We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, Hollingbourne ME17 1RE, England (Formerly Mercure Maidstone Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hollingbourne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. Typical hotel room with reasonable sound proofing. Slightly tired pool, larger than a lot of hotels with sauna, steamroom and jacuzzi. Small pitch and putt available but grass on the greens a bit long for putting on. Nice choice of cooked breakfast although no black pudding. Sausages lovely though. Helpful cheery staff. Bar area clean and modern but disappointed no local bitters available. Saturday night had singer in the bar. Very impressed with him, sang Michael Buble, Frank Sinatra style, created nice atmosphere. Food in restaurant very reasonably priced but someone should tell the Chef the difference between rare and well done steak. Coffee sachets, tea and earl grey bags in room but no biscuits. Very soft pillows. But beware noisy peacocks roaming around outside in the early hours. Hotel a quarter of a mile from Leeds Castle. Would stay here again

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to the hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and have noted your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    176
    114
    58
    16
See reviews for
87
205
12
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed recently as part of a group. Ideal location for us to use as a base. Rooms good and clean, breakfast plentiful and good service. Didn't have dinner so can't comment on that, bar is usual hotel prices.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards
Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, staff are very friendly and happy to help. Grounds are lovely but not much to walk around. Very much enjoyed the food at the hotel, especially dinner as some entertainment was provided by a young man singing Buble and Sinatra hits, I didn't catch his name but he was brilliant! Rooms are comfortable and clean. The swimming pool area could do with a bit of refurb but overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Haze
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards
Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Evelyn
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Hard to find (my fault)
Long way out of town
Once we became familiar with the roads around the hotel we had less difficulty getting back to base.
Food was good and breakfast was easily accessed and staff were helpful

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I'm glad that you managed to get your bearings with the local area and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind regards
Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed overnight whist attending very good freind of my wifes wedding.
Excelent room breakfast was a sumptious affair eat as much as you like and the quality was good too. Bathroom was a little small and sitting on the toilet was a squeeze between bath and radiator/towelrail, disapointed there wernt any biscuits to complement the usual free tea and cofffee.
Maidstone town centre a short taxi ride away. Maidstone night life is really buzzing just latley and with regular police patrols and security staff on most of the pubs and clubs doors there is very little trouble. perfect for a city break.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Golf course it is farthest away from road and reception but away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Richard R
Thank you very much for your positive review
Maidstone is the County town of Kent and it keeps getting better!
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Sincerely
Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is my second stay at the Great Danes Hotel in 6 months and have found both visits very pleasant and would recommend this hotel as very good value if you are wanting to stay in the Maidstone area. On my first visit we had been to Canterbury for the day and came to the hotel quite tired but enjoyed the hotel pool/spa facilities and the quietness of the hotel. We had a walk around the very pleasant grounds in the morning and the peacocks added a novelty factor. My second stay recently was quite brief so couldn't enjoy the spa facilities but found the room very clean and of a high standard with everything one would need for a good night's sleep. Pleasant view in the morning over the fields beyond and although didn't see the peacocks heard them calling! The hotel is very well placed for the M20 so access to the many sights of interest in Kent readily to hand and of course easy to get to France from here. Will be going back hopefully at some point in the not too distant future and have already recommended the Great Danes to my friends!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Janhay
Thank you very much for your positive review.
I am delighted you enjoyed your 2nd visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Sincerely
Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Franklin, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Not quite as nice as you would think from the pictures but the hotel was clean and the front desk staff very friendly. Access to the Health Club is nice with the pool but the cardio and exercise equipment could have been of better quality. The hotel restaurant was nice, clean, with live music and the food acceptable but not great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear PSC1971
Thank you for your review and I appreciate all your comments which have been noted.
I am pleased you enjoyed the restaurant experience where live music is featured most weekends.
We hope to welcome you back again at some point in the future.
Sincerely
Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel

Address: Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, Hollingbourne ME17 1RE, England (Formerly Mercure Maidstone Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hollingbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hollingbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Maidstone
Maidstone Ramada
Ramada Maidstone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.