We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanet @ Its Best!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Minnis WhiteHouse Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Birchington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Minnis WhiteHouse Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Minnis WhiteHouse Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
102 Minnis Road | Minnis bay, Birchington CT7 9NX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Birchington B&B and Inns
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Thanet @ Its Best!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Wonderful friendly welcome from Sharon after a far too long journey down the M2!! The room was very clean and the bed afforded a wonderful night’s sleep. Breakfast was plentiful, well cooked and very tasty – you certainly don’t go hungry at the White House.

We stayed two nights and having been brought up in Thanet, in a typical 11 bedroomed Cliffonville Guest House, lived in Thanet for 28 years and have travelled there 10+ times a year for the past 26 years this was the first time we had stayed anywhere other than with parents – I am very pleased to say we made the right choice and will definitely be staying again!

The White House is really good value for money, in an often forgotten part of the Island!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon R, Owner at Minnis WhiteHouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thanks very much for such a great review!
It was a pleasure to have you both here and I really appreciated your very positive suggestions!
See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
22
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I recently stayed at Sharon and Laurie's lovely B and B, whilst on a two-day trip with my 5 and 3 year old girls to the super beach at Minnis Bay. We had a great time, made all the more special by the warm welcome we received from Sharon at the WhiteHouse. Nothing was too much trouble and I was incredibly impresed with how accomodating and thoughful our hosts were in relation to having two young children stay in their wonderful house. Sharon allowed the girls to explore the garden, play in the tree house, pick fruit for breakfast and feed their Koi Carp in the garden pond. Sharon is so clearly passionate about her business and ensures her guests are really well looked after. Thank you; we will return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon R, Owner at Minnis WhiteHouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you Martin for your great review.
Your girls were charming and well behaved a pleasure to have as guests.thank you for recommending us to your friends who are coming in August.
See you three again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We booked just before the recent heat wave and spent a very enjoyable weekend in Westgate-on-Sea and Birchington. Nothing was too much trouble for Sharon & Laurie. When we arrived early Sharon was quite happy for us to leave our bags as we made our way to the beach which is 5 mins walk away. The room we had booked was the the Poirot which had a huge and comfortable bed. Sharon left us milk for teas and coffee and the bathroom was clean and tidy. Breakfast was a feast. You could not ask for more. Sharon has just opened the B&b and we both wish her & Laurie every success. We have friends in the area and did not hesitate to recommend the B&B to them.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon R, Owner at Minnis WhiteHouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thanks for your lovely review. You certainly brought the weather with you!
It was a pleasure to have you here. The garden table has been very busy for breakfast al fresco.
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic B&B. Sharon and Laurie are the perfect hosts in a wonderful Art Deco house. The rooms are very well appointed with the most comfortable huge bed. The breakfast is to die for with pretty much anything you could want, including fresh fruit picked from the most delightful garden. Gluten free products too as well as "Birchers", which is a must try start to the day. Lovely stay and highly recommended indeed. I WILL be back for sure!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon R, Owner at Minnis WhiteHouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you so much for the cracking review!
The weather has been kind so breakfast in the garden has been a regular event.
We enjoyed your company and hope to see you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

You could not ask for a more perfect stay; friendly welcome, king sized beds, full Kent breakfast in their beautiful garden, fresh coffee, the best Bircher muesli I've ever tasted, tastefull Art Deco theme coupled with the warmth of Sharon and Laurie the hosts. We could not have had a better experience and it was all so well priced. You MUST STAY HERE.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon R, Owner at Minnis WhiteHouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your very nice review!
It was a brilliant weekend and lovely to be able to serve breakfast in the garden.
Birchington museli made with Kent ingredients has been very very popular,
Hope we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Sharon and Laurie were great hosts and made us most welcome. Nnothing was too much trouble or a problem. Breakfast was a feast that could sustain the waist line and the taste buds all day. The room and location were ideal. A very relaxing mini break.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon R, Owner at Minnis WhiteHouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review. It was a pleasure to welcome you. Hope to see you again soon.
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We recently had a very pleasant stay here. Sharon and Laurie made us very welcome (including our dog Sophia, who had her very own jar of biscuits and blanket waiting for her in our room!)
Our room was bright and very comfortable, Sharon is a great cook and host, the breakfast was superb! Would recommend this B&B without hesitation. T

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon R, Owner at Minnis WhiteHouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Sophie was a pleasure to welcome here. We are glad all three of you had a good time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Minnis WhiteHouse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minnis WhiteHouse Bed and Breakfast

Address: 102 Minnis Road | Minnis bay, Birchington CT7 9NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Birchington
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Birchington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gorgeous Art Deco building with in easy walking distance of Minnis Bay.We have two rooms we can accommodate up to four people. Poirot room has a shower en suite and a front facing balcony. It can be set up as a kingsize bed or two large singles. Hastings bedroom has a king size bed, a shower ensuite and a balcony overlooking the garden. All rooms have free Wifi, a tv, and a hospitality tray.We serve a scrumptious Kent breakfast in our new breakfast room. The dining room can used in the evening for DIY snacks plates, glasses and corkscrew always available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Minnis WhiteHouse Bed And Breakfast Birchington, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minnis WhiteHouse Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.