We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 visits- counting the days until the next...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porta del Mar Beach Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ammoudi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Porta del Mar Beach Hotel
Psarou Beach, Ammoudi 29100, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off Oct15th-30th 2014
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“5 visits- counting the days until the next...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our family never did 'return' holidays, until we discovered, through Owner's Direct, Porta del Mar. Every year we realise that it just doesn't get better than this. The location is the most beautiful I have ever seen, the owners feel like friends and we all (including a 13 year old and a 16 yr old, both girls) have a fantastic holiday. This year, the owners have improved the site even more, with beautiful decking over the beach, although we are die-hards who prefer to be on the beach (sunbeds provided). There were new cayaks for exploring and the kids jus don't want to come in from the sea- even that behaves itself as it is calm and peaceful in the morning then rough with waves to jump around in in the afternoon. The food gets better and better- George, the new cook is a real find and we loved the fact that he has continued the tradition of cooking using as much as he can from the owner's vegetable garden. There are so many things I could write about, which draw us back every year- thank you Tasos, Pavlina ,Costas ( very much in charge now and very impressive!) and lovely Elina. And George. See you next summer!!

Room Tip: All the villas are beautiful- we have tried them all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
47
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We are a Family of four, our Kids are 5 and 7 years old and we stayed for one week in porta del Mar in May. It is an incredibly beautiful place, the arrangement of the houses around a pretty Patio is very tasteful and so are the Appartements. Very clean, nicely furnished with very comfortable beds and everything you need for cooking.
We had wonderful views from our terrace.
There are diffent terraces down the steps to the beach, where you can have your meals or drinks and just look at this turquoise calm ocean. The sandy beach is extremly nice, very clean, almost noone there, shallow water - perfect for Kids. We loved the taverna, and I have to say they have exeptional delicious food. A good variety of partly self grown vegetables, fresh fish, very good meat, excellent Pizza.
The owners are extremly friendly and try to help wherever they can. They organized a very cheap rental car for us, we could get mosquito nets in our rooms, always there, always helpful, friendly and heartwarming People we miss already!
We were always looking for a place like this and finally we found it! For sure we will return.
Thank you for a wonderful week we still think of a lot!
Kati and Tom (Munich)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeulenroda, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We visited Porta del Mar in September 2011 and in June 2013. Both holidays were so fantastic, relaxing and unique that we definitely visit Porta del Mar again.
The location is like a little paradise. The villas, the garden and the beach - everything is perfect and designed with a lot of little details and love. A wonderful place to chill out. Relaxing Music is playing in the background all day long. The Beach is quiet and you can sunbathe on one of the both decks or if you want you can have a massage on the beach in the morning.
Preliminary Family Rigas made our holidays to really special vacations. They are so friendly and obliging. Every time we felt welcome and like friends.
They organize traditional BBQ and Pizza Evenings which you can’t miss when you visit Porta del Mar. We can say it is the best Pizza of the World.
At lunch or in the evening you can eat from the “Star Cuisine” of Kostas and George who makes gourmands’ dreams comes true. You can sit in the nice garden, with a perfect view over the sea, eat something from the delicacies and listen to the relaxing music in the background.
Later you can have a homemade Mojito from Kostas……..Everything is perfect.
So, for us it is the perfect place for holidays and the nicest we’ve ever seen.
René, Jacqueline, Ronja & Maximilian

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were very lucky to find Porta Del Mar on google back in early 2012 and just over a year later had our wedding / honeymoon there. 1st June 2013.

These villas are spotless, each one individual in style but all beautifully decorated and maintained. We stayed in calypso for 2 weeks which had amazing views of the villa gardens and beach / sea and views across to kefalonia.

Tasos, Pavlina and Kostas along with George (the chef) and their pets big eyes and Tapa made our stay something quite incredible. Nothing was too much trouble. We wanted a unique relaxed place to get married and holiday with our young children's and celebrate the second week with our close family. We all had the time of our lives and became very attached to porta del mar and its owners. We were so upset to leave.

From email enquiries to organising the decorations and food nothing was too much trouble for this beautiful family. We had to not incredible 10 days leading to our wedding and the wedding day itself was just perfect. Even the cloud and rain on the actual day didn't dampen proceedings as we were so well looked after and the location and villas was just so fantastic,

We cannot recommend porta del mar enough, the accommodation, food at the bar, location, quality etc etc was all perfect and we hope to return again in the future with our children. It will hold a very special place in our hearts for the rest of our lives.

The immediate area of armoudi is very quiet with only a couple of tavernas and supermarket but you really do not need anything else. We had bbqs , a pizza night, freshly caught fish that Kostas and George went to town to buy early morning and we ate most days, morning noon and night at the villas. We had a few lively nights and it was great for us to spend time getting to know this lovely family.

The beach was great and for most days we were the only people around so it was completely safe for our toddlers to paddle and have fun.

We recommend you do not have any second thoughts, book now! But we hope porta del mar doesn't become too popular that we cannot return!!!!!!!

Please mail us if you want any further info, we would be only too happy to help out!

Dean, Victoria, Reuben, lila belle and family. Xxxx

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasirigas, Owner at Porta del Mar Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you so much Dean n Victoria. We are so happy to read such comments! Your wedding was fantastic and very emotional!,
Special thanks also to all your group which prefer the tastes made by our chef George and Kostas.
Love to all and see you soon!
Tasos , Pavlina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The family at Porta Del Mar arranged and hosted our wedding in September 2012. Everything was perfect from start to finish and we couldn't have wished for a more amazing day.

On arrival we were met with a very warm welcome from Tasos and Pavlina and shown to our villas. The villas are absolutely beautiful with everything you could possibly need and kept immaculately clean by the friendly cleaner.

The location of PDM is absolutely breath taking, the views are spectacular, the grounds are so pretty and the beach is just at the bottom of the garden. The sea was lovely and calm and floats, canoes and loungers were provided for guests to use. There is also a decked area above the beach for sunbathing or plenty of space to loose yourself in the pretty gardens if looking for a little peace and tranquillity.

The food cooked mainly by Kostas was delicious and cooked freshly to order. We mainly ate breakfast at the complex which set us up for the day but did join in with the pizza night, baked by Tasos in their outdoor clay oven - they were lovely.

The Rigas family were wonderful and really went above and beyond to make our stay perfect, they were always on hand for a chat or to share local information, book taxis and arrange trips.

As I mentioned at the start our wedding organised mainly by the family was amazing, before we arrived all emails were handled by Kostas and he was always quick to respond to our many questions. The family also helped with the translation of our documents in Greek. On arrival we had a chat with Tasos who asked us what we expected from the day, what we wanted to eat, times and locations and we literally went away relaxed and enjoyed our holiday and two days later had our dream wedding.

We choose to get married on the veranda over looking the sea and that along with the grounds had been lovingly decorated by the family. They arranged the registrar, translation, our photographer, flowers, music, horse and carriage, food and drinks. The food was cooked by Tasos and was lovely though everyone ended up in bed early with full tummies! Also a special thanks to Tasos for the driving around he did for us after the wedding to collect our documents and have the documents translated into English.

Our cake was provided by Maria at Cupcake Fantasia, wonderful lady and would highly recommend and I had my hair styled by Paula at Paulas Salon in Tsillivi, again lovely lady and would definitely recommend.

Also a special thanks to Eleni for the wonderful food and service a few nights after our wedding. It was truly some of the nicest food we had during our stay and it was lovely to share in your company.

I am so late in writing this review it is only 7 weeks until we return. Happy days.

Please do not hesitate to consider PDM for your wedding or a holiday, you will not be disappointed, it truly is paradise found.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were extremely fortunate to visit Kostas and his wonderful family for a total of 12 days last August /September. We were made unbelievably welcome and left as friends rather than paying guests. The two of us arrived first but a large number of our friends arrived within days, so we had the run of the place. In total there were 17 adults and 7 children in our group.
First of all, the location is exquisite - although it appears compact, there are so many terraces that everyone had sufficient space, if and when required. The views are utterly spectacular and the beach being only steps away feels every bit a private beach. The sea is clear, warm and safe and, strangely for the Mediterranean, had waves, especially in the afternoon, which adults and children enjoyed.
The safety of the location for children and the service laid on by Kostas and his family were second to none. We felt that we were in our private island and did not feel compelled to leave Porta del Mar at any time during our stay. We could not recommend more Porta del Mar for a completely relaxing holiday and we left totally refreshed, yet very sad, upon our departure. We look forward to our next visit in 2013.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meilen, Switzerland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Last summer we`ve been to this marvelous place for the third time and we`ll come back also next summer.
Thanks to Family Rigas hospitality it`s always been a peaceful, easygoing time with lots of fun, good wine and food in the garden. Tasos and Kostas compete in pampering the guests with amazing amounts of fresh food (mostly selfgrown) for breakfast and lunch or delicious grilled meat and fish for dinner, and as a years highlight for our children " Tasos pizza".
In the warm and glassclear water just beneath the villa we were snorkling for hours, watching (and once our children even touched!) turtles, diving for shells, catching and releasing octopus and playing.
On the beach, which is clean and sandy our children built castles and transformed themselves into clay-monsters.
In one word, a summerparadise that cannot be topped for us. We`ll be back for sure!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Porta del Mar Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta del Mar Beach Hotel

Address: Psarou Beach, Ammoudi 29100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Ammoudi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty lodging in Ammoudi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porta del mar is a small family-run resort of 8 stone villas for summer holidays with direct access to a sandy beach. Amazing sea views obtained from the gardens and inside the villas! The villas are self-catering and accommodate from 2-6 persons (one or two bedroom villas). They all form a horse shoe design, facing towards the sea and are traditionally and nicely decorated. They have spacious living rooms, large bedrooms with queen-size beds or twin single beds, all with solid, wooden ceilings and air-condition. Fully equipped kitchens include cooker, big fridge/freezer, wooden table that seats 4-6 and a full range of utensils. Their verandas are spacious and offer panoramic sea views. The villas are situated directly on our sandy, quiet beach and are surrounded by well kept and relaxing gardens. The beach is safe for children and the waters are clear, crystal and rather shallow. Everything you need is within short walking distance from the villa (groceries, bakery, taverns). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Porta Del Mar Beach Hotel Ammoudi, Zakynthos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porta del Mar Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Porta del Mar Beach Hotel to your Saves list