We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful spa break and no offer for help” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, Hollingbourne ME17 1RE, England (Formerly Mercure Maidstone Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hollingbourne
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awful spa break and no offer for help”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

My girlfriend and I booked a two-night stay to the Mercure Hotel in Maidstone, with a view to taking full advantage of the Sebastian Coe Health Spa (which had received fairly consistent reviews of 4 Stars).

Having shelled out over £400 + extras, we could be forgiven for expecting a half decent experience. However, a number of problems occurred that made have been a relaxing spa weekend, a highly stressful one. The problems included but were not limited to:

1. Fire alarms going off IN THE MIDDLE of massage treatments - we were ordered outside in just our swimsuits (no offer of gowns or slippers, bearing in mind this was the last weekend in January).

2. Treatments which we had already paid for but (a) did not last anywhere near as long as the treatments are advertised and (b) were woefully underwhelming, due to the inexperience of the technicians. Freezing cold rooms, blankets which were sticky from where previous clients had used them and got massage oil on them, technicians slamming doors. For £60-70 for a massage, you expect to leave feeling relaxed, not frostbitten and stressed.

3. Hotel receptionists were ambivalent at best. When we voiced our concerns about the fire alarm and the general inadecuate spa conditions with the hotel receptionist, she simply shrugged and rolled her eyes. We had called the manageress since leaving to complain and it has completely fallen on deaf ears. As a result, I have no option but to tell all prospective guests through review sites.

4. PRICE OF HOTEL FOOD. If I could underline and highlight in bold, then I would... If you're happy to spend £15 + service for a burger that any run-of-the-mill pub would be embarrassed to serve, go for it.

£6 for a small bowl of olives too - I would expect to lay on a chaise-longue and have olives fed to me for that price.

There are pubs and restaurants in the surrounding area which I would recommend over this place - you'll find better (and cheaper) food and a warmer welcome.

Conclusion: From what we saw, the Mercure in Maidstone is fairly good as far as business conferences are concerned (i.e. one night stay, breakfast and out). However, DO NOT, under any circumstances, waste your money on a spa weekend: save your money and go somewhere else where customer service is a priority.

Two days of my life I'll never get back!!!

Room Tip: Get a room as far away from the dual-carriageway as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Dear Nick B
I apologise that your treatments were interrupted by a fire alarm which we always take seriously. We aim to minimise any discomfort in these situations and gowns are always offered.

The beauty team are very particular about cleanliness and fresh laundry is used for every new client. The use of coloured towels in the treatment rooms will however be reviewed. Treatment options vary and the hot stone massage, Elemis taster facial and head massage is a popular package.

We regularly review our prices to ensure we offer good value for money. The Brasserie burger is a favourite meal using 100% Aberdeen Angus, focaccia bread with bacon, a choice of cheddar or blue cheese and thick cut chips.

The team is focussed on customer service and I am sorry this matter was not resolved to your satisfaction either during or after your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    176
    114
    58
    17
See reviews for
87
205
12
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

We went to the hotel in late december for an evening out . It was the james bond live and let die night . The whole evening was fantastic . The food was excellent and the disco and singer were very very good . Every one was dressed up to the nines and having a very good time . Would definately recommend this hotel and their caberet evenings .

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed one of our party nights and hope to see you back for another exciting evening this year !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

The Mercure Maidstone is easy to find, located just of junction 8 of the M20. Guests journeying in to Maidstone in the morning rush hour will find the A20 slow and confusing, butt this cannot be said to be the fault of the hotel!

The hotel is not, externally, the prettiest of buildings, but the interior is reasonably well-maintained. The staff were not just polite, but also friendly and accommodating.

The room was rather compact and slightly too warm, despite the radiator being turned off. All the furniture was in good repair, however, and the room was clean and appeared recently decorated. Complementary bottled spring water was provided in addition to the usual teas and coffees. Maximum use was made of all available space, and it was perfectly adequate for one person for one week. A couple might have found it a bit of a squeeze, though. One quibble must be that the walls were irritatingly thin, allowing me to hear a good deal of my next-door neighbour's telephone conversation on my second evening.

The hotel bar/reastaurant was pleasant, with free wi-fi access, and breakfast had a good variety of hot and cold options at the buffet, with yet further hot options available to order. Evening meals seemed off-puttingly expensive, however. Although the usual suspects were to be found on tap at the bar (Stella, Guinness, Boddingtons), there were some reasonably good bottled beers on offer, including Speckled Hen and London Pride. These were, however, priced a little too high: it is really the cost of food and drink which pulls the "value" score for the Mercure down to a 3.

Given the size of the rooms and the cost of food and drink, I could only recommend this hotel for short stays, but to that extent, I do recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Thank you for your comprehensive review and for recommending the hotel. I am pleased you found the staff polite, friendly & accommodating. Bedroom sizes differ throughout the hotel and we do offer a selection of different room types. We are always happy to offer a choice whenever possible. We regularly review all prices to ensure we are competitive and offer value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel last weekend, and it was fantastic from checkin to checkout. All the staff were very polite and I couldn't fault the service. The breakfast buffet was well organised and food was lovely. Was great value for money, room was very clean. Will deffinately visit again soon

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for such a great review. We all work to deliver good standards and service and we are proud of our staff. Delighted you had an enjoyable weekend and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

The New Years Eve Gala Ball was an excellent night from the reception, through the delicious meal, to the first class entertainment.

I cannot remember ever encountering such friendly staff. They really seemed to be enjoying the event as much as we were.

Having been to very good tribute nights here, my expectations were high and all were exceeded.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Dear Peter L
Thank you very much for your review. I was delighted that we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed the whole experience and found the staff friendly. We are just finalising the acts for this coming New Years Eve event and hope to see you here again. The theme for our Party NIghts will be Black, White and Diamonds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

It's been this and its been that, and it is currently 'Mercure' but old timers will always call it the Great Danes (as per the Crossroads era although Benny was thankfully absent) and indeed two Great Dane statues are still positioned near the reception.

Anyway, we stayed here years ago when the children were young and it was excellent then for three very active children, with all the sporting facilties and it looked as though all this was still in place.

The hotel seems to be in the transition phase as Mercure (Accor Group) only took over the hotel recently so some basic information on what time breakfast was, was unavailable in the room.

We had a nice room, but their was not much room in the bathroom with the loo adjacent tight to the bath and your obese person had better make sure they can get in and out!

Although it was generally quiet there were the usual hotel strange noises during the night which causes the imagination to run riot, e.g. some thumps and bumps, and some running up and down the corridor outside of our room.

Also, the TV setup was weird. no service info but apparently this is because of the transition phase to Mercure.

We had coffee in the bar area to the right of the reception when we arrived in the early evening and the next morning, both times it was excellent service by friendly staff and the coffee was outstandingly good (plus a small mince-pie, biscuits and water thrown in for free).

We enjoyed a walk in the grounds the next morning.

The Great Danes provided excellent value-for-money (my wife got some sort of deal via her Accor card).

We would definately stay there again - just get the Great Danes name back where it belongs.

Room Tip: Look at the room first before finally deciding whether to stay or not. Also, sneaky tip, pretend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Dear John
Thank you for your review, I am sorry I was not able to reply sooner.
The brand change has been in place now for nearly 6 months and things have certainly settled down and improved. Planning permission for the new signage has been approved but sadly not as the Great Danes. We will keep the statues at reception as a reminder and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel as we had an early start on a Channel Tunnel Shuttle. It’s very convenient for that as it’s just off the motorway. As noted in other reviews this used to be a Ramada Jarvis and is now a Mercure thanks to some signs and stickers, it’s going to take some work. Check in was quick and efficient. I made a booking for dinner which didn’t get to the restaurant, but no problem as it was empty save for one other table. The restaurant manager was pleasant and very efficient. The food was very good as was breakfast the following morning. The barman in the evening and the male waiter in the morning were both dour and disinterested. The older local waitress was very pleasant and helpful. The room was clean and tidy, the bed was large, but the bath small. As with other Mercure receptionists in the UK, there was little knowledge of the A/Club and therefore checking out took longer than anticipated.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Dear Steve Llanelli
Thank you for your review, I am sorry I was not able to respond to you sooner.
Your comments were of great interest and I am pleased you enjoyed dinner and breakfast. I appreciate your comments about the team. We have settled down since the brand change and replacement of the permanent signage is underway. We are better trained and more familiar with the A/Club system now and hope to welcome you back if you are ever travelling across to Europe again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel

Address: Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, Hollingbourne ME17 1RE, England (Formerly Mercure Maidstone Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hollingbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hollingbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Maidstone
Maidstone Ramada
Ramada Maidstone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.