We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay! Would go again in a heartbeat!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seafront Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Seafront Apartments to your Saves list
Seafront Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Adelianos Kampos, Crete 74100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing place to stay! Would go again in a heartbeat!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

We got back from a two week stay at this hotel not even 24 hours ago and I am already longing to go back!!

When we arrived at reception we were met by the most friendly foreign person i have ever met, with very good english. As we were a daughter, mother and grandmother party we were a little unhappy at the fact they expected us to share beds, however they swiftly offered to arrange a seperate single bed so that we could all sleep alone. The receptionist even rang about 20mins late to ensure that we had received the spare bed and were happy with it.

The air conditioning was an extra 4.40 euro per day which we opted out of.....The seperate bedroom with a double bed had a ceiling fan which kept that room slightly cooler, but in the main living area where we had two single beds was pretty hot at night but we found if you closed the thick curtains during the day it kept some of the sun out and left the patio door open to get a slight breeze it helps!!

As mentioned before the towels occassionally had the odd spot of dirt on it but it was nothing major and you could tell the towel had been cleaned...Beds were made almost daily (except sundays) and towels changed every couple of days, we saw them mop the floor and balcony on the odd occassion we were still in the room. There is two small hobs and a sink etc in the main living room with plates/cups/cutlery - no kettle - We took a travel kettle which worked out well!! There is a TV in the room too, it has CNN news channel and the music channel occasionally was in english but the rest we couldnt understand....it was rarely used though so it doesnt matter!

All communal areas were exceptionally clean though and the pool although small was cleaned every morning without fail and was lovely. There was an outdoor shower where all customers were told to remove sand and dirt when coming off the beach to preserve the cleanliness of the pool and hotel and i found this to work very well!

Food service was better than we expected after reading reviews of several hotels offering buffet style meals...
For breakfast there was unlimited orange squash, water, tea or coffee. Along with museili/cornflakes, cake, boiled eggs (occassionally on the runny side) bread, melba toasts, ham, cheese, tomato's, jam, marmalade, honey, butter, and marg, greek yoghurt, peach slices, orange sections....We were spoilt for choice every morning!!
Every evening there would be a range of salad and bread, stuffed grape leaves, and then each week they have a rota of the evening food. We had meals of fish, chicken, pork, beef, sausage, meatballs with a mix of vegetables, tuna salad, potato salad, pasta, spagetti, and even chips/french fries (Though obviously not all at the same time!)
Dessert would consist of fruit (mainly melon) and sometimes a cinnamon sort of cake or syrup pudding.
The only downside to the meals was that there wasnt a drink included with the evening meal. With drinks being quite high in price we often just stocked up on water in the room before we came down to eat, but pepsi or lemonade was 1.90 euros if we decided we did fancy something!

Service was always exceptional at meals, with staff asking if we wanted drinks and swiftly removing your empty plates from the table without making you feel uncomfortable.
All staff could string a sentance together in English which was nice as we'd not managed to learn any Greek before we went! One waitress in particular was always very good with her english and always made us feel welcome and we enjoyed some good conversation with her!

Locationwise, it is literally right on the beach and there are plenty of sun loungers and sahdes around the pool, along with sun loungers on the sand which are free if you buy a drink from the restuarant. The sea can be quite choppy and we'd often see people fighting to get past the wave breaks, but once you were past the breaking waves its lovely sea. There are also quite a few stones/rocks on the walk into the beach so i'd reccomend taking or buying some water shoes (4euro from a local shop!). There are plenty of fish to see so its well worth taking a mask and snorkel!
There are plenty of bars/restaurants nearby, and a choice of supermarkets all with about two minutes walking distance, with touristy type shops also very close and even larger stores about 5 mins walk away.
By getting a 20 minute bus you can easily get to Rethymnon to see the venetian harbour/port and other attractions. bus tickets available from reception for that. And the receptionist is also very good at helping with a few local trips.
The Atlantis Diving Centre is as close as the website suggests and they pick you up from your hotel and drop you off, we had a great day at a private beach in Bali!!

Overall we had a lovely relaxing holiday!! With our ages ranging from 21 to 69 we all found something to enjoy and had an amazing stay!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    13
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
crete
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

WE were looking for a quiet few days holiday.and this is what we got.It wasnt very crowded,so we were able to find sun loungers around the rather small but clean pool.Food was of average standard-But GOOD GREEK FOOD-You get what you pay for.Over all nice, relaxing break..

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

However inexpensive this hotel is, the price is not justified. The floors of our room were dirty. The sheets did not fit the bed and were filthy. Same for the towels. The curtains did not extend all the way across the window, making for the worst three nights of sleep I have had in some time as the sun streamed through our room at 6am every morning.

On another note, we booked through Hotels.com. The price there, we were later told, does not include a separate charge for air conditioning. Beware.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st.petersburg
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

The first day in this hotel we were very dissapointed - room was poor, bedclothes, towels, pillows were old. But in the morning when sun is up, room starts to look no so bad.
Finally we liked it very mach! Room was beg and comfortable, beach is only a few steps from your room, bas station is very close - it was easy to get Rethymno every day. Girl on reception is very friendly and helpful. Great sea view. Only one thing - the beach is sandy, but in the water it is a lot of stones - you should to buy a special shoes.
So, its really great hotel for this money, BUT dont forget that this is really a little money:))

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EVERGREEN, COLORADO
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

We just completed our 9 day stay at the SeaFront Apartments and had a wonderful time. While the rooms were somewhat spartan, the location on the beach made our stay perfect. The food was very good, the service was fine and everything was very clean. The view from our deck over the pool and down to the beach is one we will remember always. I feel this was the best value for the money of any extended stay we have had. Thanks again,

Jim Ottinger
Evergreen, Colorado USA

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

When me and my partner got there it looked really small but the reception area was spotless which was good and it was actually very big! We were left to find our own room, which we had difficulty doing even though given a map!! As it was about 10pm, we had forgotten to sort out our air conditioning so we went back to the reception but they had closed by the time we got there so we had to go all night without air con which wasnt good considering it was really hot!! Reception were good but one seemed a bit unfriendly and didnt really speak very good english.

Room was basic but very very clean and was cleaned every day by a friendly maid and towels and bedding was replaced often enough before it got dirty. If you are looking for something very classy and luxurious, this would not be for you! You could tell it was a 3* hotel, but it was very cheap and I would say it was good value for money! Hotel was very clean as well although very hot as no air con anywhere except reception and our rooms.
We paid to be upgraded to half board but as soon as we had our first meal which was breakfast the next morning, we regretted it big time!! The food was not aimed for english people as it as all cold breakfast and not much choice, 2 types of cereal, ham, cheese, bread that was about it! Dinners were just rice, pasta or salad and meats in sauce. They were the same thing every day and it was not varied at all! They had lots of fresh fruit though with the dinners, which was really good. It was only a 3* hotel anyway so I wasn't expecting the food to be wonderful! Pool bar food was really nice though, although expensive!! We bought large lunches from there every day and didn't eat much breakfast and dinner! Drinks from the pool bar were expensive also.

Set in a lovely area, lots of shops and restaurants about so i would recommend going self catered and eating out rather than at the hotel! Shops sold lots of pretty gifts and the shoptenders did not make you feel obliged or pressure you to buy!! There were also no people selling jewellry, paintings or trying to do your hair for you when you walked down the street which was a plus!! Area felt a very safe area! Shopkeepers did make you feel unwelcome in the large supermarkets though as they wouldn't touch your hand when taking money and didnt want to look at you etc, however, the smaller shops were very friendly and polite towards you!

Drinks were very expensive though! A vodka and coke was £5!! and so were all the alcopops so I would recommend buying from duty free beforehand!! Lots of reviews have said that the family made you feel unwelcome after about 8pm in the hotel bar, we didnt get that feeling, we didnt see any of the family but the staff round the pool bar were generally quite unfriendly anyway except when you tipped them! We didn't stay in the hotel much at nights apart from a few nights as there was no entertainment on at all!

Hotel had a small pool with a small number of loungers, we were always up early but the sunbeds round the pool had already been taken!! The hotel had its own beach which was quite big that had its own sunloungers but they were very expensive and it added up to quite a lot paying every day! Beach was lovely, except towards the sea it got sharp and i thought the current of the sea was really strong when there were children swimming in it! I wouldnt recommend this holiday for children as there was nothing at all for them to do!

Hotel grounds were lovely, kept very clean and tidy and were always being worked on!! Lots of flowers and trees!

Overall, the place had a nice feel to it and the other guests were very friendly! It was in a lovely area and the hotel was nice and clean. The only problem was the food! I would recommend you go to this hotel if you don't have much money as it is excellent value for money, just go self catered!! Crete is a lovely place and the Greek people are generally so lovely and friendly. We had a lovely week but I was glad to come home!!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

I stayed that the Seafront with my partner. This was our first holiday, so we were expecting this to be a learning curve.

We asked for sea view high floor apartment, which is what we got. The apartments are very clean and quite. We reviewed the apartments on Trip Advisor before we booked as there were no really off hand comments about the place.

The Seafront is 7km away from the centre of Rethymnon. The Seafront is set in its own 'sort of' town, which basically just a road lined with shops, restaurants, apartments and hotels. the more you walk on the road there were busy areas and quite areas.

The apartment is set in between the beach and the medium busy road. There is plenty of restaurants and shops down this road to the main 'sort of' town area. However the restaurants and shops are very repetitive and service and sell the same produce.

The apartments clientele were quiet a mixture of older and younger couples and families. We seemed to be the only British people there as there were mostly Germans and Swedish holidaymakers. This was one of our learning curves. We occasionally heard Brits as they walked passed us, however this was rare. Main thing was there were no rowdy drunken clientele.

There was a buffet at the apartments for breakfast and evening meal, we had it once. The buffett was a bit like school dinners but in a foreign land. It was better to eat out as the prices are reasonable. There were mainly set meals for 2-3 with house wine, never get the wine with the set meals get beer! A little advise.

We expected it to be cheaper really, a pint was between 2.50 -3.50 Euro in our area, which is fine, however in the centre of Rethymnon it was 3.50 Euro for only HALF!! Food was also slightly more expensive in Rethymnon, but better. This was another of our learning curves.

The beach was beautiful and the sunsets were to die for. The centre of Rethymnon is also very beautiful with a gorgeous harbour.

The area where the Seafront is there are no discos. This is something we would have liked and next time we will research. Relaxing apartments with good nightlife close to hand.

So if you want a relaxing holiday with acceptable/good food and drink, clean apartments and a little shopping and travelling to busy areas then this is the place for you. Better for older people and families.

We weren’t unhappy about our holiday, I am just explaining what it was like for us. The place is cheap and cheerful and very good for relaxing. This was our main holiday so expected a little more.

We cannot fault the Seafront as they were very nice and clean. Staff were also very helpfull with the buses to the city centres.

Any questions please email, I would be glad to put peoples mind to rest.

  • Liked — Clean and tidy
  • Disliked — lack of entertainment and good food
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seafront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seafront Apartments

Address: Adelianos Kampos, Crete 74100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Adelianos Kampos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Adelianos Kampos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Seafront Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Seafront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seafront Apartments Hotel Adelianos Kambos
Seafront Apartments Crete/Rethymnon Prefecture, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seafront Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.