We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yiannis Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Yiannis Retreat to your Saves list
Yiannis Retreat
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Kato Zakros | Sitia, lasithi,Crete, Kato Zakros, Crete 72300, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Kato Zakros B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

went here for 3 days originally as that's all we could get, but ended up staying 7 as someone didn't turn up. katerina and georgia were so lovely and helpful to us. it is a looong drive but when you round the bend and see kato zakros it is all worth it. there are some lovely tavernas all serving fresh good food.yiannis retreat is the most welcoming and relaxing place I have ever been to, I would still be there if my husband hadn't dragged me back to the real world! lovely rooms with everything thought of so you don't have to. little welcome basket which was great to tuck into after a long drive. the most beautiful gardens you could find with eating areas, hammocks, seats and a bbq area which we used twice. all this and peace and quiet and the sound of the wildlife and a family of cats, that adopt new people as they arrive! all those little touches make a big difference. don't change anything

Room Tip: all rooms are very special
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milano, Italia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Katerina and Yiannis are the most incredible hosts. The retreat is beautifully peaceful, everything is clean and conceived in order to welcome the guests and let them relax and enjoy the powerful beauty of Kato Zakros - which is per se an amazing place. we had an unforgettable stay!

Silvia & Ale

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Yiannis Retreat was everything we could have hoped for and more. After arriving, our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. Gorgeous views of the gardens and sea below. The rooms are like small one room cabins, rustic and really nice. They leave you a basket full of delicious breads, fruit, cookies and homemade baked goods for breakfast and a welcome bottle of wine. The place is very serene, quiet and close to the small town on the beach which offers a few restaurants. We hiked from there up into the mountains behind and took a gorgeous hike down the Zakros Gorge, ending up in Dead's Gorge, which was just a short walk back to the hotel. The location is in a remote part of eastern Crete, but offers beautiful views of the cliffs and sea on the windy roads that lead there. If you get a chance, we recommend you make your way out there and try to stay a while!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

After a long (Loooong!!!) drive from Heraklion.. even the petrol was twisted after that!!.. Kato zakros is sublime.. Just unwind and relax in the garden .. wander to the beach (10 mins) swim .. local tavernas and wander back again .. The garden is beautiful .. the apartment spotless .. staff very friendly and welcoming.. Lovely walks from KZ up the gorge .. across the cliffs to the cave.. up the old road to Zakros.. (Great little supermarket .. and a local produce shop in Zakros) The beach is a bit pebbly but Xerothantos (15 mins) is fab.. This is a very remote and beautiful part of Crete.. A good place to unwind for a week.. If you can get up early the sunrise over the sea is astounding

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Perfect location for just chilling out, easy walk to the peaceful beaches and very nice local beach front restaurants.Also an easy short drive to numerous neighbouring very private beaches and coves.We visited for 10 nights at the end of September 2012 and the local area was very peaceful, Just what we were looking for.The only holiday hiccup was our luggage still being in London when we arrived in Crete and we had to wait a couple of days for it to arrive. In the mean time the owners Yiannis and Katrina had very kindly loaned us some shorts/T shirts etc to get by with whilst we waited on Luggage delivery, now not many give service like that these days.The apartments are very nice and comfortable with adequate small kitchen to do breakfast ,snacks etc
We got a basket full of food and local wine when we arrived, A nice touch.
The gardens have been very well finished, and great for just chilling with a good book relaxing in one of the hammocks.Not the place if you are looking for Banging nightclubs and loud pubs, All in All a perfect holiday and topped off by the kindness and friendliness of the owners and there staff. We will be going back for more soon.
Roy Reid

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Amazing location, unbelievably friendly host and staff, comfortable, spacious rooms. Yiannis and his team should be very proud of the wonderful holiday venue they have created here in Katos.

It was an absolute pleasure to stay here and I have no hesitation in suggesting that this is a 10/10 holiday venue. We will be back I hope.

Brian and Nas

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The hotel is located a little bit up from a small village in front of the sea. The place is very quiet and beautiul. You can do some hiking near and go to the village by foot.
The rooms are nice, the bathroom okand there is a small kitchen with everything to cook and to make breakfast. A small basket with local products was on the table, and they gave us a big bread also.
This place is not for you if you want to go out the night (bar, disco...) because there is nothing like this here, but if you want to take some good time and take rest it's the ideal location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yiannis Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yiannis Retreat

Address: Kato Zakros | Sitia, lasithi,Crete, Kato Zakros, Crete 72300, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Kato Zakros
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kato Zakros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Yiannis Retreat 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yiannis Retreat Studios is a complex of five traditional renovated stone houses, situated in the wonderful green valley of Kato Zakros, surrounded by olive trees, garden plants and bushes, all there for you to enjoy the magnificent view and the blue and clear waters of Kato Zakros bay.The rooms are 500m away from the beach, a distance close enough for you to enjoy your swimming in the clean and clear waters and taste the traditional cuisine at the taverns and also far enough to abort the stress from the everyday routine , in our magnificent location.Inside the rooms, we have combined the traditional element in the decoration and the furniture with the functionality and the comfort of a modern lodging, trying to offer you a warm and pleasant environment for your holidays.Each room is fully equipped with all electric appliances such as electric cooker, refrigerator, coffee maker, sandwich maker and household goods to prepare your breakfast and meals.Outdoors there are very beautiful trees, like pines, cypresses, palm trees, acacias, mournies, voukamvilies, jasmines, banana trees, cactus etc. , that offer you their coolness and shade when you want to relax. The garden is separated in three uneven levels with natural fences and trees that create private corners for your personal privacy.We invite you to visit Kato Zakros, and have the chance to discover the eastern part of Crete, see the Natural-wild beauty and enjoy the clean beaches. Taste Cretan traditional food and of course have relaxing holidays in one of the fewest places of Crete, which continues to be untouched by the “Modern Tourism”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Yiannis Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yiannis Retreat Kato Zakros, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yiannis Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.