We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quality escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wongari Eco Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lamington National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wongari Eco Retreat
Save
You added Wongari Eco Retreat to your Saves list
3196 Christmas Creek Road | Lamington, Lamington National Park, Queensland 4285 , Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A quality escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Spending two days at the Wongari Eco Retreat was a revitalizing experience that took us away from our lives in the city where it's so easy to sit in front of the computer screen and talk on our mobile phones that we often forget what the natural world has to offer. We drove over bridges across running creeks and arrived at a beautiful and elegant cabin that took our breath away the moment we saw it. 
The spacious front deck that we had breakfast, lunch and dinner on, with the help of a BBQ & fully equipped kitchen, is surrounded by the forest and in front of a running creek that is a piece of heaven on a hot summers day. We enjoyed roasting marshmallows and having drinks around the fire during the nights (which was set up for us on arrival). 
Inside were fresh flowers, organic soaps and shampoos as well as a great selection of organic teas which the natural environment of Wongari inspired us to enjoy.
 The bed is superbly comfortable and what we called the "waterfall shower" is surrounded by glass walls with a light that shines out onto the forest at night so we could still enjoy our natural surroundings whilst in the luxury of the cabin. 
We were able to listen to our music on the ipod docking system and there's a shelf full of board games and interesting books that we made good use of.
 The hosts, Mark and Brad are hospitable and lovely and the personal touch they've given to the cabin is superior to any other place i've been. Hoping to return in the winter time to make good use of the wood oven fireplace that was a little too warm to use this time round.

 A quality holiday with my partner, one we'll never forget.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coolangatta, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed at Serenity Cabin, Wongari Eco Retreat, for two nights mid January 2013 and enjoyed every minute. It is very rare to find a cabin that lives up to expectations or the images on its website but Serenity really does. It is secluded, especially well equipped, tastefully decorated without any hint of chintz, and genuinely very comfortable. Moreover it was sparklingly clean. It has a king size bed with beautiful linen, gorgeous towels and lovely organic toiletries. The organic teas were delicious and plentiful and the 'basics', including fresh coffee and olive oil [the sorts of things I tend to forget] were all provided. Communication with Mark prior to arrival was excellent and Brad was there to meet us, promising us peace and quiet and that is what we got. Both were warm and friendly. I agree with the previous reviewer who said that the cabin shows all the signs of owners who know what personal touches will add value to a cabin stay. We highly recommend this cabin.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

It is amazing what awaits you when you leave the relative comfort of your computer chair. I have long being compelled to just get out and see what this beautiful country has to offer and arriving at Wongari was truly a moment I will remember.
The picture that welcomed me left me in awe. The road wound down to the cabin where the smoke was being gently pushed out the chimney, the fading light gently licking the droplets of water that hung from the tall ferns. The only sound, the birds and of the creek, which flowed not 20 meters away.
I had expected something a little less out of a fairy tale and more average sort of b&b, how wrong I was.
I was impressed that when we pulled up our hosts were there to greet us and make us feel at home.
The cabin is beautifully furnished and you can see that great effort has been made to make it look perfect (which it does).
The only downside for some might be the 30 minutes from the nearest town but for me the further out the better.
Serenity awaits!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

It's often said you travel the world to find what your looking for -in your own back yard.

This is true of my experience especially after finding Wongari Eco Resort.

Many of those personable touches,that are found in exotic resorts ,are here in Wongari-I suspect the owners have travelled and quietly deliver the better niceties of isolation based getaways.

I found my first stay just perfect and took the full package available -not being a self catering type.

The directions were easy to follow and ,though a few kilometers of gravel road was a slight challenge ,the Cabin and environment etc rewarded the effort and drive.

It's modern and rustic with great bed/super fireplace and Queensland bush wildlife all around .
i enjoyed the rush of the creek and breakfast with the birds on the deck.

Looking forward to returning.
Wayne

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wongari Eco Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wongari Eco Retreat

Address: 3196 Christmas Creek Road | Lamington, Lamington National Park, Queensland 4285 , Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Scenic Rim > Lamington National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Lamington National Park
Number of rooms: 1

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wongari Eco Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.