We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Things generally a bit slow” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, Hollingbourne ME17 1RE, England (Formerly Mercure Maidstone Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hollingbourne
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Things generally a bit slow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Upon arrival at the Mercure, the first thing we saw was a huge, sparkling white Christmas tree through the window at the entrance. It turned out that they were advertising Christmas parties, but it was certainly odd to see that in mid-July, and perhaps advertising it away from the hotel entrance would have been advisable.
There seemed to be a bit of confusion at check-in, however when we got to our room it was really nice (the privilege rooms are good value).
Dinner was nice, however the service was painfully slow. We arrived at 8.30 and were still waiting for our starters half an hour later (soup and terrine, so not cooked from scratch). We sat for a considerable amount of time with empty plates in front of us and others around us were also getting very impatient.
The rooms were very hot in the night, and the fan used to keep them cool was really loud and I woke up both nights at 3am! Air conditioning would be a good investment. On the second night, there was a wedding, and people were making noise outside until well into the early hours. I think it would be a good rule to stop noise outside after a certain time, as not all guests were part of the wedding party.
Breakfast was nice, but a smile and a good morning from the waiter serving tea and coffee would be much appreciated. The pool was a great facility.
We placed a sign on the door saying "please make up the room", as it hadn't been made up earlier in the day, but although staff came in to replace the toiletries and towels, our bed wasn't made up properly, and this was a shame as this was one of the main perks of staying in a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Hert3090
Thank you for your review.
I am pleased you enjoyed your Privilege room, the leisure club and found the dinner nice but apologise for the slow service on this occassion as it was an exceptionally busy period. The warm weather has been fabulous and seems to be behind us now with the rooms cooling off nicely. I have noted your other comments and will follow these up with those concerned and look to better controlling any guests using the patio after hours.
Sincerely
Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    176
    114
    58
    16
See reviews for
87
205
12
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed at the hotel as an overnight stop en-route to France. The hotel is well located just off the motorway. The rooms are well appointed and the staff friendly, helpful and efficient. Will definitely stay at this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Doc09Derby
Thank you very much for your positive review.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Sincerely
Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

When first got to room was shocked at how hot room felt , left window open all night to cool down room, only down side was peacocks were so loud early in morning, made me jump!
Food was good , conference facilities were very good too,
Would stay again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.
The peacocks have gone to a new home, but we have retained the peahen. With 26 acres of lovely ground we were delighted when 5 peacocks were born here 3 years ago. Sadly, whilst they are beautiful creatures, this year their voices matured and we had to say goodbye.

I am delighted you enjoyed the food and facilities and look forward to welcoming you back.
Best wishes
Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Suffolk, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Good location, excellent hotel grounds, good restaurant, Food good although restaurant service was a little slow on the Friday night. Amanda in the Bar was fantastic, a very professional lady. DO NOT STAY IN ROOM 218..... unless you want to stay overnight in a box. We paid £149 for two nights on a special deal which included breakfast & dinner on the first night. But if you get woken up each morning to banging & clanging from outside (218 is at the back/side of the hotel overlooking the rear Car park) there is no point paying for a room in my option. We did report this to reception after the first night but the guy on Reception did not seem particularly interested, so really no point on mentioning it again after the second night. We will stay at the Hilton in future, larger rooms, the Hilton is more expensive but in the end you pay for what you get. But maybe we were just unlucky.... who knows.

Room Tip: All the rooms at this hotel are the same size apart from the Suites. If you want a Double Room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Judy
Thankyou for your review. We appreciate any feedback which will allow us to continually monitor and improve our service and standards. I am pleased you enjoyed the food and will be sure to pass your great comments on to Amanda and all concerned. We do have several different room types and sizes and are always happy to offer an alternative whenever possible. I apologise for the noise issues you have mentioned and will look into the matter.
Yours sincerely
Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Excellent hotel - we went for a girly spa break and had afternoon tea, dinner and breakfast at the hotel. Food was of a good selection and was good quality.

Spa area and spa treatments were very good - the spa treatment rooms are slightly cramped but the spa area itself is very nice.

The customer service at reception wasn't great, they would not allow us to check in because we were 5 minutes early and an early check in fee would be applicable but it transpired that the room was not ready as the maid had just left the room as we got there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear RoyalLegalty
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate any feedback that will allow us to monitor and improve our standards and service and I have noted your comments. I am delighted you enjoyed your weekend especially the food. We do allow early check-in whenever possible giving guests the opportunity to settle-in and make use of the facilities, but this is not always possible during peak arrival periods.
We hope to welcome you back again soon
Sincerely
Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The overall impression for the hotel and grounds is very good when you book in at the reception the decor is A1. However the long trek from the only resident lift and staircase to any rooms located at the rear is a real pain.

We stopped here on what happened to be three of the hottest days that had been recently recorded, so the rooms could definitely benefit from AC. The helpful staff did provide a fan on request.

The room was very well appointed, and very clean and attractive, however as it was laid out it was a very small room with just enough room to squeeze between the bed and the window. This would prove a real problem if you have any mobility issues. With some thought this could be overcome.

Overall the facilities, pool, and service was very good, and cannot fault either, the breakfasts and food was excellent and reasonable value. I would be very happy to stay here again any time, nice location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not to far from the lift or stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Ncarlton
Thank you very much for your positive review.

I was delighted you enjoyed the food, the service and some of the many facilities.
It has been exceptionally warm lately and we have seen much more use of the pool as a result!.

We have a number of different room types and styles and I would recommend a Privilege room when you visit us next.

We look forward to welcoming you back

Sincerely
Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I took advantage of the recent two night deal and had a wonderful break at this hotel and have found it difficult to reconcile some of remarks made by recent guests with the service and accommodation we experienced.
From our arrival, we received courteous, friendly and efficient service ranging from the agreement to change our evening dining arrangement from the first to the second night because of an illness in the family to the advice given by a waitress about places to visit locally.
Our stay coincided with the recent hot temperatures and whilst the opening of the windows was limited (perhaps to prevent disgruntled guests leaping out!) during the night the room was cool.
All the food was excellent as was the room which was modern and well decorated.
The only disappointment was that there were no brochures at reception showing other Mercure Hotels in the UK since in future trips we would like to use the Company again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Pensionista

I am really grateful for your comments and notice that of your four reviews - you have already received four helpful votes.

The team here genuinely aim to get it right for each of our guests and I am delighted you enjoyed the food, the room and your stay.

I am not able to provide a link to other Mercure hotels on this site, but these can be found easily using a search engine.

We look forward to welcoming you back to a Mercure hotel again soon.
Sincerely
Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel

Address: Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, Hollingbourne ME17 1RE, England (Formerly Mercure Maidstone Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hollingbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hollingbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Maidstone
Maidstone Ramada
Ramada Maidstone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.