We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Pelican Beach Resort to your Saves list
Pelican  Beach Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pelican Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   13-17 James Street, Noosaville, Noosa, Queensland 4566, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Noosaville B&B and Inns
Alyangula, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Family Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed for 2 weeks in a 3 brm unit. It was clean and very well equipped in the kitchen & laundry. Storage in the bedrooms was good. Although smallish, the pool was great and the undercover fully equipped BBQ area there lent itself to nice family meals and swims. The half court tennis was popular with racquets & balls on loan from the Office. The DVDs and books available for loan from the Office were appreciated by the children and adults.
The Managers were helpful and quickly attended to any requests. A special thank you for being so accommodating for our request for a new toaster, as we did not want to risk using the existing one due to the risk of contamination (crumbs) with 3 of our family having Coeliac Disease.
The location is ideal - just a short stroll to the river (& fishing), boat hire and Gympie Terrace shops and restaurants, with a shopping centre & Woolworths in walking distance in the other direction.

Room Tip: If requiring a 3 brm with a loft be aware that our loft (Unit 2) was not air conditioned and althoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    10
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed at the Pelican Beach Resort in December 2013 and found the Resort to be most enjoyable. We found a 5 night package online which was great value for money. The kids loved swimming in the pool as well as the close proximity to the river and restaurant precinct which provided ample options for the family. We found the staff (Kevin & Brooke) very helpful and accommodating. Also the convenience of public transport nearby enabled us to get around without the need to hire a car. It was a great all round getaway for some relaxing time out.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We spent 5 nights here at the beginning of Spring - we got a great deal for off peak season and we found it exceptionally good value for money.

Our kids really enjoyed the pool that also had a spa and a wading pool that was great for our toddler. When we'd had enough of being in the pool and kids still wanted to stay, there was plenty of shady seating to sit back and put your feet up while the kids had fun. They also loved the small tennis court (racquets and balls provided for all 6 of us). The games room was also a favourite – we ended up playing air hockey without putting any money in and it worked quite well.

The accommodation was good, not luxurious but we had all we needed for a relaxing holiday. I had been worried about keeping our toddler away from the loft ladder before we arrived but it was very steep and he wouldn’t attempt it until our last day there. When he got up, he wouldn’t come down without me to carry him. The beds were comfortable and there was plenty of cupboard space for all our things. We also made sure the window in the kids bedroom on the first floor was kept closed as it would've been easy to fall through if standing on the bed (like kids often do) - maybe moving the beds around will solve that problem.

The location was fantastic, a stroll to the river in one direction - that provided clean sandy shorelines for all day paddling and free bbq facilities, as well as boat hire, cafes and restaurants – and a shopping centre within walking distance in the other direction with a Woolworths, Dan Murphys, BWS, Macdonalds, Reject Shop etc. Our stay also included an all day pass on the Noosa Ferry which took us to Hastings Street and back to Tewantin. Good for a sticky beak at the Beach and to get our bearings on the surrounds without the worry of driving and finding a parking spot.

Staff were very friendly and didn’t seem to mind when our kids made a bit more noise than we would’ve liked in the pool and playing tennis. Also great that they offered free DVDs, kids books and a few toys kept them busy during the hottest part of the day when we wanted to escape the UVs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanNoosa, Manager at Pelican Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We started coming here in 1988 with our (then) small children. We always had a lot of fun with the spa, the pool, the tennis court, the sauna, the BBQ hut. The proximity to the river for hiring a catamarran, etc, and the Main Beach for a body surf before breakfast is brilliant. Our children eventually got to an age where holidaying with parents wasn't ideal and we didn't come as often, as we were free to travel further afield :). Now, our children are adults and our family has expanded to include a son-in-law, a grandson, and another on the way. We came back for a reminiscent family holiday and we are so glad we did. It is still a family favourite, however Noosaville has grown up and there are a lot more shops and cafes just a couple of hundred metres away. Everything we needed, (other than our food and drink) was supplied in the units, and we relived our 'eggs and bacon' breakfast in the BBQ hut! We arrived on the Friday afternoon, and by Saturday were feeling very chilled out. A wonderful experience at a reasonable price! This resort is not 5-star with room service, a bar, a restaurant, and silver service. However it is well presented, clean, tidy, friendly, peaceful and relaxing, with the added bonus of being close to all the lovely amenities offered in Noosaville, Noosa and Tewantin. We will be coming back again, and again, and again...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa F, Owner at Pelican Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you very much for the comments. We love having you visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Can't call this a resort as they are very stingy in providing basic things like toilet paper, soap, shower needs etc.
For 4 people for 5 days, they provied just 2 small toilet rolls, 2 small soap, 4 tea bags, 4 sugar (small ones) and 4 coffee packs. and that is it. Contacting them is very difficult. Emergency call was answered after 12hrs. Office attended from 9AM only. When asked for toilet paper we were told we have to buy our own as this is a self contained acommodation.
We don't have to carry toilet rolls to a resort. The accommodation is pretty ordinary. And very damp downstairs unit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Picked this out for Easter weekend based on tripadvisor reviews.
Overall for a quick family break this apart -accommodation is good. Provides all you can want, is clean and well located.
If you want 'service' we found that there was a lack of anyone to answer basic queries, we had no grill pan in our room and we'd looked to get help. There was a number on the door but we felt we'd just get on with it. It's a small point for us but may be worth knowing if you prefer to have access to staff. I suspect it was the public holiday that caused the issue.
Our kitchen wasn't that well stocked and had we been there for a week the lack of grill pan or oven trays would have irritated. But it's a very small moan.

We would stay again, great value and very close to cafes, ferry and the water.
Pool and sauna on site are also nice.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanNoosa, Owner at Pelican Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it. On public holidays reception is open from 9.00pm to 1.00pm. Sometimes during that time the front door is shut as being a small family operated resort we are cleaning the pool, grounds or or units. The free phone is on the front door and during office hours connects with the on duty manager. The other number is an emergency number. We are accessible 24 hours a day, but we try not to sit behind the desk - I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Pelican Beach Resort for a week and it was absolutely amazing.

Though not a fancy place, it was perfect for a family and it was incredibly relaxing.
Enjoyed the free wifi access and plenty of room in the houses.

Would absolutely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pelican Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Beach Resort

Address: 13-17 James Street, Noosaville, Noosa, Queensland 4566, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa > Noosaville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Noosaville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelican Beach Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Pelican Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Beach Resort Noosa/Noosaville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.