We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad mistake...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BayView Seychelles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BayView Seychelles to your Saves list
BayView Seychelles
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   Petit Barbarons, Anse Boileau, Mahe Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel amenities
Abu Dhabi
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bad mistake...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My partner and I (we're a young, late 20's couple) stayed at the highly-rated Bayview Seychelles for 6 nights during August 2012. It looks like a large villa that has been transformed into separate rooms for rent.
The GOOD: Helga, the famous lady that takes care of everyone and that you'll hear people rave about in the other reviews, was great at first. Soft demeanor, helpful; everything that you'd like in a small place like this. We had the suite on the second floor with the large bathroom containing the 2-person bath tub that you'll probably see pictures of. It was very nice and spacious. We liked that it was off the beaten path, with a great view of the bay (no beach), and quietness all around.
The BAD: The road to the villa is a bid inconvenient, 200-300m away from the main road, through a tiny, non-paved road - some people might have a problem with this. You MUST rent a car! The mattress in our bed was the hardest that we'd ever slept on. The balcony was not private as advertised, but shared with other three rooms. The "common area" shared between the three rooms was stuffy and hot and looked dirty; they declined to turn on the AC, so it was impossible to spend any time there. After our first night, the cleaning ladies hung our old towels back for us to use, which we had left on the floor for them to "clearly" change for new ones.
Now here's what made me rate Bayview a "Poor" instead of a "Very Good". Helga helped us by arranging a trip to Praslin, staying one night there, then going to La Digue during the next day, and coming back on the day. It was our fault that we didn't look into this option prior to booking, so we agree to pay for both hotels (Bayview and the other hotel in Praslin) for the same night. She said that our room would be untouched when we came back. We arrived the next night at 8PM and were surprised to hear from the night-watch people that they had switched our rooms!!!! Helga was no where to be found! She had our mobile number and didn't even think to call us! We called her right away and withing 30 minutes she arrived. She claimed that there was a mix-up and there was a last-minute booking, in which she felt to give priority to the NEW guests, go into OUR room, take OUR stuff and put in a STANDARD room, since it was our last night at Bayview. Never in our lives had we felt so betrayed and violated. The new room was small, had an even HARDER, 2-inch mattress, no TV, no balcony, nothing! How she thought that this was acceptable is beyond us. This definitely dampened our stay there, and messed up our last night in Mahe. Thank goodness that we, at least, were able to negotiate for a one-night refund ... she didn't even offer! We had to ask, squeal and wait for 20 minutes while she checked with her husband over the phone!
I would have felt comfortable to recommend this place to friends, but unfortunately, the one person that we felt would not let us down, did... and it the worst way possible.

Room Tip: Go with a water-view room, with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helga D, Gérant at BayView Seychelles, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for staying at the highly rated BayView Seychelles .
First The Villa is not transformed into separate rooms for rent.
I will expained how we worked.
The Villa is rent out either by separate rooms, or apartment or the whole Villa which I have been doing for the past 8 months.
Let me start by the GOOD
Yes Helga the famous lady is always great like in the other reviews said. Always helping and giving out the best of myself to please all my guests.
Which in your case, I have to be careful next time. For starting you have ask to have a cheaper room as your budget was tight (and ask to have a discount which I did) just to let you know that in August is high season and I don’t give discount, and as I was nice enough I accepted .
Upon arrival I upgraded you to a suite(which was not the room you booked)on second floor with the large bathroom, very nice and spacious like you said.
The BAD
Yes the Villa is 200-300 meters away from the main road but very quiet, because if the Villa was near the road you should have complained about too much noise of cars, buses etc……
Of course you should rent a car because anywhere in whatever hotel you stayed you have to visit the island.
The mattress is hard but not like you’re saying because it’s a orthopedic mattress and it’s the first complained I have sinced.
Your balcony was not shared with no other room, because the other rooms have their owned and I have seen you sitting quietly on your balcony no other guests was disturbing.
The common area is cleaning every day and always cleaned and yes it’s hot because in Seychelles is hot and humid I can’t do anything about that. But regarding the AC ,if you haven’t rent the Villa or apartment you don’t have access to the Ac but there is a fan which can be used.
Regarding the towels I’m sorry if the cleaning ladies hang up the dirty ones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    13
    3
    3
    6
See reviews for
13
35
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

No regrets! We stayed for 4 nights first at an apartment a short drive from Bayview on Anse La Mouche which was simply amazing. It was lovely, clean and well-furnished and we were well looked after. Only a short stroll from the beach it was also within walking distance of several nice restaurants such as Anchor Cafe which is a must try for Creole food. For the remainder of our trip we moved to Bayview, which is true to its name. It is a French colonial villa overlooking a picturesque beach and splendid greenery.
The best part of the stay was the fantastic service! Helga was amazing, she helped us plan our stay and her suggestions were extremely thoughtful. She helped organize a car rental within the hour and was always only a phone call away. We also had an splendid diving experience with Christophe at Trek Divers again thanks to Helga's recommendation.
For a perfect, quiet getaway look no further, Helga makes you feel at home.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed in a self-catering apartment attached to Bayview, about 10 minutes down the road. The place was spacious and clean, and very close to the beach. Helga was extremely helpful and friendly. The best thing about the trip was our scuba diving excursion with Christophe from Trek Divers, which Helga helped us to arrange: we had our own boat and travelled to parts of the island that can't be accessed by car. The car hire service Helga organized for us was also great. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Very satisfied! We selected this guest house based on TripAdvisor's rating and spent 10 wonderful days at BayView. The owner Helga made us feel warmly welcomed and did everything to make our stay stress-free. She arranged our car hire, taxi reservations, and contact with Trek Divers for our scuba-diving sessions. She was always available for help and advice.
We stayed in a Standard room the first day, then a Deluxe the rest of the stay.Rooms were clean and spacey, the bathrooms luxurious (bubble bath in the Standard, double-bath in the Deluxe). Breakfast was large and tasty, although my husband wasn't fond of instant-coffee.

I rated only 4/5 because :
- we were expecting half-board, but learned on arrival that the cook left unexpectedly, so we had to find other arrangements for diner (though Helga more than made up for it by upgrading our room to a Deluxe, and occasionally driving us to the bay after nightfall).
- the walls are paper thin and the exotic birds (or other patrons) can be noisy: bring earplugs!
- the quiet location comes with a price: Anse Boileau has no public lighting, and night falls early, so if you're planning on dining out, bring a flashlight, or rent a car.

After seeing the rest of Mahe, Anse Boileau definitely stands out as a great location if you're looking to avoid resorts and find peace and quiet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I am super glad that we decided to stay at BayView and thanks to TripAdvisor for that. This guesthouse is located about 25 minutes from the International airport. Our room was lovely and the bathroom is huge. The views from the room balcony are stunning with the ocean and mountains beyond. The thing that really impressed us was the service at BayView. The manager of the hotel, Helga and her staff are all really nice people. Helga is just so helpful and always ready to give you advice or organize any tours. It's people like her that ensure that when you are on holiday, you have a good time so a big thankyou to Helga for everything.

As for Mahe, we loved the island - the small quaint town of Victoria, the beaches especially Anse Intendance (even though the sea was a bit rough) and Beau Vallon. The food was outstanding at most of the places we ate at which were all relatively close to the hotel so that was convenient. Restaurants that serve some great food include Anchor Cafe Anse La Mouche; Kaz Creole in Anse Royale and La Fontaine in Beau Vallon.

As for transport, Mahe has strict drinking and driving rules so while a lot of tourists prefer hiring cars, we opted for taxis and the local bus to avoid any troubles. Helga also organized a day boat tour where you get a chance to go snorkeling on a little island off Mahe and then to a beautiful, idyllic beach where the waters are warm and shallow so that was a perfect day.

We also took the local ferry boat ride from Mahe to Praslin island (not advisable for those who suffer from sea sickness as it's quite a bumpy ride) and then the next day was a 15 minute boat ride to the island of La Digue - the beaches of Cote D'or in Praslin and Anse D'Argent in La Digue are just superb! I was not that impressed with the Anse Lazio beach in Praslin - don't know what the hype is all about.

All in all, our holiday to Seychelles is by far one of the best trips my husband and I have taken. It's a beautiful country with lovely, friendly people. We will definitely return and look forward to being back at BayView.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms on the first floor for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We had an two weeks stay at the Bay View Seychelles and it was just fantastic. Thanks to Helga and her team. Food was unexpectibly superb. Our room was always clean and whenever we had questions about daytrips etc, Helga and her lovely team was there and helped us to organize a perfect day until we left..
We will definitely recomend BVS to friends and family...

Thanks from Frankfurt/Germany
S & E

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

A very private place, were you feel at home and like a welcomed member of the family.
We stayed here for 2 weeks, and loved every minute of it.
We used the bus for a week and had a car for the other week, I would recomend having a car. They arranged the car for us. The breakfast was excellent. The dinner was very nica also, but a little on the expensive side. The rooms and bathrooms were large, clean and spacious. It was great sitting on the balcony in the evenings looking at the milkyway : )

Thanks for everything.
Helga and Geiri from Iceland

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BayView Seychelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BayView Seychelles

Address: Petit Barbarons, Anse Boileau, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Anse Boileau
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Anse Boileau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BayView Seychelles 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a natural environment on the south west coast of Mahe, this private and exclusive villa offers 7 spacious rooms with private terrace with sea view and private swimming pool. Surrounded by pristine waters and white sandy beach, guests are bound to fall in love with the island. Featuring a perfect location for a getaway, and it is definitely a fantastic place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your BayView Seychelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BayView Seychelles Anse Boileau, Mahe Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BayView Seychelles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.