We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Adelianos Kampos, Crete 74100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Adelianos Kampos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Godalming, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I have just spent a week at this hotel with my friend and I can honestly say we had the best time. As someone who has travelled extensively all over the world and stayed in many 5" hotels this is one of the best. The food was delicious, beautifully cooked and presented , a revelation. The staff throughout the hotel were courteous helpful, in fact quite delightful, particular mention to Dorina who served us our meals what a beautiful smile Dorina.
Cretans take their tourist industry very seriously and this was obvious everywhere we went and very much appreciated. We were lucky in that our ruder nouveau riche european neighbours had gone home which i am sure the staff were very grateful for. yes there were those who take the all inclusive to extremes which is not a pleasant sight but generally people were civillised. We were on half board which was more than adequate, excellent breakfast choice and delicious dinners.
We are seriosly thinking about returning next spring and will certainly book this hotel.
A big thank you to ALL the staff for making our stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    324
    132
    44
    27
See reviews for
390
416
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aalborg
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

If not by the fantastic staff at the resturants this was a very old (torn down) hotel. 5 stars might be to much for this hotel. Also the some of the service crew seems a little tired of tourists.
The food is good and
No heated pools for small kids. Even the indoor pool is very coold and not a joy for smaller kids

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Spent a week all inclusive and could easily have stayed longer. Like a self contained village. Room overlooked the beach from one balcony and the "village square" from the other. Very attentive staff. Very good good both quality and choice.

Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We have just returned from a 7 day stay at this hotel. We chose this hotel for the free child place through Thomson. We have stayed at many 5 star hotels and in my opinion the customer service is what sets apart the true 5 star hotels.

We arrived in the rain (the weather the rest of the holiday was excellent) but this seemingly forced everyone into the main restaurant for Dinner. It was a disaster. People were everywhere snatching food at the buffet and one waitress could not understand me asking for cordial for my liitle boy and told me to ask for it at reception. This was not what I needed when I was sitting down for Dinner.

This is supposed to be a child friendly hotel, but there seemed to be limited food for children, and a lot of the food at dinner was salty. There were no chips at dinner (there was at lunch) and the only child friendly option was spaghetti.

The remaining nights however were much better than the first night, as the dinner buffet was no where near as busy as that first night. The staff in general in the restaurant and hotel were however very friendly and undoutedly had to put up with the behaviour of "certain guests", of a particular nationality, who eat and drink to excess. This is a very large hotel and there is a large contingent of these guests and it is not the behaviour you expect of guests in a 5 star hotel. The staff seem scared to stop this antics as evidently a lot of money comes from these "certain guests".

Someone else has already said that there is a way to "enjoy" this hotel. Book half board, and stay in a sea view room. Pay for the "Beach Lounge" which was 15 euros per day but this included a bottle of water and fruit salad which was nice. The beach is more sandy here as well and my little boy had no poblems building sandcastles and walking over the beach. The normal sun beds are uncomfortable and the beach is not as nice. Finally, on some days, eat lunch in the hotel and have your evening meal out. You may become a little bored of the food otherwise.

I would also like to highly commend Lorenzo from the animation team who oozes charisma and was a real credit to the hotel. Eating with guests and speaking to everyone around the hotel in the evening was a nice touch and my little boy thought he was his best friend. Animation however is low key at the hotel which was good. There is plenty to do if you want it, but you are not bombarded with requests to take part.

We had a very good holiday and may even go back there. However, in life, you get what you pay for. This is a cheaper 5 star hotel for a reason. The hotel has shortcomings which in my opinion could be improved by better customer service, and making the guests feel special. I didn't get that feeling. This may be down to the sheer size of the hotel and the volume of guests but if you do things right, you will have a great holiday at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Firstly this is a lovely hotel and despite its age we didn't think it was dated. The reception and other communal areas were excellent and the whole hotel was immaculately clean and well kept.

The food was second to none in all restaurants but you need a degree to get to grips with the all inclusive as limited items are actually included! Only certain drinks are included but that is a minor thing as the selection is huge. The taverna by the pool is when things get really confusing, I would say a larger percentage of the menu was chargeable than was all inclusive and although pizzas are included and are served all day if you go after a certain time they are chargeable! Ice cream is free all day at the beach bar and in the restaurant but not at the pool bar, try explaining that to a hot 2 yr old at the pool! Only certain items in the mini bar are free which we realised all to late! I could go on but just make sure you have your wits about you when ordering!

A major bug bear was trying to get a drink, I have never been to any restaurant where you are not offered a drink when nearing the end of another. The pool bar is waitress service (very nice staff) but be prepared to have to keep your eye out for someone and for a long wait, if you go up to the bar you are sent away and told someone will come and take your order which will happen within about 20 mins. At dinner the staff work extremely hard but again it's an art form to catch someone's eye for a top up, we opted for a bottle of the house wine at the start of the meal (available on all inclusive) to avoid this issue.

We paid to upgrade to a bungalow room as we have a toddler only to discover we had a balcony and the room was to say the least 'uninspiring' despite the extra charge and the balcony didn't get the sun after 8am in the morning. The reception were fantastic and offered us a family room which was a vast improvement but unfortunately had several marble steps from the terrace that were a holiday accident waiting to happen so we opted to stay where we were.

The cleaners were excellent and the room was cleaned to the point of being spotless every day, they were also extremely friendly.

Overall we had a wonderful stay with only a few niggles and where possible the hotel did try to accommodate. The hotel is perfect but all inclusive should mean exactly that as I do not like to pay for that up front then be faced with further charges if I chose something different from the menu!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Second visit for a second year in a row, And yet again another Enjoyable stay. Not much to really say this time round as my 1st review about the hotel pretty much covers it still for this Trip, though just a few points to Recap on..

There is one thing that may be worth the hotel looking into and thats were there are some mentions of the food being lukewarm, i think this is partly down to the platters the food is served up in, when the food is first served up it will be hot, but you will get the condensation forming at the top of the lids and after a few times when the lids have been opened and closed again (and i did notice that most people closed them with a bang) The condensation is more than likely coming down on to the food thus making it cooler & Possibly Soggier that bit Quicker...But Again that is my Personal opinion as to the way i see it.

Other than that no complaints, The Bar Staff - Mike, Kleo, Aphrodite & Co. As always made sure the drinks were kept flowing and there was always something Amusing happening.

I Do Ask That You Please Read My 1st Review For a more Full Review.

Also if General Manager Mr George Barelier reads this, Please pass on yet again my Thanks to your staff especially Mike & Staff in the lobby bar for There Attentive Service and also please feel free to contact me if you wish to Discuss Any points that was Written in the Above or my
previous review of the Hotel, Here's hoping to see all the staff i have Befriended there again next year should i be able to make it out to crete.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We ordered a double room for 4 nights and expected for a 5* hotel ,but we were very disapointed.
Our room was very simple ,small,the mattress was hard and not comfortable,the view was to the garden and the backyard and not to the sea.
When we asked if it is possible to change the room, they asked for an amount of about 35 euro per day.
They was not a teapot in the room,and they asked to pay for it 4 euro.(we were offended -so we did not take it.)
To shut the safe- we had to use a key, not a small key - so we were obliged to take it with us all the day.
At the dinning room they did not serve plain water and we had to order mineral water and to pay for it evry night.
At the dinning room the staff was very helpfull and friendly and the food was exellent.
On the beach -a lot of sun beds but it was very difficult to get into the sea.The swimming polls were perfect.
When we made the reservation, we payed about 20%more than other 5* hotels in Crete.
We have the feeling that they don't think to satisfite the client,but,only to increase the income of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel

Address: Adelianos Kampos, Crete 74100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Adelianos Kampos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Adelianos Kampos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 519
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquila Rithymna Beach Rethymnon
Hotel Aquila Rithymna Beach
Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel Crete/Rethymnon Prefecture, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.