We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maravel Hotel Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Maravel Hotel Apartments to your Saves list
Maravel Hotel Apartments
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   | PO Box 74100, Adelianos Kampos, Crete 74100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from 2 weeks at this hotel booked a superior room which was large spacious and very clean with a great wetroom, the balcony was also large with seaviews. Pool area very pretty and sunloungers were always available. Food was lovely, very tasty and always plenty of choice. This hotel is great value for money with very friendly staff. Would recommend for families and couples and we enjoyed it so much we will go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    58
    35
    26
    21
See reviews for
56
67
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend arrived early Saturday morning and was greated by a friendly receptionist who took my bags up to the room.The room was absolutely gorgeous really modern and had a wet room, a huge balcony, I thought wow we have got a bargain here. Food was lovely we always found something to eat all inclusive a are usually hit and miss and I was really impressed, the alcohol was good it wasn't watered down and very generous measures, ice creams were €1 which was slightly odd I thought on all inclusive. Two days into holiday we got called to go to reception and they told us our room was ready now, we were confused, they said they were moving us to a bigger better room.we got there I was abut disappointed balcony was tiny room was dated but it was ok we should of said no to moving but it didn't spoil our holiday. Was impressed with the beach it's part shingle and hurts your feet and has a big rock ledge in the water. The pool area was fab.There is alot of russians in the hotel but we foind quite a few english families too which were lovely.There is a bus stop outside hotel to take you to rethymnon which was ace lovely cobbled streets beautiful harbour it was great. I had a fantastic holiday apart from moving rooms but ill no for next time.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a 10 day holiday at the Maravel, the majority of recent reviews are fair. Some parts of the hotel are modern other parts a little dated, our room was an older style 2 bedroomed apartment, it was basic and could have been cleaned more thoroughly however the sheets and towels were changed regularly and we hardly spent time in the rooms so it wasn't a real problem. The bathroom was small, again could have been cleaned better but it was ok. The pool area is really lovely however all our swimwear and beach towels are ruined due to discolouring from chemicals used in the pool. The food is good for the price paid for an all inclusive holiday my son enjoyed it and I did despite being a vegetarian and initially thinking it would be restricted. My daughter didn't like the food but she is an extremely fussy eater so not fair to comment! The location is quite remote, very little entertainment in the hotel and only a few tavernas within short walking distance. We didn't like the beach by the hotel it appeared quite dirty we did use the beach in Rethymnon once which was better. Overall we had a good, fairly quiet holiday, the staff work really hard and the hotel has a friendly atmosphere with a wide range of nationalities staying there which I liked. I wouldn't return however but do consider its good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Having recently returned from a weeks holiday at the Maravel apartments, I am unbelievably relaxed a week later. The apartments are basic but clean, the bathrooms aren't perhaps as clean as they could be but they are serviceable and fit for purpose. The pool area is clean and with plenty of sun loungers.
We were warned about the food and its standard- however we were really impressed with the quality and amounts of it! Lovely local food and for the price paid for all incl you don't feel bad eating out once or twice- lots of lovely local restaurants.
The location is remote- not an awful lot to see in the immediate area but its easy enough to get into rethimnon to explore the city. Would recommend the fort and the harbour restaurants for seafood.
Good budget holiday! Would definately return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We have just returned from a week all-inclusive and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We arrived very late on our first night and were given a room for 2, even though there was 3 in our group (myself, husband and our 11 year old son) the chap from reception explained he couldn't do anything until morning, so we all slept in the 2 twin beds (quite large ones) so all was OK. The morning arrived and the receptionist gave us a superb family room with an enormous sun terrace complete with table, chairs and our own sun loungers! The cleaning staff were lovely and even folded our son's pyjamas that he left on the floor! OK, the bathroom had a few water marks on the glass walls, but hey, who manages to get these off our own bathrooms if we are honest?!
Pool area and bar very clean and tidy, lots of loungers available and very well maintained.
The food was what was expected and was plentiful with good salads, fab fresh bread and a wide variety, yes to those reviewers who said alot of pork and melon, but it was fresh and varied as much as their budget allowed I persume.
All in all, we were more than pleased with what we recieved for the money and on departing we were given a large bottle of their olive oil which I think was a nice touch. As we were driving down the road our son asked if we could go back there next year, I think it maybe a yes!

Room Tip: corner family room close to pool, sea view and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds,England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Just got back yesterday from our stay here, wouldn't stay here again to be honest. On our first night we dragged all our cases & carried the buggy up the stairs to reception just to have to carry them all back down again, no ramp at all. Reception guy was on his own so was rushing to help. Coz we arrived late we had a sandwich roll each in our fridge,water & fruit which was good of them, I did make sure I had some food already with me for my 21 month old tho just in case there was nothing. The breakfast the next morning was a shock to our system,tables with plates of food not cleaned up,we eventually found a "clean" table,food & cutlery was not topped up often enough,people left waiting around for eggs,bacon,cutlery etc topping up,ridiculous.one morning the fruit juice machine wasn't working,1 hour & 5 people later it was finally fixed.if you want toast in a morning expect a queue,very slow toaster.Lunch & dinner had little variety & hardly any food was labelled,repetitive desserts.in fact even though we were all inclusive we ate out at poppys over the road for at least one of our meals nearly every day.The high chairs were filthy too,we tried to get the brightly colored one every day coz it was the cleanest.the staff were friendly in all aspects there just wasn't enough of them.Not enough alcoholic drinks under all inclusive,worst amount I've seen & the diet coke was just awful,cheap tasting yuk.Our room was spacious & clean & cleaned every day,shower good but be careful of getting too much water on the floor.Pool area was lovely & my little girl loved the playground,hardly any entertainment on a night,Friday was Cretan night & Tues was karaoke night, just some music or singing on a night would've done us,my little girl loves to dance. I'm not one to moan normally, all this hotel needs is its food & food service updating & more all inclusive alcohol drinks & it would be a lot better

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

just arrived back from crete staying all inclusive at the Maravel hotel adelios kampos.
The hotel is set in lovely surroundings,the pool and garden area are lovely.Our room246 was very good ,new bathroom and quite large.(some rooms on the ground floor although good inside have no real light(small window) + door leading out onto a small patio overlooked.
The staff are very friendly, but struggling by being understaffed(special mention to aniessa,anna and ayiet).
Food is average, usual salad bar,hams,cheeses,cerial,fruit +hot eggs omellete,bacon/spiced ham,boiled eggs for breakfast(no tomatoes? ).Only 1 4 slice toaster serving everybody(queues inevitable)The plates and cutlery have been placed halfway along the food run so everybody has to lean across to obtain them barging between . service is slow to replace items gone again leading to people hanging around.
Bar area alright again 1 person behind bar serving,leading to queues at busy times.Only beer,wine,raki,ouzo,vodka,whisky available on all inclusive(no BRANDY !!!!!!!?)all inc finishes at 23-00hrs although bar open until 01-00hrs (payable)
No currency exchange at reception.
Beach is a short walk 5 mins across road and down side road.The beach is sand and shingle leading into large pebbles/stones going into the sea.Then a continuos rock beneath the sea approx. 4 metres out(this causes waves/currents) Beds/parasol--6euros bargain
2 tavernas on beach in near proximity--sunset and blue sky.
There are supermarkets/restaurants/tavernas within easy reach Kalamies is very nice but found Poppy's across road from hotel the best (hoe made chips and wonderful service- inexpensive.
Last few details--1hr 10 mins from Chania airport slightly longer from heraklion.

Overall a nice relaxing stay(old laid back greek charm) However if 4 star status required a lot to do to obtain it
p.s. ice cream has to be bought for children????

Room Tip: higher floor request
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maravel Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maravel Hotel Apartments

Address: | PO Box 74100, Adelianos Kampos, Crete 74100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Adelianos Kampos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Adelianos Kampos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maravel Hotel Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maravel is located in a privileged surroundings in Adelianos Kampos 7 km from the centre of Rethymnon. It consists of three main buildings, which are situated in an area of nearly 20.000 sq.m covered with beautiful gardens. Hotel Maravel is fully renovated in 2008 and 2009 and changed its category from 3 to 4 stars - hotel.The nearest coast, just 70 meters away, gives the opportunity for doing watersports or just relaxing and enjoying the beautiful sun of Crete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Maravel Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maravel Apartments Rethymnon
Maravel Hotel Apartments Crete/Rethymnon Prefecture, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maravel Hotel Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.