We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Army barracks” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Gamboa Rainforest Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Gamboa Rainforest Resort to your Saves list
Gamboa Rainforest Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Goethals Blvd. | Soberania National Park, Gamboa 7338, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gamboa
westchester, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Army barracks”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2006

If you long for the days you were an enlisted man in the army, you might like this hotel. (We were told by another guest that the Hotel was in fact barracks) If army barracks are not your thing, you are going to hate it. I found it poorly maintained, incredibly overpriced, with very poor service and with a staff with a terrible attitude. In addition, we expected to be cheated on our bill, as we had already observed others complaining as they checked out and we were not disappointed. We were over-billed by almost two hundred of dollars and the person at the desk was either completely stupid or an expert at stonewalling anyone reviewing their bill for accuracy. We finally gave up and accepted a smaller, but still incorrect adjusted bill, as we had seen others do.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    413
    187
    93
    75
See reviews for
272
435
43
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2006

We were there for 4 days from 12/29 until 01/02. We booked through Nolitour Canada. Our package was for a villa suite, buffet meals, drinks and one a la carte dinner.
Weather was perfect. No rain, very warm and blue skies.
Hotel setting is outstanding. Jungle is at the door and if you walk early in the morning in the paths, you may see toucans, parrots, monkeys and dozens of other species. Capibara are playing on the villa's lawn. Nature proximity was what we enjoyed most of this hotel.
Villas are renovated 1930's houses used by the canal workers. Lots of history in the walls, tastefully renovated. Not for people who expect international standards. Those may prefer the rooms in the main building. This main building has an enourmous spectacular lobby.
The lay out is huge. Some small Eco exhibits are spreaded all over the site. There is a laisser-aller atmosphere. You do not choose this hotel for this. The pool is great. But I think that the management of this hotel do not understand their clientele. They play loud pop music at the pool bar, which seemed to annoy most of the people, mostly nature lovers.
Tennis courts were in bad shape but are under renovations. Grounds are not manucured as we can see in some tropical resorts.
Buffet food was very good for the breakfast and good for lunch and dinner. A la carte dinner was an horrible experience. Which leads me to the main problem of this hotel: service. The waiters show some attitude and could not care less about cleaning tables, taking care of orders, etc. I can speak good spanish but that was of no help. An hotel of this envergure having such a bad service is totally surprising. After two days, we deceided to clean tables and dress our table by ourseves, which seemed the only way to make something happen.
The management tried to create a New year's eve atmsophere with theme dinners and a party which was so sad and boring. Really not a place to party, which is exactly what we were looking for.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2005

Our family of 4 stayed at Gamboa for 1 night. We had a balcony with a tremendous view of the Chagras River and canal. The birds and other wildlife are tremendous. Make sure to take the boat trip into the canal... We saw 2 types on monkeys, sloths, and many types of birds.

Dont expect wild nightlife. If nature and relaxation is what you want...this place is perfect.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2005

We would love to go again. Beats the crowds and the prices in the Caribbean!! By Central American standards, Gamboa was EXCELLENT but even by USA standards, this was a nice, comfortable resort. Just don't expect perfection... The food isn't 5 star, it is down home good Panama style. There are bugs: it IS a rainforest, right? There is a slow, small town pace here -- do not come looking for activity-filled Club Med. There are no nearby malls. And thank heavens for that! Instead, take the Monkey Island boat tour and see all sorts of creatures in the wild... we saw monkeys and birds and Iguana and we marveled at the big ships in the canal. The spa was wonderful and relaxing. People are very friendly and kind. One weird quirk -- no washcloths were provided in our room. We thought it was an oversight but when we moved on to a hotel in Panama City, none were provided there, either. Once we asked, we were cheerfully provided.
We stayed in the deluxe river view room and it was HUGE even by USA standards... very big bathroom, too. All of the water is fine to drink (we had a neighbor who insisted on boiling hers... really, there is no need). The tram into the rainforest was a truly neat experience. The pool is awesome (think Las Vegas: waterfalls, huge water gardens... almost over the top) and we were two of four people there!?!
See photos of the room and the gorgeous lobby.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2005

We didn't stay at the resort but we spent a day there visiting. They have an amazing aerial tram ride that goes up into the canopy of the rainforest. Take the first tram in the morning to see the most wildlife. Avoid it in the afternoon as it often rains. It costs about $36 per person and is a 2-4 hour trip that also includes various exhibits on nature. The views at the end of the tram line of the Panama Canal are wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gamboa Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamboa Rainforest Resort

Address: Goethals Blvd. | Soberania National Park, Gamboa 7338, Panama
Location: Panama > Colon Province > Gamboa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gamboa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gamboa Rainforest Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep in the heart of the Panamanian rainforest lies the completely unique Gamboa Rainforest Resort. This magnificent five-star destination rests where the scenic Chagres River meets the Panama Canal and is the only resort property in the area. Few places on earth offer such an amazing natural experience while providing an unsurpassed level of luxury. Escape the noise and hectic pace of everyday life and surround yourself with the tranquility of the mystical Soberania National Forest. Here, just a short 30-minute ride from Panama City, on 340 acres overlooking the stunning Panama Canal, you can commune with nature in a pristine environment where explorers and pirates once tread. Our Panama Tours offer an exhilarating variety of jungle adventures such as an aerial tram, guided boat tours, fishing expeditions, and much more. Our tours are designed to show you wildlife in its natural setting amidst the colorful splendor of the jungle flora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Gamboa Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gamboa Rainforest Hotel Gamboa
Gamboa Rain Forest Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gamboa Rainforest Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.