We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suntopia Tropical

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ortaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Suntopia Tropical
Save
You added Suntopia Tropical to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sarigerme Koyu Ortaca Merkez, Ortaca 48600, Turkey (Formerly Pegasos Tropical)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ortaca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We traveled as a family of 5, My husband and I, daughter 11 and two sons 2 & 4 in mid October for a week. We booked online and were given two rooms (although we could have made do with one room), but in the end it was handy having two bathrooms and wardrobe space for 5 of us. The rooms consisted of twin beds and a very large sofa bed which I did share with both sons on occasion. Then there was another chair which appeared to fold down into a bed too, also the second bedroom gave us a cot, which was just a bit too small for my youngest and he does get up at night.

The hotel and staff are great and they all worked so hard around the clock to cater for our needs. Our rooms were located in a fantastic position (right next to the gorgeous pancake hut) I didn’t used to eat them… Ate them every day! The kids also loved them for a snack between breakfast - lunch then just before it closes at 5. Previous reviews that the lady does not smile, well no wonder…, this woman fries your eggs in the morning from 6 am til 11 when she starts pancakes til 5 then is in the restaurant for the evening meal until goodness knows what time… I’d like to see how anyone would still be smiling after working these hours from May to October.

Similarly the entertainment team work so hard and are not over bearing or in your face, especially if you are not interested. They maintain their up beat happy demeanor from May to October working 16-18 hour days, around the pool from about 10am. They do dance classes, fitness, games throughout the day to stage performances in the amphitheater by night until 11 ish then more games at night in the pool bar area, unbelievable! On the last day they all came out to help with baggage and see everyone off. A very happy & entertaining bunch.

There was plenty of good food available for breakfast lunch and dinner, also a midnight buffet between 2330 - 0030 in the main restaurant. The themed restaurants were ok but are all situated adjacent to the same kitchen which I don’t doubt serves them all. Saying that, the food was better in the Asia restaurant than the Italian and we didn’t try the Turkish.
Breakfast - cereals, pastries, variety of bread/rolls, jam, eggs, beans, tomato, Turkish sausages (like saveloy but not pork) or a freshly made omelette, cold meats & cheese and pancakes. We mainly had lunch around the pool area during the day. There was a salad counter a fruit counter and hot counter which always had pizza (made freshly as you watch) and chips for the less adventurous or jacket potatoes. There was a variety each day, sometimes crab claws, meatballs, southern fried chicken, or pasta dishes. Similarly evening meal always pizza & chips available, along with a large variety of hot options. There is a separate kids bit with a small choice and small table and chairs. Fruit selection was a bit limited maybe due to season.

There are a few shops by the pool and a couple in the hotel, but I would recommend taking a short trip to Serigerme village (£5 or 10 TL in a taxi) where the villagers are very attentive and prices are cheaper but still worth a haggle.
Most people who have been there a week previous to you normally pass down their inflatable’s to you.

We went to the village to book the 12 Island trip with Basket Travel. After doing this we spent ages wandering around the shops as the shop keepers will keep you chatting for ages especially if you have kids.

There is a market in the village on Sunday (all day), so no need to do the Thompson trip to the second biggest market, unless you want a day out on the coach in the heat. This leads me on to the only real negative to the holiday and although did not affect us directly as I read all the reviews before hand in preparation, I was aware of a few people who were mis-sold Thompson trips by the rep. One lady was told that there was no market in the village and the only opportunity would be to take the Thompson trip at the cost of £10 each, she ended up not going once she found out about the local market. Then a couple from Scotland we met went on the 12 Island cruise having booked with Thompson they paid £70 per couple where as we booked with basket travel and paid £40 for 5 of us (kids go free). This is the only area where Thompson let their selves down I think.

The boat trip was brilliant. I was a bit apprehensive taking my young boys, but they were fine and my 4 year old was jumping off the boat and my 2 year old was at ease swimming in the sea. I would say though that we went at the end of season and there were just enough people on our trip (about 40). The guide explained that had we have been there earlier in the year the boat would take up to 80 people which would have been a nightmare. At one of the stops where the base of the old light house is under the sea there was something in the water which stung a young boy on the leg which frightened him a lot. I also felt something on my leg and when I got back to the boat I had a small sting too.

The only slight negatives at the hotel - Pool was very cold but didn’t bother us. I did pick up a few loose tiles out of the pool which were put back by the next day. The area around the pool is very slippery.

There were one or two individuals who overdid the ‘all inclusive’ concept and threw up around the pool bar, which smelt bad for ages, but the staff dealt with it very well.

Finally - The spa is a must! you cannot go to Turkey and not have a Turkish bath. I think it's reasonably priced for what you get, compared to the UK. We got 2 adult baths + scrub + full body massage + face pack 1 child chocolate massage & boys could have bubble massage too all for under £100. Need to haggle. Felt great after!

Overall this holiday was fabulous and we all enjoyed it so much we are thinking of returning next year

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    348
    163
    46
    30
See reviews for
640
215
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Second time in this hotel and we love it!

First year we had a lovely room - a double with spa bath with a great pool view, this year was still a nice room- a converted room on the ground floor.

All the staff are nice and nothing is too much trouble and helpful. Entertainment from what we saw was good, a bit cheesy but you would expect that!

The grounds are beautiful and well looked after. All the pool appeared clean and so did the beach, however we didn't use it.

Food and drink is good- this year cocktails were on the all inclusive too!!! Food is good, sometimes a bit repetitive. The al a carte restaurants are good, service can be slow but food is good.

Last year we went on trips with Thomson's for example the Turkish bath but this year we just wanted the result not the experience to used the hotel spa which was nice.

The market on a Sunday wasn't as good as last year so we didn't decided to buy items from Bruno's shop which is on the ground floor of the main building.

Overall we have had two fantastic holidays.

Room Tip: Minimum of double with spa bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a week from the 18th October arrived early hours the problem was we were pointed to our room which then took an age to find our bags arrived 2 hours after and the sofa bed wasn't made up so we ended up with not very much sleep. I informed reception the next morning and it was made up when we returned later. Other than that if your looking to relax eat and drink this place is perfect clean and the staff are lovely. We booked 2 trips with Basket Travel the eco adventure would of been great except it rained not there fault and the 12 island was amazing and would strongly recommend. Overall I had one of the best holidays I've ever had and can't wait to go back. Thank you Suntopia.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel is far from 4 star although the various pool areas and grounds are very good and well maintained. It has a number of attentive and customer focused staff but alas not all, At times the used plates pile up on the tables and the staff were slow to prepare the table for the next guests and on one occasion walked away without setting the table despite the fact that we were waiting. The food is poor overall but perhaps they are trying to balance the menu to accomodate the large numbers of Russian guests as well as the British. At breakfast there was no bacon and the sausages were either full or mini frankfurters. The choice in the evening was often uninspiring and despite being all inclusive, we went down to the village twice for our evening meal ! Our room was very good with tea and coffee making facilities and even a mini bar. It was always kept clean, as was the bedding.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

had a great holiday 4 adults 1 child found staff very polite nothing too much trouble complex kept really good a pleasure to walk around loved the chill out bar rooms good size compared to some weve been in flight not as good not enough leg room im okay hubbys 6ft with long legs even i had trouble getting in and out seats well used plane back to holiday went with hubby daughter son in law and grandaughter who lives in the pool enjoyed the rest would go back again to hotel no problem but not on the same airline

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Having just enjoyed a fabulous, if tiring, cruise we correctly chose an all inclusive 7nights at the Suntopia Tropical Hotel in Sarigerme to wind down. What an excellent choice we made this hotel had almost everything. Massive grounds with a similarly large main pool with slides and a bridge to a central pontoon. plus 3 or 4 smaller pools spread around the grounds. The bar in the reception area was quite small, and the only downturn was it was an attraction for children which I would imagine to be a peak season problem. The dining area is also extra large with a small buffet area at the reception end obviously geared for children whereas the main eating area with loads of choice was at the other end. The "Chill Out" bar near the beach also served snacks as well as drinks. The rooms had a lounge area with seats down 2 steps and the sleeping area separate. The TV was mounted between the two area on a swivell and featured sky sports from home. I cannot fault this hotel it even had an excelent bar/eating area with buffet by the main pool as well as indoor shops,pool and gym. Would love to go back

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

First of all I must say this hotel has potential. Just a shame they Decided to close it while we were still staying there. What a honeymoon.
Staff.. As some one else said, some are lovely, so are so rude.
Food.. I actually thought it was pretty good for all inc
A la cartes couldn't fit us in. Hmm very strange since they were dead every night. Maybe they can only wait on two tables at a time.
Room.. We had a suite with was nice
House keeping... Come to make your beds and give u clean towels at 6pm. Why bother

The reason I give this hotel a 1 is because half way through our holiday they decided to close, that's right, close, spa, gym, shops, amphitheatre, a la cartes, EVERYTHING. The weather wasn't great while we were there so sun bathing wasn't an option. We could have used the indoor pool.. Oh no wait, they closed that too. My self, my new husband and two children spent the last 5 days of our holiday waiting to come home. They even took down the dart boards, volley ball nets and everything.
There answer was that it was the end of season. Just a shame Thomson or the hotel failed to tell us that and charged us just as much as the guests in weeks before us. Also the hotel was suppose to close the day we left. Not 5 days before while we we still there.
Really sad they spoilt our honeymoon.. They shouldn't be aloud to treat people like that

Room Tip: Suites have separate rooms and a whirlpool bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Suntopia Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suntopia Tropical

Address: Sarigerme Koyu Ortaca Merkez, Ortaca 48600, Turkey (Formerly Pegasos Tropical)
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Ortaca
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ortaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Suntopia Tropical 4.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Also Known As:
Pegasos Tropical Hotel Ortaca
Iberostar Hotel Tropical
Iberostar Hotel Sarigerme
Suntopia Tropical Turkey/Ortaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suntopia Tropical, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.