We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing 7 days....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galeana Mare Hotel Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Galeana Mare Hotel Apartments to your Saves list
Galeana Mare Hotel Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Main Street, Adelianos Kampos, Crete 74100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Hvidovre, Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing 7 days....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

My son, 13 years of age, and I just returned to Denmark after 7 beautiful days from June 2nd to June 9th. It has been a pleasure staying at this great location. We haven't seen a cloud for 7 days:-). Had a great apartment with pool and seaview. The pool was great, and the beach, just 50 meters from the pool was okay. Nice clean rooms, which were cleaned each day. We were eating breakfast at our terrace, and I was picking up bread, eggs etc. at a supermarket 3 minutes from the hotel. The beach was as I mentioned before okay, but for our point of view to many small stones in the sand. We have rented a car, and drove 6 out of 7 days to the beautiful beach in Rethymnon, just a 12 minutes drive. It is also possible to take the bus. One day we drove to another beautiful beach, 30 km away, called Bali, recommended from Marianna in the reception, and this was also a great beach. All in all we had a lovely stay in this hotel with sun from early morning to late afternoon.
For sure we will be back again................
Love Crete:-)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    12
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
18
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riberac, France
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We have just come back from our first trip to Crete, and will not be going again.
We stayed at the Galeana Mare hotel Apparements, just outside the main town of Rethymon, I must say the apartments are self catering and are very basic, 2 ring hob, kettle, some plates cups and thats it no toaster iron, but they did have a hair-dryer.
The apartments are in a good spot on the beach but not many of the apartments faced the beach, however we did get moved to have a part sea view that was nice, the people there are lovely and speak English, but we were the only English in this hotel, the rest were German and Dutch, the apartments were very clean and they came in every day to empty bins and make beds towels and sheets get changed every 4 days, I can not fault the cleaning it was spot on, so our stay hear was fine but no luxury, to be had at all, as long as you are not expecting much it is good. But looking at the low cost of others this is one of the best low cost places
The beach is sandy.gravel and long, but very windy and the sea very rough.
We found the state of Crete a bit sad there was rubbish/fridge doors on the beach, not been cleaned graffiti every were, food costs and petrol costs very high 1.96 for 95 petrol, eating out not bad but cheaper then supermarket shopping and that was Lidle!, 2.5E for a pack of 6 eggs so how the Cretans eat I dont know.
We had a car and that cost 22E per day a 1.2 not to fast little thing ok for getting around.
We traveld to the south of the island a lot as Palm Bay there was lovely but a trek to get to.
Visited spinalonger good but to make sure they cram in as many tourists as possible you only get 1 hour to see and walk around and its not enough. We are not that old but we noticed that older people were having trouble sprinting round as they were watching the time to make sure their boat doesn't go
My overall sum, up is tired, tacky, not very interesting, over priced, 2.5E for a small coffee most places, 2-2.5e for a small coke what a shame, and this is all at the start of the problems it will only get worse.
the weather though first 10 days was lovely, I would not visit again, and sadly will not recomend Crete

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the pool, it will have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

These apartments were very clean,spacious enough for us(we are a family of five) and in a good location very close to the beach.
The beach here is not sandy however and is not the best for young children.
We found the people running the apartments to be efficient enough but wouldn't go as far to say they were that friendly-the bar at the pool semi closed at three ish so they could sit and have their lunch-our children were waved away if they wanted an ice cream(not great business!) and then it didn't really open up again,with the shutters down totally by six pm.
I believe some nationalities did have meals here but we didn't.
We were the only English family here with kids,there were maybe two other english couples staying here but it was very German in the main.
I personally wouldntvstay here again,just because we weren't made to feel overly welcome,not our normal experience from the Greek islands at all,which us a shame.
It's location is fab and getting a bus to and from Rethymon is very easy(def a great place to visit)- but would rather give someone else our hard earned cash !

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

absolutely stunning place to stay, friendly staff, apartments are very clean and comfortable. pool area is fantastic and is right on the beach! pool bar also a bonus! apartments are in a great location. plenty of restaurants and shops! will definitely be coming back here!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aschaffenburg, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

The flats are well furnished and clean. We have a bedroom and a living-room | kitchen and a balcony with a view of the sea. The owner, his wife, his daughter and all other people who work there are nice, friendly and willing to help you, when you have questions or problems. The apartments are close to the beach. You can hear the sound of the sea at night. There is a swimming pool with free sunbeds and sunshades. Everything is nice and clean. The snack bar offers good Greek food and Nathalie, the lady who works there is very nice. The area is quiet, no discos, animation, nothing that gets on your nerves. The perfect place if you want to enjoy sun and sea and recharge your batteries. We love it here and we will come back. Angela Maria Pechtl

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galeana Mare Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galeana Mare Hotel Apartments

Address: Main Street, Adelianos Kampos, Crete 74100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Adelianos Kampos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Adelianos Kampos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Galeana Mare Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galeana Mare Hotel is a modern apartment hotel in the area of Adelianos Kampos, just 5,5 km east of the town Rethymnon. Built directly on the seafront, it offers all facilities guests need for a relaxed holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Galeana Mare Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galeana Mare Hotel Apartments Crete/Rethymnon Prefecture, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galeana Mare Hotel Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.