We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Minnis Bay

Minnis Bay
The Parade, Birchington CT7 9LX, England
01843 577577
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 15 things to do in Birchington
Attraction details
kent
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

If you are looking for vast beaches, great walking and easy cycle paths Minnis Bay is the place for you. Great for kids, with good parking along the prom and a car park. There is bike hire available, cycling is easy going and relatively flat, you have a mostly tarmac pathway right along to Herne Bay. We spent the day here in the summer and stayed and watched the beautiful sunset while behind us the combine harvester worked the fields, it was magical. You may spot swans, geese and other wild birds. The Minnis restaurant serves meals and you can also sit outside with cold drinks and fish and chips and watch the world go by. A small kiosk serves ice creams. It's a busy place in peak season but just take your cycle out or walk and it is stunning. No arcades or tacky shops! Love it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    22
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birchington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wholesome pleasure for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Clean water, clean sand (dogs banned May 1 - September 30), fresh air and gorgeous sunsets. Minnis Bay offers wholesome delights and has been a worthy winner of the coveted Blue Flag for cleanliness and water quality for many years now. There are walks or cycle paths to Reculver and the village of St Nicholas along a flat, easily-accessed seawall from which you can sometimes spot rare bird life. The bay offers a delightful paddling pool where kids can explore marine life. If you want all the pleasures of a traditional, unspoilt beach Minnis Bay has it all, including free parking if you get there early- otherwise there is a roomy and not too expensive council car park.Bikes can be hired and there is a busy restaurant/cafe.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“August is a funny Month”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

The car park can get packed a lot of the time depending on the day you go, so we left early to get a parking space. The seafront is very clean and there are more beach huts.
We visited Minnis Bay in August the tide was high I had an enjoyable swim The water is lovely and clear .
W ewere so impressed that we sold our House in Staffordshire and moved down to Kent

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Still the Same”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Have not been to Minnis Bay for over two years and it still has that charm about it. Beach at low tide with a paddling/crab pool. Ideal for for families with children as even at high tide you can play in the big grass depression. No seaside amusements just a cafe and pub, with an external ice cream kiosk.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The car park can get packed a lot of the time depending on the day you go, so we left early to get a parking space. The seafront is very clean and there are more beach huts. The water is lovely and clear but the beach is filled with seaweed. However, that is not a problem as it doesn't smell. We walked around the chalk cliffs. It was a lovely walk. We then went to 'The Minnis' restaurant. It is rather expensive but the staff are lovely there. Minnis bay is just around the corner from Herne Bay so we had a look there after which was also very nice.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minnis Bay also viewed

Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
Kingsgate, Isle of Thanet
 
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to Minnis Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minnis Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.