We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad hotel with a great location.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Turtle Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Turtle Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Agios Sostis, Agios Sostis 29092 , Greece (Formerly Arkadianos Apartments)   |  
Hotel amenities
Truro, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bad hotel with a great location.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Nothing amazing about this hotel. You ask the receptionist about Shipwreck Cove and the blue caves (the biggest attractions to the island), she has no idea what youre talking about. We got charged a euro just for asking her to book a taxi to the strip, only for the taxi to never arrive and end up getting a lift with her suspicious greek friend. The selection of all inclusive drinks at the bar was very poor. beer, wine and vodka is pretty much it. Of which neither of our party drink, so the bar we had paid for was not an option for us. we booked through lowcostholidays which stated the All Inc bar would close at 11pm , and a selection of snacks would be available in the daytime. The AI closed at 10pm and there were no bar snacks at all - we asked. The hotel is rather stingey. By the 2nd night I was delightlyfully woken up at 2am by food poisoning, of which lasted, and subsequently cut out almost a day and a half of my holiday. This was from what i presume to be from seafood for dinner (mussels). From then on hardly any of our party dared to touch the meat or seafood in the restaurant. Whilst I was suffering in bed with a fever, I gave my friends money and they kindly asked the receptionist for some air con, which was stated as 7 euros/day. However what it doesnt state is that you have to buy it in days of 3, and you cant just buy it for the one day. yet another stingey grab for more money. Bar service in the restaurant was horrific, however the waiters were absolutely lovely, we even made friends with one of them. Our rooms were cleaned only twice the whole week we were there, and this was only because we asked for them to be and to have clean towels. Had we not asked then they would not have been cleaned at all, and we wouldnt have received fresh towels the entire holiday. The all inclusive bands were cable ties. most of us took ours off by the 2nd day as you end up just scratching yourself quite badly in your sleep or when moving about with them. except then when you go to the restaurant you get questioned why youre not wearing your band, and we also witnessed customers being kicked out for not wearing them.
Despite the (many) negatives, the hotel provided a roof to sleep under which was all we needed. Despite not being particularly clean, the rooms were well furnished and the beds were comfortable. The noise was not a bother to us as we are a young group who also went out to the strip and enjoyed ourselves late at night just like those coming home in the early hours . Despite some bad reviews about the pool area, as far as we could tell the pool was clean and the area was also clean and tidy. Taxi's to the strip were cheap, at only 8 euro's a trip. and some of the taxi drivers we met were proper good laughs! The location was amazing with the beach right at your feet. supermarkets are available within seconds walk. also, there were boat trips which can take you to turtle island, keri caves and turtle spottting which were easy to book and were well worth it! there are also options to hire pedalo's and speedboats. Finally, we recommend a cocktail bar a 2 minute walk down the road called Kui's - amazing cocktails, amazing service and a stunning view! we went here almost every night and absolutely loved it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    37
    38
    31
    96
See reviews for
48
82
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Wonderful setting. Rooms basic but clean, food in local restaurant very good,bar staff helpful as were cleaners and receptionist BUT bar open ALL NIGHT and charging 10e for all you could drink. Hence no sleep for many guests and abusive and wrecked young people. We were told on arrival that the bar closed at 10 pm which is fine, but all night - no thanks. During the day the pool was out of bounds due to bad language and groups of young men running rampage. We moved out after 2 nights. Bar music awful, loud techo rap with bad language. Locals hate this place as the rest of the resort is geared to couples and families and they feel it lowers the tone of what otherwise would be a perfect location.

Room Tip: building no 3 is the quietest but nowhere gets away from the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

going away as a group of 18 year olds, it was amazing. however, i do not reccomend it if youre going for a relaxed holiday. People do not leave the hotel to go to the strip until 1am, so expect alot of noise and then returning at 6am with even more noise. The all inclusive bands are cable ties, and are extremely annoying. Seen alot of complaints about the maids, we had the maid clean our apartment 3 days/ 7 days, and rejected her twice. There not a great deal of variety for all inclusive drinks, beer, wine, vodka/pepsi which is very watered down and soft drinks. However, for drinks in the day its fine. Did not enjoy the food one bit! ended up buying food from the local shop and cooking it. Quite a distance from Laganas strip, 10 minute taxi drive, definatly unwalkable, but cheap at 8 euros. Hotel staff were lovely, especially the receptionist and security guard whos there in early hours of the morning. They are very laid back, and we didnt get any complaints from the hotel staff about loud music or noise, despite other holidaymakers switching hotels. overall, a great experience, but definatly seems to be more suited for the younger ones and a lively time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

Arrive to turtle beach hotel on 17th june at 12pm, the receptionist wasnt very welcoming. We then went to check in but our room wasnt even ready. Are all inclusive wrist bands were CABLE TIES! She then told us half and hour and she will show us to our room, after complaining several times, nearly 2 hours later we got our room. The cleaner had moped the floor but it was still filthy! She didnt even make up the beds, the sheets were just in a pile on the end of the bed. We couldnt wait to un pack and go round by the pool after an hour at the pool we went back to the room to find all of our belongings covered in ants!! There were hundreds every where, we went to the reception and complained and she was acting like know one had ever experienced ants in there room, she said she would get the cleaner back in to clean again. I refused and asked to move rooms! We moved to the second floor which was okay, room was small very rundown! When u flushed the toilet, it flooded the bathroom. Rooms were very tacky and horrible. The food at the resturant was dry, always looked old, boring and the salad was shrivled up and had flies all over it. There was pork served everyday and not much choice of any other meats.The all inclusive drinks were awful, they used cans of beer and one can of beer was shared between 3 cups. They run out of ice more than three occasions and they dont keep there drinks in fridges either. Choices of drinks were very poor, you couldnt get another drink till the disposible cup was empty and the drinks stopped at 10pm. The cleaner came twice in 10 day, the pool was dirty most the time. Had to pay 7euros a day for air con. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone as it was unwelcoming and horrible.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Stayed at Turtle Beach ex Arkadianos apartments from June 7th 2012 for 1 week. Had lovely apartment at front of hotel 2 bedrooms and balcony ovdrlooking Turtle island room 310, ok basic but this is Greece and having travelled to Greece many times it was more than what we expected. The staff were so wonderful proffesional and very polite and couldnt do enough for us. We were self catering and apt had everything we needed. Pool clean and bar staff exceptional. We paid to eat in all inclusive restaurant had breakfast and dinner and choice and quality was superb, much better than most all inclusives we have experienced in Greece. Spoke to lots of Guests to get feedback and everyone was very happy with the food. Ok young people are coming home at 6am but hey they are young and on holiday as we were once so it didnt bother us found all youngsters very nice people just letting their hair down. Music from bar excellent and finishes at around midnight. The resort is fab some excellent restaurants. We had read some very harsh reviews about this hotel but we loved it. Abig thank you to management and staff for making our stay wonderful. Fould all staff very good and special thanks to Houskeeper for making us smile every day and keeping our rooms spotless.

Room Tip: If you dont enjoy great music and the sound of people enjoying themselves ask for room away from poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

No welcome at reception, made showed up after 20 mins and showed us to a room.
Pool was dirty, only cleaned it when a holiday maker started to clean in on our 3rd day.
Food was very repetitive and not hot every day. Staff in restaurant very rude & made you feel not welcome.
A I although only drinks free seem to be vodka pepsi, fizzy orange, beer, wine had to pay for stil orange at the bar bottled water,bacardi an all other spirits they had on show.
Bar only open till 10 for A I.
I went with my 13 year old daughter and if we didn't meet 3 other couples we would have been extremely bored.
Sea is lovely.

Room Tip: Well we see two rooms they were both quite large both at the front overlooking sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

This hotel i cant really make my mind up. The Hotel manager was very acomadting as when we turned up the room we was put in was very small so we asked to move she explained there was no doubles left but showed us a room with 2 singles in. we said we liked it but wanted a double bed so she got a double bed moved in to the room in replace of the singles. The food was ok if you like greek food you'll love it as it is served in a near by local greek restaurant. The bar "all inclusive" is abit of a joke though only allowed vodka, ouzo, beer or wine and soft drinks other wise you have to pay. Bar manager also very rude. They are investing alot of money into hotel though and they are bulding a new pool bar which was due to open in a few days time. If you are a group of people wanting to go out on the strip this hotel is ideal and is only 8 euros taxi ride to the strip. Families and couples i would advise to stay away as the groups of people are very noisey returning home at 5/6am and are pretty abusive when you ask them to keep the noise down.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtle Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach Hotel

Address: Agios Sostis, Agios Sostis 29092 , Greece (Formerly Arkadianos Apartments)
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Agios Sostis
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Agios Sostis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtle Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The renovated Turtle Beach Hotel & Spa with monastery style architecture is conveniently located at Arkadianos beach at Agios Sostis village a 20 minute stroll from the bustling resort of Laganas, Zante. A popular hotel with couples and families, the hotel offers stunning views across Marathonissi, Cameo island and Laganas Bay. Offering a simple, yet full range of facilities that cater well for adults and children, guests will find plenty to keep them occupied. The sandy beach (with sunbed hire) and local bars are just few meters away and the main shops and restaurants are all within 100 meters. Small boats can be hired from the beach for trips to Turtle Island. The Turtle Beach is approximately 8 km from Zakynthos Airport.Accommodation is made up of studios for 2-3 people and spacious apartments from 4 up to 6 persons. All feature a bathroom (with shower), air-conditioning, the sea view rooms are extra equipped with shower cabin & hair dryer the back view rooms have shower curtain without hair dryer(kitchenette with fridge), 24-hour hot water, telephone, plasma satellite TV sets and balcony or terrace.Cots are available free of charge (on request). Guest with walking disabilities or wheelchairs are accepted at this accommodation. All Inclusive Meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Turtle Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arkadianos Apartments Agios Sostis
Arkadianos Apartments Hotel Agios Sostis
Arkadianos Hotel
Turtle Beach Hotel Zakynthos/Agios Sostis, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.