sea, 25 minutes from Rouen, Etretat 55mn . Lovers of nature and exception , we'll show extraordinary gardens to visit nearby. For lovers or seeking initiation, we will tell you where to ride or play in one of the finest golf courses in France , overlooking the sea A Boutique Hotel ? An innovative concept , which is confirmed with open to all shop , whose spirit workshop ' allows the expose its many decorative and gift ideas. CLOS MASURE hotel de campagne(R) is a unique place where you feel much more than just at the hotel . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Clos Masure Hotel de campagne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clos Masure Hotel de campagne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.