We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to switch off” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wongari Eco Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lamington National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wongari Eco Retreat
Save
You added Wongari Eco Retreat to your Saves list
3196 Christmas Creek Road | Lamington, Lamington National Park, Queensland 4285 , Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to switch off”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Wongari. The accommodation was very tasteful . Comfy bed and a decent kitchen to cook in. We were surrounded by mountains so it is very private. There was a pristine creek on the property. We took some collapsable chairs down hung out and enjoyed a Swim. There were no others visitors . Hard to believe it is only an hours drive from Brisbane.
No mobile or Internet connection though but this helped us unwind and switch off for a bit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laidley, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

A lovely way to spend a wedding anniversary. It was just so peaceful, private and relaxing. Thank you Brad and Mark for sharing your little piece of heaven with us. Surprisingly, It was lovely to have no technology to distract us from enjoying each others company. We also enjoyed a nice long walk up the road and through the national park. Such a beautiful area.We are already planning our trip back but next time we are hoping to stay for a week rather then 2 nights.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed 2 nights there..it's a wonderful cabin with all amenities hidden alone in the woods with the mountain view and creek running nearby..very peaceful and beautiful..just like everyone had reviewed..we found the place thru tripadvisor and never disappointed. Thanks to Brad and Mark doing great job at the place..can enjoy birds singing and kangaroos hopping at the drive way!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We recently had 4 nights in this beautiful cabin tucked in the woods.
Being city folk, I did wonder how we were going to fill our days with no TV, phone, computer etc initally, but it didn't take long to get into the relaxing pace of life here and just enjoyed our surroundings. A great opportunity to reconnect with your special other.
The cabin has everything you need to feel at home and you will leave this place wishing you didn't have to.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Thank you Brad and Mark for sharing this most wonderful hide-away and get-away from it all. Just over an hour and a half away from Brisbane this couples boutique cabin has it all to help you unwind, relax and just enjoy the wind in the trees, the gently flowing creek and the abundant bird life. The shower is a delight, wall to wall glass; the deck is large and comfortable for candle-light dining and b-b-qing, the wood burner and oven adds charm and gentle heat as well as providing a fantastic wood fire oven. The little details truly make-it - thank you for having such good taste! We will be buying some of the good night tea. We celebrated our 21st wedding anniversary and in just two nights have come back to Brisbane refreshed and energised.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Lovely quiet "cabin" (feels more like a city apartment without the electronics) to relax with your lover, no need to rush about and no you cannot check you email, phone twitter as it doesn't exist here only lovely bush, total privacy and environs.
We enjoyed cooking on a wood oven, (hidden microwave if needed) and BBQ, the shower with floor to ceiling windows, board games at night with a wine or three, (guess who won! He he ).
Only one problem , I had to leave.

Room Tip: Bring all you need as the shops are 40km away, relax and DO NOTHING!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Tucked away in the Lost World Valley, this charming abode was a welcomed retreat on our trip to Australia. It was peaceful and quiet, and just the perfect balance of luxury and rustic. You don't need much to enjoy your time there, listening to the creek, and enjoying a glass of wine on the porch. It has great access to exploring Lamington National Park, but off the beaten path. Brad and Mark were the most generous and gracious hosts we could as for. We had a wonderful time, and wish we had a longer stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wongari Eco Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wongari Eco Retreat

Address: 3196 Christmas Creek Road | Lamington, Lamington National Park, Queensland 4285 , Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Scenic Rim > Lamington National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Lamington National Park
Number of rooms: 1

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wongari Eco Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.