We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great in every detail” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada Solar Mirador

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Pousada Solar Mirador to your Saves list
Pousada Solar Mirador
Estrada Geral Do Rosa Sn | Praia do Rosa, Imbituba, State of Santa Catarina 88780-000, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 72 Imbituba B&B and Inns
1 review
“Great in every detail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We were randomly looking for a place to stay at Praia do Rosa, our only criteria was to look for a place with a good view. I can honestly say Solar Mirador is a whole lot more than we asked for.
The view is great, the rooms are carefully thought in every minor detail and are also very very private, each with theire own ocean facing jacuzzys.
The place has its own path to the beach, where you wont be unnatended, they will pick a spot on the beach for you lay out the chairs and hand you towels.
Breakfast is great, as are the other meals.
The price of the stay and that of the food are not cheap, to my Brazilian standards, but it is well worth the quality of services provided. Wouldnt stay anywhere else for a romantic get away at Praia do Rosa.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    10
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
21
62
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bruges, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Apparently in season Praia do Rosa is tourist packed but during our visit in March it was wonderfully not busy. The hotel the rooms have divine views, airconditioning, fans & beds are comfortable with ok pillows. All important for a good nights sleep. The owners, Suzana and her husband made us feel very welcome and mixed easily with guests giving the hotel a very warm friendly atmosphere. Crossing the lagoon to get to the beach makes for easy access which from the website I had wondered about access. My husband had an exellent in house & the spa makes for a nice way to end a beach day. My only gripe was the restaurant does not have wine by the glass only by the bottle which seems to be usual for this part of Brazil. We did find this very annoying at every restaurant and at the hotel when a cool glass of white wine on the deck would have really made the day.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasil/Suiça
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed three nights in the end of March. The luxurious hotel is very well kept, friendly staff, friendly owners. The rooms have great view to the Praia do Rosa. Transfer to the beach across a small Lagoa works perfectly well. The adjacent restaurant Urucum offers excellent food.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper levels (room No 1, ..). The access over staircases can be strenuous for e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Following the first 6 nights of our Honeymoon in Rio for the Carnival, we moved onto Florionopolis and the AMAZING Praia do Rosa. The first Pousada we stayed at was Solar Mirador and it was SO SO SO LOVELY. The owners Suzana and her husband made us feel so welcome. They really gave us a honeymoon to remember and we will never forget the holiday we had. We stayed for 3 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. It is so relaxing there and the beach is amazing. Arriving on your own little boat to the beach across the lagoon is a dream.
There is an amazing french Bistro about 5 mins walk from the pousada which is very very good. The food is outstanding.
We will definitely return to Solar Mirador and the next time it will be for a holiday and visiting our friends. xx Thank you

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We headed down to Praia do Rosa hoping to see whales. A Florianopolis travel agent recommended the Pousada Solar Mirador, which turned out to be excellent. Situated high above the wild beach we could enjoy the splendid view, the sound of the waves, and, eventually, the sight of three huge whales swimming in the bay. Our Master Suite was large and comfortable with a balcony overlooking the same view. The decoration of the entire hotel is done in extremely good taste. The only thing to be aware of is the amount of stairs, which may be a problem for some people. We loved our stay and would recommend it to our friends.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balneario Camboriu, SC
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Solar Mirador is one of the best places to stay in Praia do Rosa, it seats on top of a hill overlooking the ocean and the lagoon. The place is surrounded by natural forests, the views are magnificent and if you go on a full moon you will be delighted. The rooms are confortable and clean, with LCD TV, ar conditioning, deck overlooking the ocean, wich in some of the rooms there are jacuzzis in those decks, big enough for 2 persons. There is a heated pool ,sauna in the hotel for guests to use. Breakfast is server until arroun 1 pm and has many specialties from the region, wich makes tour stay much more pleasent. Can t wait to go back there and enjoy a peacefull weekend,

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Solar Mirador is one of the many nice “Pousadas”( Inns ) in Praia do Rosa. It has an amazing view over Rosa Beach which is the only Brazilian bay member of the Most Beautiful Bays of the World Club, a non-governmental network which aims to contribute to the preservation of unique bays.
The Inn is right in the middle of the bay, but up on the hill. It does not have direct access to the beach ( not many Inns at Rosa beach do) but a boat takes you through a lagoon to the beach, which is really nice, if you are not afraid of little boats...
It has 12 bungalows (amongst them a honeymoon one with a jacuzzi) in the middle of the preserved Atlantic forest. They are new, spacious, clean, and nicely decorated. You won't have total privacy though, as they are always 3 bungalows side by side ( apart from the honeymoon one which stands alone away from the others). All have balconies with views to the beach and a nice “rede” ( hammock). As it is not always summer in this part of Brazil, hotel rooms by the sea side can smell a bit “funny” during winter months because of sea air. While I was there, in March, I could not notice any bad smell.
Breakfast is served at the annexed restaurant, beside the reception and is very good, with lots of local specialities like cakes and cheese bread (yummy!), fruits, ham and cheese, jams, different sort of breads,juices, yoghurt... but there was nothing warm in the buffet. It might be because Brazilians don't normally eat eggs, sausages or bacon in the morning, preferring to start their day with a healthier diet. I am sure if you ask for something special they will prepare it for you, at least some eggs you will be able to get!
The pool is just in front of reception in the deck, bu it is small. There is also an outdoor jacuzzi. The deck has stunning views over the bay, but can be dangerous for children as it overlooks the bungalows down the hill and there is nothing to prevent them from falling down a good 4 meters. There are stairs all over the place: you have to walk down to go to your bungalow and up to breakfast, and down to the boat to the beach... not recommended for people with mobility problems.
Service was good but not exceptional, specially at breakfast ( for the price they charge for B&B I expected much more). English is spoken at the reception ( with some difficulties) and that is it. Don't expect waiters to speak English with you, this is normal for this part of the country as there are still not too many Americans and Europeans going to Southern Brazil ( pity, it's really nice there!)
I think this Inn is great for honeymooners, or couples wanting a peaceful place away of it all in an intimate full of character place. Not good for families.
Even though it is overall a nice place to stay, I find it overpriced. There are lots of charming inns at Rosa beach ( as good as this one but without the view) for half of the price.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pousada Solar Mirador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Solar Mirador

Address: Estrada Geral Do Rosa Sn | Praia do Rosa, Imbituba, State of Santa Catarina 88780-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Santa Catarina > Imbituba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Imbituba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pousada Solar Mirador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Solar Mirador Brazil/Imbituba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada Solar Mirador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.