We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor holiday” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Suntopia Tropical

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ortaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Suntopia Tropical
Save
You added Suntopia Tropical to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sarigerme Koyu Ortaca Merkez, Ortaca 48600, Turkey (Formerly Pegasos Tropical)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ortaca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Llanelli, United Kingdom
1 review
“Poor holiday”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

As a family of four we have recently returned from the Suntopia Tropical hotel Turkey. A very disappointing holiday. We arrived on a Thursday and by the following Monday we went to see the Thomson rep (Amber) to see if we could be moved to another hotel. She suggested that we look on the Internet and if we found another hotel return to her to see what she could do, she Alison informed us that if we moved hotel we would loose our airport transfer to the airport. This was a transfer that we had payed for previously and if the hotel wasn t up to standard Thomson should have offered to pay. Unfortunately we didn t find another hotel. On arrival in our room we found it to be unclean. Hair in the bathroom (floor and sink) dirt on the table and stains on the bed sheets. We had to ask twice for the room to be cleaned. Pool closed for five days due to unclean water (poo). Some people as so lazy not to put nappies on small children. Beach was dangerous as the was a swell in the water and a big dip as you go in to the sea. But a few hundred yards to the right of the beach there was a stunning beach. Food was repetitive. For a few days I was unwell with stomach cramps and the symptoms are still there on returning home. The reps are not interested with any concerns that you have regarding this hotel. I complained that a young man in the bazaar shop in the hotel tried to make a pass at my daughter. Amber said that she informed the hotel management but didn t know what was said to this young man. I think that she was useless. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    348
    163
    46
    30
See reviews for
640
215
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
essex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

hi there, we have just returned from here after an 11 day family-moon, with our 2 children an ourselves. right good points. the grounds are stunning. weather awesome.pancake lady was lovely and the pancakes themselves were gorgeous. the staff so friendly and work extremely long hours. English people( yes even those who have tattoos) were polite, friendly, courteous, and willing to have fun. we met a family from up north who we attached ourselves to for the entire holiday.
okay bad point, where to begin..........
Food was atrocious, Luke warm, and the only variety looked inedible, so it was chips or pancakes for the duration. I was ill for 3 days and constantly felt ill throughout. Although I'm unsure if this was down to the food or the drink.( the wife of the family we met was on a drip due to constant illness). I'm not normally a vodka drinker but I'm pretty sure it shouldn't taste like nail varnish remover, and they don't have measures so they fill half the beakers up with it, yet you still cant get drunk. Our room was crawling with bedbugs although we were assured the rooms were sprayed regularly. The entertainment staff worked tirelessly yet the evening entertainment was poor. The main problem with our holiday was the pool being closed consecutively 5 times due to poogate, and the management refusing to act on behalf of the rest of us and do something about it. We have now been told that next year they are dividing the main pool into two so at least half will stay open open if there are any nasty accidents.As we wont be returning this is of no consequence to us. My other problem isn't to do with the hotel but a large portion of the Russians. every past review i have read on here have blamed the English for general rudeness, especially those with tattoos ( go figure), however like i mentioned previously they were a lovely bunch. However i can honestly say i have never encountered so many rude, arrogant, nasty people as i did with the Russians. the amount of time i apologised if i was in their way , or stood to the side to let them through. I didn't receive a thank you or a head nod in appreciation. whilst have dinner one evening one lady was allowing her children who couldn't be no more than 4 years old play with a stack of wine glasses, a couple of them smashed on the floor . the lay walked over without saying a word, too the kids hand and walked of leaving other kids to walk past and potentially cut themselves. so i went to pick the glass other with another gentlemen who saw this, and i got the filthiest look ever from this tramp.

sorry for ranting. but wouldn't go to this resort again if i was paid. It ruined our honeymoon. however if you have already booked........ enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

At hotel last 2 weeks august. GOOD POINTS , we had suite around quiet pool , lovely with good setting and really excellent air conditioning . would advise these rooms astheywere beautiful. All ready with fruit , wine and petals on arrival . Staff excellent and welcoming and work very hard . The all a carte restraints were good too , all set up well and serves good food . We managed to go to 4 during our stay , at one our daughter received a lovely large free birthday cake . the childrens slides and pool area was good , but busy . But I am afraid that is where the good points end ! BAD POINTS , the large pool was mobbed and mainly under cover . In all my years of travelling around the world I have never seen such a busy and over crowded pool . It was also very very noisy . In the 14 nights we were there it was loved 4 times , for over 6 hours eaters h time , because of poo and sickness in the pool . All the hotel appear to have done was put signs up to instruct babies to wear swimming nappies. There was no evidence of anyone actually monitoring or enforcing this though . When the pool closed so did the large slides . In my view this is not acceptable . The Thomson rep seemed unconcerned about this and other complaints , and in our view was patronising and only wanting to detail the complaints rather than resolve them . In my view Thomson needs to get there act together with this hotel . The food was the worst all inclusivethati have had , served cold or look warm , and ques up to 15 long together with a poor lay out in the resteraunt meant it was freezing . Tables were dirty and not cleared . Breakfast was the same for 2 weeks . Lunch alternated hot dogs and burgers , some fruit and salad etc the chill out bar was a great setting but lunch there was so poor , week 1 was cold chicken and chips , week 2 verypoor toasties . The 3 in our party were all unwell , me for most ofthe holiday with diarrhea and my husband for the second week .our daughter felt sick all the time we were there . All 3 of US required medication , which despite complaintsfrom US and others ( many people had very bad stomachs ) in my view Thomson reps simply made excuses to try to explain this ie virus . In my view the poor food quality and hygiene were the cause. The daytime entertainment for children was poor , unless you wanted the usual kids club . Besides the slides , Bowles and darts there was nothing for a 10 year old . She was too young to do the archery despite having done this at home for a year . She went to darts once but no-one turned up . A 10 year old soon gets fed up with the slides. Ice cream is only available 3 to 5 and so the Que is long . The cones are stopped out like a school canteen to ensure themselves fast to get everyone one . The evening entertainment at 815 is for younger kids , always the same and for an hour .your 10 year old usually joined the disco for about 20 minutes. The shows at 930 were either dancing to a music sound track , or audiance participation . Sometimes these were kids shows too leaving little for the adults. Following this there was bingo , kareoki , quiz etc so not very enticing or imaginative. Sun beds are taken inthe mainpool by 6 absolutely latest . Many , and they were British doing it , put towels out at 1230 midnight when they had gone to get. The quiet pool is certainly a better bet . The first week the pool was far too warm , but this was sorted in the second week. To summarise a good location and suites nice , but after this the management of food , entertainment and pools needs sorting. note this is not a family resort with thomson , it is a family hotel , the difference in the provision as a result is significant . TRIPS , do not book with Thomson unless you want to paymuch much more for the same trip. Just10 TL will get youtotownand to basket travel who were fabulous . We went on the jeep safari and loved the full day water fight , kids will love it . Then the dalyanand mud bath .then the 12 island boat trip . All cheep , you pay after you've been , and all really good . No picking from other hotels , included good food for a change . A definite must. To end sadly I would not return or recommend this hotel to anyo

Room Tip: Ask for a suite upgrade . The rooms are good with whirlpool bath and shower . Located overlooking th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Just arrived back and can honestly say as a group of 7 (4 adults and 3 teenagers) we all had a fantastic time. the hotel is immaculately clean, the staff are very friendly. The entertainment team worked extremely hard to keep everyone happy and they were very funny. The food was good but we did get tired of eating eggs every morning. We had a walk into the village on a few occasions and got lots of bargains. The pool did get closed for the first 5 days of our 7 day holiday which was very frustrating. BUT the manager who had clearly had enough of the problem resolved it by putting a ban on any children under the age of 5 from entering the main pool, all because of the ignorant minority who refused to put swim nappies on their children. All in all we had a fantastic holiday and would definately go back :)).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We went to this hotel 2 years ago and enjoyed it so decided to return but after booking was worried after reading poor reviews from holidays in May about the pool being closed for children going to the toilet in it. After the first four days no problems and so was relieved but then it started and so followed 5 days in a row of the main pool being closed early which totally kills the holiday as this is the main focus of the complex and also water polo, aqua aerobics etc. cancelled as well because of it. Lots of people complaining but the hotel management and Thompson reps very slow to do anything, I suggested making an announcement but took three days to do this and eventually they stopped all under 5 year olds from going in the pool, all it took was for the life guards to check if all small children were wearing swim nappies but they seemed happy the pool closed early. Apparently it was the same German boy for two days and mum nowhere to be seen. Considering they have had since May to sort this doesn't impress you and maybe they should look at bricking off half the pool so if the shallow part closed it doesn't effect so many people as this is a huge pool.
Apart from this loved the hotel, lots to do if you want with the entertainment team and lovely gardens etc. to walk in. I did the scuba diving which was great for the money and the team running this are very friendly and make it easy for anybody.
The food was ok and there is a lot of choice although some items repeated daily and not all that hot but the food at the pool bar really good.
I did miss a cup of tea in the morning and the drinks machine open at limited times so unless you walk out of the restaurant with a drink which you are not meant to do not easy getting a cuppa.
The night time entertainment was ok but some shows boring which is a shame as a it has a great amphitheatre.
The beach a short walk and not the best of sand but still very nice and the sea safe and there are no sharks or jellyfish etc. to worry about.
Free Wi-Fi inn the reception area but shame not made available for a better range as only so many seats in this area so everybody wanting to check facebook, emails etc. all trying to get a seat.
Would not go back mainly because we have been there twice now and if they sort out the pool issue a great place to go.
The other down side which is probably the same for all hotels is that to get sun beds in a good spot ended up getting up at 05:30am to put towels on and even then loads already gone!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I went to suntopia with my boyfriend for a week in August and we both agreed it was our best holiday so far.

The only bad point we really found was about the pool being closed, sometimes it was late anyway and my boyfriend was away for football at 5 so we'd only go in till about 5 anyway but some days would be too early which let suntopia down.

The resort had everything, didnt need to leave the resort.
Thompson people was great hooked us up with some amazing excursions.
The entertainment team made it for us, both in the day during activities and sports all the way to the night shows and just general banter and comedy of them all.
Spa treatment was great, definatley a must do, and also my boyfriend found the gym useful.
Food was excellent I cannot pick a fault with the variety offered to us. Also the snacks and the pancakes and ice cream that were served all through the day was such a good idea! You could never go hungry at suntopia! We visited a al a carte restaurant during our stay, I'd definitely recommend the spice restaurant. Lovely service and gorgeous food!
Overall this holiday was amazing cannot pick fault with it other than the pool incident. We're already planning to return next year but for longer this time as there was just so much to do!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just back from a week's stay at this hotel and as a whole we had a lovely time....lots of positives and a few negative...

Positives....Hotel is spotless,Hotel grounds are immaculate ( lots of areas to sunbathe, either with the masses or quietly under some shade ), several places to have a drink, we liked The Chill Out Bar and also The Sports Bar, Gorgeous pancakes from The Pancake Hut...the lady in there seriously deserves a medal working 11-5 cooking them!,...and finally the weather, didn't see a cloud all week!

Negatives....Pool got closed 3 afternoons on the trot due to children not having the proper swimwear on...ie swim pants! Commonsense surely...obviously not for some! We have stayed at loads of other hotels and never has a pool been shut before so why here?? Maybe they are over cautious I really don't know....although this was obviously annoying it didn't affect our son who was always busy doing football etc..Only other negatives were came home with several large Mossie bites but that was just bad luck I guess and my Son and Husband were fine!


We went on one excursion with Thomson which was great, we took a trip to The mud baths followed by a river cruise and trip to Turtle beach...all very well organised and would recommend


All in all a lovely holiday and would go back

Room Tip: Our room was 2219 overlooked the main pool...no problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suntopia Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suntopia Tropical

Address: Sarigerme Koyu Ortaca Merkez, Ortaca 48600, Turkey (Formerly Pegasos Tropical)
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Ortaca
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ortaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Suntopia Tropical 4.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Also Known As:
Pegasos Tropical Hotel Ortaca
Iberostar Hotel Tropical
Iberostar Hotel Sarigerme
Suntopia Tropical Turkey/Ortaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suntopia Tropical, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.