We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Great value- have stayed 3 times now'” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Islander Noosa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Islander Noosa Resort to your Saves list
Islander Noosa Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   187 Gympie Terrace, Noosaville, Noosa, Queensland 4566, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Noosaville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sunbury, Victoria, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“'Great value- have stayed 3 times now'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at the Islander again in Oct 2012, which was our third time now. We stayed in a 3 bedroom, which is always clean and plenty of space for the 5 of us. We have 5, 12 and 14 yr old kids and they love it, especially the main lagoon pool. They also used the tennis courts and games room. It's in a great location opposite the river which we hired a boat and the boys hired canoes. The last visit we had friends who also stayed and the bbq area is great for tea and getting together. You can catch the ferry a few minutes walk, into Noosa Heads also.
It's only a short walk through the back entrance to restuarants and small shopping centre for grocery needs etc.
Have reccomended to other friends who have stayed since our last visit who had 4 girls, and they also loved it. Staff are usually friendly and helpful.
Thanks for a great holiday.

The Bakers

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpm-rdm, Manager at Islander Noosa Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs 'Baker'
Thanks so much for the review - its nice to hear about our resort what you enjoyed, such as the BBQ area,pool and tennis courts. Hiring a boat and exploring the Noosa River is a great adventure for kids and we will recommend to other guests based on your feedback. We love having you return to stay and many thanks for being our guest. Bula Cathy & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    61
    15
    4
    5
See reviews for
107
26
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

we stayed over xmas / NY and it's a very busy time. My wife is very picky about accommodation and always wants to ensure we receive the best on offer. The staff were very helpful and giving us options when we first arrived. Further, we asked to extend our stay by an extra 5 nights and, again, they were very accommodating. Despite that, we then changed our minds and only stayed an extra 2. Not only did they not charge us anything for the other 3 nights, but they only charged us a nominal fee for the 2 nights we did end up staying. Our experience with the staff was great. And on top of that, no-one should miss the great food at Moondoggy's cafe! Thanks to all!!

Room Tip: talk to the staff to tell them what you're after - they'll look after you
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpm-rdm, Manager at Islander Noosa Resort, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs 'Mike B'
Thank you for staying and for the comments about our service. We enjoyed having you stay with us and hope the rest of your trip was enjoyable. Moondoggy's were very pleased to hear your feedback and Chef has sent a woof woof to thank you! All the best and thankyou for being our guests. Bula Cathy and Team and Moondoggy's, too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This resort is very clean and well maintained. The staff were all wonderful, exceeding expectations on one occasion. The kids really enjoyed the main pool, and it was great to be able to have a BBQ by the pool while they swam and the two spas were ideal for when the temperature cooled in the evenings.

The apartment we had was starting to look a bit dated (although the bathroom was very modern), but was spotlessly clean and perfectly acceptable given the budget. One thing I would suggest is that they need to invest in some new pillows.

Make sure you make use of the credit for Moondoggy's - a nice idea and a great little cafe. If you like Indian food, Raj's indian restaurant across the road was very good - we went twice in a week.

The resort is well located for walking along the river, hiring boats/kayaks etc, but you'll have to drive or catch the bus to get to Noosa itself, where parking is hard to find in the peak season. We ended up driving to Coolum Beach for some fantastic days out.

Overall we had a fantastic stay. Thanks! If we're ever back in Noosaville, we'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpm-rdm, Manager at Islander Noosa Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear 'AussiePoms'
Thank you for the feedback. We aren't the newest kid on the block but hopefully as you wrote, we are value for guests' money and our facilities such as pools are worth coming to stay for. We are working on new pillows when our suppliers are back from holidays and also appreciate the feedback on Moondoggy's Cafe. Thankyou for staying with us, happy 2013 and we hope to welcome you back. Bula Cathy & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed at this resort nov 2012, loved the resort, the villa we stayed at was clean, spacious and had all the amenties. The resort had wonderful facilities, so relaxing. Will be returning and bringing my in-laws from Canada to enjoy the resort and Noosa :). My disappointment was with the front desk staff members. The 2 women had a problem with pronouncing my surname. My surname is not common but it is rude and disrespectful to mock ones heritage. I am Australian born and raised and proud to be Australian but I am also proud of my heritage and these staff should be aware of diversity in Australia and respect it and embrace it. I am disappointed that this ignorance exists in our society and these staff could learn from their ignorance and expand their horizon in a multicultural society that exists in Australia.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpm-rdm, Manager at Islander Noosa Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs 'ANG C'
Thank you for staying and for the lovely feedback about our resort and we would love to welcome you back with your in laws. I am sad to read you believe we were disrespectful when using your surname. We try to remember our guests surnames and if we have erred in the pronounciation then our sincere apologies. We love our guests and the diversity and richness that they share with us. I wasn't actually born in Australia so certainly respecting cultures and diversity is one our business values -so please be assured we were not mocking but trying to learn how to correctly pronounce your surname - however I understand that to you this did not come across and again my apologies. Thank you again for staying with us.
Bula, Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This resort is such good value and a really lovely location. The pool area is fantastic, not many places compare in that regard. Great value for money, alot cheaper than other places that don't offer half as much as the Islander. Love the position across from the river and all the eateries around - there is a choice of anything you feel like from Thai, Indian... to Red Rooster!

All in all very family friendly, good value place to stay! We stayed 5 nights this time after having stayed earlier in the year for a weekend.

One negative... needs more than one pillow per person when they are so flat and uncomfy!!

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms away from the pool area - quieter and more private.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpm-rdm, Manager at Islander Noosa Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Mrs 'AGR8Family'
Thank you for the feedback about your stay and your villa and for being our guest. The feedback about the pillows is appreciated. I will talk to our linen supplier about alternate pillows. Next stay please ask for extra pillows as we can supply you with more!
Happy New Year to you, Bula Cathy and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at the Islander since our first child was born 14 years ago and have never been disappointed. One thing I always look for in accommodation is the pool area and this place has beautiful pool facilities. 3 in total but the main pool is the best for energetic kids and with 2 spas you can relax and watch over them with no problems. 2 saunas to melt away the aches and pains. The gardens are very well looked after. If you are feeling energetic there are two tennis courts.
Across the road from the resort is the river for swimming, fishing and water sports. There is exercise equipment, footpaths and playgrounds so something for everyone.
The main shopping area is a walk away with woolworths and other shops to browse thru. Spoilt for choice with restaurants galore. Definately recommend the Magic of India restaurant and if the kids do not like indian they provide kids meal options.There is a McDonald's, Dominos, and Red Rooster in walking distance.
This place will be a winner and you will come back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpm-rdm, Manager at Islander Noosa Resort, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Mrs 'Chafta'
Thank you for the feedback about our resort and improtantly for being one of our return guests. We appreciate that you took the time to write about the resort and sum us up so well! Thankyou and a happy 2013 to you and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Islander. Bula Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Given its age, this resort would have to be the cleanest, tidiest, most well maintained I have ever stayed in. The villa we stayed in was of exceptional standard. In a resort of this age you do expect to see wear and tear in the units (marks on the walls, wearing carpet, mismatched crockery & cutlery etc.), but our villa was very well maintained. Cathy and her team do a brilliant job of keeping the grounds in mint condition, the pools clean and the guests happy. I have managed resorts in the past and know what a tiresome job it can be, but you'd never know that here as Cathy and her team are always cheerful and clearly love their jobs and their resort. The hibiscus flowers are a lovely touch too. Although there are so many resorts in Noosa to choose from, we would look no further than this one. It's the best.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cathypm, Manager at Islander Noosa Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Mrs 'Nicole H'
Thank you for staying with us, Noosa has lots of lovely resorts and while we all think our resort is the best ...it makes more sense to hear it from a guest. We just appreciate that you chose to stay with us and enjoyed your stay. I have passed the feedback to my team and they were thrilled to hear your comments.
Thanks again Mrs 'Nicole H'. All the best to you and your family at Christmas and we look forward to welcoming you back in 2013.
Bula
Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Islander Noosa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Noosa Resort

Address: 187 Gympie Terrace, Noosaville, Noosa, Queensland 4566, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa > Noosaville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Noosaville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Islander Noosa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self contained villas on 4 acres in heart of Noosaville offering good value and best facilities: 3 pools (large solar heated lagoon pool + heated pool to 30 degrees all year + another pool facing north for sun) & spas & saunas & tennis courts & BBQs & Clubhouse. Opposite the Noosa River and 5 minute stroll to cafes & restaurants (8 on premise including Moondoggy's Cafe Bar), shops and supermarket. All villas have full kitchen and laundry, Foxtel free and DVD in villa also 500Mb free Wifi each villa booked. Disability villas available and hoist to assist guests with mobility concerns into the heated pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Islander Noosa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Noosa Hotel Noosaville
Islander Noosa Resort Noosaville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Islander Noosa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.