We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant attraction” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Powell-Cotton Museum Quex House & Gardens

Powell-Cotton Museum Quex House & Gardens
Quex Park, Birchington CT7 0BH, England
+44 (0) 1843 842168
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 attractions in Birchington
Type: Museums, Historic Sites
Attraction Details
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pleasant attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We visited The Powell-Cotton Museum and gardens on Easter Sunday this year, the children enjoyed it and we looked forward to having afternoon tea.

All of us enjoyed the fruit scone cream tea, but we were all very amazed at the expensive prices, not your typical family afternoon prices ! I think the venue needs to revise these prices in order to attract new customers.

I would recommend this venue for families, just give the tea shop a miss until they have affordable prices.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    23
    6
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Faversham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellently Eccentric”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We only decided to go on the spur of the moment as it was too cold to do anything else, so headed down to the coast to Quex unknowing of what they had to offer. Blimey! I mean, the Powell-Cotton Museum was incredible, with an absolutely huge collection of archaeology, animals (very, very much dead and preserved) and in fact so much I can't begin to list it. It's fair to say these 'finds' were all very much the pursuit of a holiday shop that went into extreme overdrive, but the results are amazing. I'd go again, and again, and again. It's reminiscent of the past, with a polished eye on the future, and has been contemporised brilliantly. Oh, and the people who work there are so nice as well...my wee daughter couldn't have been made to feel more welcome by the man at the entrance - a top day all in all!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“An interesting good day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

There is lots to see here,The Powell-Cotton Museum in Birchington Kent has a significant collection of natural history, a large collection of ceramics, archaeology, and firearms, the mounted animals are set out in a natural scene such as a waterhole, there are several galleries of these.
Several rooms in Quex House are open to the public during the Summer Season and provide a special addition to a visit to the Museum, one of the rooms on the ground floor has a really good collection of Japanese artifacts, we did not have a lot of time to look round the gardens but believe that they are quite large with a Victorian theme in some of it. The restaurant is also worth a visit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fascinating and Eccentric”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Quex house and gardens are set back off the road hiding their presence from the world. I have visited Birchington for the last 15 years and paid a visit to the house and gardens for the first time in the last week.

An ideal wet weather plan, the house represents all that is great about Britain and children will have a great time learning about the way of life in days gone by.

The Museum appears quite small from the entrance until you pass into the gallery where I was met by a man who was extremely polite and knowledgable about the house. I actually chatted with him for about 15 minutes like a personal guide. The diorama's are truly amazing especially when the animals are actually skins stretched across wooden frames, they look so life like and have been positioned to represent a typical scene from the wild. The collection of ancient weapons was my favourite and you can see long rifles and blunderbuss' from Africa to WWII Lugers and pistols, there is something for everyone.

Further into the galleries is the entrance to the house. During my visit I was allowed to walk through the main reception and upstairs. This didn't take too long to see everything but it still was nice to read and imagine how the house was run when it had servants and staff.

The gardens are well kept and even though it was barely above freezing the walled garden and silver birch kept the strong wind out quite well!

I would probably recommend spending half a day here and the rest at the on site craft centre and farm shop. Ideal as a wet weather program, children will marvel at the dioramas.

As a photographer, I would have loved to capture the beauty of the house and museum but understandably this poses a security risk if the images were exploited. Maybe an application prior to a visit would work as I have found with other stately homes.

In conclusion, a great day out!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Easter bunny hunt.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Over Easter they held an Easter bunny hunt in the grounds and the museum. My grandson loved it although he sometimes did not stay in the galleries for long as he was looking for the next clue. Great grandma found walking around outside a bit difficult (age more than anything else). All four generations really enjoyed it! Half the restaurant was cordoned off for a private function so there were people waiting for tables. It was too chilly to sit outside so we went somewhere else for lunch.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Powell-Cotton Museum Quex House & Gardens also viewed

 
Birchington, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to Powell-Cotton Museum Quex House & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Powell-Cotton Museum Quex House & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Powell-Cotton Museum Quex House & Gardens to your Saves list