We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Whole Package” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rose in Vale Country House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rose in Vale Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mithian | St Agnes, Mithian TR5 0QD, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mithian
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
farnborough
1 review
“The Whole Package”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The hotel - truly a Cornish Hidden Gem - accommodation most comfortable and clean.
Meals - never a disappointment - so always an empty plate at the end of each course.
Staff - always friendly and welcoming.
Having been employed in the Travel Industry throughout my working life, I have had the good fortune to stay in some of the World's top hotels - the experience of which was mostly very enjoyable, however, it has taken the Rose in Vale to add the finishing cherry.
As I am now a retired single traveller I first booked into the hotel for a week in July 2012 and stayed in one of the Master rooms (room 1). From the moment of checking in with one of the receptionist until a week later and checking out Sara,James and their staff did everything possible to make my stay an absolute joy - always professional but with a warm and friendly smile. I was so impressed that I booked to stay again for an extended Christmas break. This time I stayed in a Joyce Nankivel room no 14 - again, a most comfortable room. Most guests joined in with a programme and various activities - all adding much to the general festivities.
The meals throughout were again exceptional with Gary and his staff looking after us all wonderfully well - as did Henry on Gary's day off.
Yes truly delightful - the Rose in Vale - conveniently located in charming countryside - very comfortable and clean accommodation - exceptional food - first class with the warmth and friendliness of a family hotel. I very much look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    77
    41
    25
    24
See reviews for
51
230
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whimple, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We've stayed at this lovely hotel on several occasions now, and each time have enjoyed it enormously. The welcome is warm, the service excellent, and the food is exceptional. We have never seen hosts try so hard to provide whatever their guests ask for! The personal touch is evident throughout, and the highlight of any stay is the meals - either at breakfast or dinner, and we look forward to eating more of the wonderful food cooked by their new chef, and so beautifully served by the legendary Gary! We have found the rooms to be a reasonable size - you don't spend much time in a hotel room when there are so many lovely places within easy reach to visit. When my husband asked where I would like to spend my birthday next month - there was no question - it has to be the Rose-in-Vale!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Our stay here was not as expected. The deal included dinner and breakfast and it was only once we were sat for dinner we realised we were the youngest ones there (and we're in our 40's!). Having said that, the food itself was excellent. The room was clean and comfortable, but the bed a little small, and the television was in a weird position on the wall (it seemed to be around the corner from the bed making viewing it almost impossible without getting a crick in your neck!) When lying in bed and trying to sleep all we could hear were the 'oldies' giggling like teenagers and making a racket getting back to their rooms. The hotel was acceptable but we wouldn't return

Room Tip: We only saw the one room so hard to recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

this hotel is in a fantastic setting ,back to a bygone age.roaring fires in the public rooms,fantastic service and the new young chef is a rising star. The food is top class,could not fault it,cannot wait to return,James and Sara cannot do enough for you.About the hotel,beautiful location fantastic walks a place to relax,plenty of parking.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

What a fantastic night. We stayed on Friday 1st Feb for the launch of Anthony the head chef and his team. Masterchef eat your heart out. Nothing short of perfection. Sara and James make sure your stay at the Rose in Vale is the very best in comfort. They even welcome dogs in a lovely room. You usually get the rubbish rooms, not here.
The staff are attentive and a special mention to Gary who is the very best at his job.
Looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: Have stayed four times now and all the rooms have been excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Really enjoyed our New Year break. Very nice room, which we knew would be on the small side, which was well appointed. Very nice food. They made a real effort on New Year's Eve with a great jazz band and fireworks.

Although we only live in Plymouth we now see the hotel as a nice place for a bit of R&R.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend and our dog in September 2012 for three nights, on a deal we had booked through Groupon. We had a lovely time - it is so nice to find such a quality hotel which allows dogs! We loved the extra touch of having some laminated dog walk routes in the back of the hotel info book in the room - we had some lovely walks while we were there. The beach at Perranporth is dog friendly and absolutely beautiful - we can also recommend the chippy there! We ate at the Rose in Vale on one night only, mainly because we wanted to try other places locally - nowhere else was as good! Breakfast was lovely and they earned a big gold star from me by having veggie sausages available - it is amazing how many places don't do this. Our room was quite small but very comfortably furnished, and very clean. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rose in Vale Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose in Vale Country House Hotel

Address: Mithian | St Agnes, Mithian TR5 0QD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mithian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mithian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rose in Vale Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rose in Vale is a Country House Hotel set in its own private wooded valley on the North Cornish coast near to St Agnes. The Hotel is owned and run by Sara and James Evans. The Hotel is a quiet Hotel, we do not take children under 12 years of age and no matter how busy the rest of cornwall is, you will find the Rose in Vale to be a haven of peace and tranquility. The Rose in Vale has a great restaurant which has been awarded a Rosette every year since 2007, and awarded its second rosette in 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Rose in Vale Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose in Vale Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.