We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rose in Vale Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rose in Vale Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mithian | St Agnes, Mithian TR5 0QD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mithian
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rude!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I attended the Mike and Carol Sanders wedding too and whilst I agree that Katharine was absolutely brilliant, charming, friendly, professional and highly efficient, the same cannot be said for her employers. Just plain surly, rude and un welcoming,
we found ourselves locked out in torrential rain whilst the reception was in full swing, we had stepped out for a breath of fresh air, how bizarre!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James E, Owner at Rose in Vale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your review. The risk of fire is something that we take very seriously. During this wedding the fire alarms had been set of during the evening due to cigarette smoke in the hotel, with 150 people in the hotel we had to act very quickly, the party had to be stopped the building evacuated.

I recall it was gone 2:00am, after the wedding function had ended, when a group were smoking within a side entrance to the hotel, inside the hotel with all internal doors open If this had been allowed to continue then the fire alarms may have been set off a second time, resulting in the majority of guests having to leave their bed rooms whilst the hotel was checked.

To prevent this situation and to comply with the law i asked the party to stand outside with the door closed.

If you were a non smoking member of that party i understand you may have felt that i was being harsh, but i have to act in the interests of everyone safety.

Regards

James Evans
Owner
Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
Mithian
St Agnes
Cornwall
TR5 0QD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    71
    38
    24
    24
See reviews for
46
204
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I honestly cannot understand the good/excellent reviews on this site.

We booked 2 nights in September 2013, the pool was supposed to be open according to their website, hence our booking. When we arrived it was closed for maintenance - but no maintaining was going on.

The communal areas are tired, shabby wallpaper and exposed pluming work where a radiator once stood, dirty seating in the louge/bar area.

OK the room itself was nicely presented, but extremely small and pokey. The walls are paper thin and I could hear the next door neighbour snoring. There was a lovely view of a roof out of a window that would not stay open.

I was tempted by the beautifully presented food on their website - its a far cry from what you actually get. The wesbite shows food presented in a contemporary way. We got faulty towers style mass catering crockery - with an electric candle on the table.
The food was edible, but not great, simple things like not rendering the fat properly on the duck breast and not resting the meat so it came swimming in a pool of blood. the glass I was given was chipped too. Maybe we had a stand in chef, but it definitely fell very short of our expectations

We overheard the owner saying he had never run a hotel before, but he thought they had learnt from their mistakes - there is clearly alot more they have to learn.

Breakfast was OK, although there is a strange set up where the kitchen is opposite the dining area and staff continually have to cross this corridor when carrying hot food or dirty plates - dangerous if you happen to be walking down said corridor. There was a greasy smell in the morning that filtered throughout the downstairs. Whilst eating breakfast there was a cleaner doing the hoovering right outside the dining area - why not wait until after service?

The following day we decided to leave for home and not stay. The receptionist had the cheek to say we owed them for the second night. This was despite the list of issues I highlighted.
I refused to pay, and was "threatened" with the manager coming to speak to me. I was glad I was going to get the opportunity to explain the issues to the manager. The manager was too busy. I was told the manager would contact me via email......Its now December and still no contact.


The manager clearly doesn't want to learn how to improve this establishment.

Warning to anyone looking to book this place - Dont waste your money.

Room Tip: Don't bother. Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James E, Manager at Rose in Vale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Firstly, I am sorry that your stay did not live up to its expectations. As you know, the Country House Hotel is a small independent hotel, and with this comes many individual characteristics not seen in a corporate hotel. The Hotel is constantly being updated to mention a few; the Valley Restaurant oak floor recently completely refurbished using traditional methods, the snug area has also seen some beautiful new sofas added. The Hotel itself consists of many different types of rooms, ranging from standard accommodation to the Honeymoon Suite, with a lounge area overlooking the gardens and woodlands, and fabulous ensuite bathroom, especially designed for a couple. Most recently of all some of the china has been replaced with Wedgwood. This hotel is the perfect County House Retreat with many guests returning 2 or 3 times a year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Our family recently celebrated my parents Diamond Wedding anniversary at the Rose in Vale Hotel. The weekend ran smoothly and effortlessly. The staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them, even accommodating my niece's nut allergy without any trouble (she had her own canapés made specially!) The food was very good and lived up too it's AA rosette. The restaurant manager was excellent. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The real fire in the lounge was very welcoming on a cold winter evening.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We recently attended the wedding reception held at the Rose and Vale Hotel. It was a wonderful day. The location is secluded and the hotel and grounds are stunning. The event ran flawlessly, thanks to the hotel's wedding planner, and the staff could not do enough to help. The biggest testimony to this were the massive smiles on the bride and groom's faces throughout the day. 5 stars and a big thumbs up from me.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perranporth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I attended a wedding at the Rose-in-vale hotel recently and thought it was a really lovely venue - stunning location and beautifully presented. I was also very impressed with how smoothly the event ran - the wedding planner (Katharine) was exceptional and the event was clearly well organised & managed and with lots of attention to detail.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed in this hotel at the end of August 2013. We chose this hotel because dogs are welcome here. The room was small but it was very well furnished and made excellent use of the space. The room had a pleasant view over the green open space within the hotel grounds, which are very pretty.The hotel food was also very nice.The hotel is very well situated for visiting the local area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed at the RITV hotel for 3 nights in November 2013. Luxurious experience although we never found out how to use spa bath properly (too shy to ask). Food fantastic. Away from the madding crowd but Truro only 2 miles away one way and the marvellous beaches of N Cornwall and it's big waves only 2 miles in the other direction.

And Dog Friendly if they bring well behaved owners with them.

120% Recommend it. Value for money for a refined enjoyable environment.

Malc Taylor

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bathroom with separate shower room and bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rose in Vale Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose in Vale Country House Hotel

Address: Mithian | St Agnes, Mithian TR5 0QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mithian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mithian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rose in Vale Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rose in Vale is a Country House Hotel set in its own private wooded valley on the North Cornish coast near to St Agnes. The Hotel is owned and run by Sara and James Evans. The Hotel is a quiet Hotel, we do not take children under 12 years of age and no matter how busy the rest of cornwall is, you will find the Rose in Vale to be a haven of peace and tranquility. The Rose in Vale has a great restaurant which has been awarded a Rosette every year since 2007, and awarded its second rosette in 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rose in Vale Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose in Vale Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.