We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An old fashion and crowded hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Aldemar Royal Olympian

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Aldemar Royal Olympian to your Saves list
Aldemar Royal Olympian
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ilia, Skafidia 271 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Skafidia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An old fashion and crowded hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

We booked to this hotel to spend a night and when we arrived we saw a big hotel with many pools that comes from 90's. When we saw the rooms also we dissapointed from the decoration and the bathrooms.the room is a good room of 3 star hotel.
Finally we asked to change the room and after we saw 2 other rooms we decide to leave from the hotel. The
reception was very kind with us and they give us 2 more options for rooms and finally they give us back
our money without any objection.
For your information we stayed only 3 hours there and we have'nt any comment about the service and the
restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    18
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
33
12
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

This resort concentrates on providing everything required for our vacation. They don't succeed in every aspect but it is obvious they try hard.
The sea has been calm only until around 10:00 am. Thereafter, the waves became annoying and would not let a 3,5 year old child enjoy it. The room was extra large and extremely bright. The noise level inside the room was close to zero despite the sea wave noise. A/C almost perfect but one hour before we left it started dropping "water concentrates" in front of the room entrance. Fantastic whether although the summer was (theoretically) over. Breakfast quality somehow lower than expected but still satisfactory. A pleasant surprise: fresh fruits and bottled water supplied every day. Mini club (children's play ground) was also a great plus for parents. Important: sexurity feeling was high. This let us enjoy our holidays even more. There are many restaurants. We only visited "Abeliona" and the taste left was "low value for money". Main pool's bar closed during the most of our vacation period. They didn't give us a satisfactory explanation but to me it was obvious that "cut cost" was behind this. We had to walk a lot only to get a bad coffee. Averall picture: "We 'll be back!"

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

This hotel is located in a wonderful location, the beach is absolutelly fantastic and the sea view superb. The personell is kind and helpful and there are many activities for the children (ours are 6 and 4 years old). The food at the main restaurant is below average, but there are other options at the other restaurants of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

This resort in Greece although poorly advertised and promoted even by its own website (!) proved to be a great choice. Excellent food at the buffets and decent quality and pricing at the restaurants. We enjoyed immaculate room cleaning in our suite and fast room service. Complaints or problems were resolved on the spot and it was obvious that hotel management was eager to make you a customer for a lifetime at any cost.
Our suite was in Atlantis complex, a group of two storey suites, 92 s. m. each built around a swimming pond with a small "island" in the middle and terrific colors of the waters and the trees. The feeling was as tropical as in Mauritius.
Hotel management should re-examine its poor communication through internet regarding the resort's image as compared to other neighbouring hotels like Costa Navarino or Grecotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

We had the impression that the hotel could have had an improved character, but within five years it has changed in minor details, e.g. free WiFi. It is noisy and impersonal, but as an overall impression the stay was satisfactory. We were a bit disappointed by th epresence aof a cleaning lady one and a half hour BEFORE our scheduled checkout, eager to see as away to preapre for the enxt customer. These things happen in hotel units of industrial size.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

The hotel is only for families who weant to put their children into an expensive .
NOISE EVERYWHERE , duting day, noon, even at night. Children who are crying even at the bar or playing at the pool during rest time. Poor food quality. no ramance at all. Avoid room 1073. even though you pay sea view, you find out that the balcony there is a high wall and only if you stand up you are able to see the sea

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Really very nice hotel, very helpful personnel, safe and relaxed environment, large and clean rooms with adequate amenities, good food with a lot of alternatives for dinner, clean sea with a beautiful, long sandy beach, excellent children’ club, and one of the best spa centers I have ever visited, and enjoyed, in Europe. The location is also perfect for a visit to the historic site of ancient Olympia.
I fully recommend this hotel for relaxed vacations for families and couples.
I dont recommend this hotel for people who want an active nightlife, there is not much to do at night.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aldemar Royal Olympian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldemar Royal Olympian

Address: Ilia, Skafidia 271 00, Greece
Location: Greece > West Greece > Elis Region > Skafidia
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Skafidia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Aldemar Royal Olympian 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Aldemar Royal Olympian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldemar Royal Olympian Hotel Skafidia
Aldemar Royal Olympian Skafidia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aldemar Royal Olympian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.