We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY RELAXING, GOOD VALUE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Adelais

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Adelais to your Saves list
Hotel Adelais
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tavronitis, Crete 730 06, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tavronitis
Stockport, CHESHIRE
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“VERY RELAXING, GOOD VALUE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed for two weeks start of October 2012, nice room basic but very clean. Pool area was nice no shortages of Sunbed and never over busy, so peaceful. Food was lovely, it is not aut cuisine, but we did not pay 5 star prices, just good home made greek dishes, you certainly would not go hungry. The local beer and wine that is served is very nice, I have been all inclusive to other places and paid a lot more, and you could not even drink what they served it was so nasty. Staff friendly especially the lovely receptionist and Stalios who serves behind the bar. Only thing we were disappointed with is location the beach a 10 minute stroll, is shabby and unused and the villiage of Tavarontis extremely quiet, just a couple of bars (for locals) and a few small shops. However a regular bus service takes you to Plantanias & Aghia Marina, which has great beaches and lots of shops and restaurants. We would return.

Room Tip: we were above the bar I think room 606, the bar is never open very late so no problems with noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    63
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
28
48
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I would love to come back, the hotel was nice the room was clean and the views from my room was amazing.

The food was really good. Feel sorry for the people working there as they work all day till late!

Staff was really polite the recepcionist was really nice as we went to see her a few times about the car hire, within 5 minutes she had everything sorted and we cant fault the price off 99 euros for 4 days rent.

We've been down to Malia one morning and we loved in there as looks a bit more alive than the hotel area.

The guy working in the bar was really nice and came to talk to me few times and made me feel really good.

I cant fault the Britsh to complain about the east europeans there as I've seen quiet a few of them there really rude with the staff, bein polite doesnt hurt anyone at all.

The only thing I wasnt so happy about it was the pool with the little tiles all over, the pool floor was covered in it. Sorry guys need to work on that!

I may comeback soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey,UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We, a couple, stayed at Hotel Adelais 2 weeks mid September. After reading mixed reviews about the hotel we were pleasantly surprised how NICE it was. Our room was spacious and clean with a balcony overlooking the pool at the front of the hotel as well as seaviews & countryside. All appliances were in working order (Mini fridge, hairdryer, aircon) and furniture in good condition.

Lovely pool and garden, WELL MAINTAINED with plenty of sunbeds and seating around the bar and patio area. We particularly liked the pool area at the front, it's wonderfully quiet and you'll get a light breeze from the sea.

The restaurant area (inside and out) was constantly cleaned and dishes were cleared from tables very quickly. The food was in my opinion OUTSTANDING - prepared fresh daily with local ingredients, rustic greek dishes that were extremely tasty and I don't think a day went by where i didn't go back for seconds!
Overall the bar/drinks were OK. They offer LOCAL spirits, beer, wine and soft drinks. Bit disappointed at first that they couldn't make a G&T (as no tonic water), but then I just bought my own tonic from the local shops.
Hotel staff was very warm & friendly and always on hand to help with absolutely anything, nothing seemed too much trouble.

As many have already said, this hotel is in a VERY QUIET location, surrounded by fields with goats & sheep. The local village of Tavronitis has a few basic shops and a couple of Tavernas.

My only critizism would be that there were A LOT of eastern european/russians staying at the hotel, who are (sorry to say this...) very rude and unpleasant. It was more noticeable in the first week of our stay but seemed to even out in the 2nd half.

All in all - we loved our stay at Hotel Adelais and would come again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the front pool (hotel entrance) have great views and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Four adults and two children age 3 and 5 stayed for 2 weeks in August for £3700. Last minute holiday booked through Olympic Holidays who were about £500 cheaper than travelrepublic, directline and other tour operators for exactly the same holiday.
We liked:
-short trip from airport to hotel (25 minutes).
-rooms - basic but clean - air con worked fine.
-pools - 2 decent size pools and kiddies pool
-food - reasonable choice, good salads, nice puddings, breakfast ok, Greek choices
-staff - friendly and helpful
-adequate seating around bar and pools
We did not like:
-broken/missing tiles in 2 pools. Dangerous cracked edging tiles in kiddies pool - inexcusable! I complained but was told that the hotel had paid for hospital treatment for one child who cut himself earlier in the year.
-bar ran out of soft drinks on several occasions.
-inadequate play activity for children - only swings and small slide.
-restrictive bar opening times and silly rules - collect one short per person.
-no suitable sandy beach in walking distance.
Had enjoyable trips to :
Water park near Platanias - great slides.
Falasarna beach - avoid main beach and walk north - better sheltered beaches and coves.
Elafonissi - lovely shallow beach with pink sand and small island. Best on a calm day.
Chania - also known as Hania - good restaurants, museums etc. Lovely old town.
Had an enjoyable time - hotel probably rated 3.5 rather than 4.0 - but it did represent good value for money in spite of one or two shortcomings.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

stayed at this hotel 6th october for a week.its rooms are really clean for a 3 star hotel.the soft drinks such as sprite,coke is watered down.food was just ok.wasnt much to do but went for a quiet hol theres buses running to chania every 20mins.beach is about a 5 minute walk very pebbly but the sea is lovely once you get in.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed here for 2 weeks at the end of September/beginning of October. The weather was glorious!
The room I was given originally was not very nice, but they moved me the next day to a lovely room with a sea view. The staff were all friendly, some of them working at least 12 hours a day but still having a smile for you. Food was very tasty,Greek dishes every night and fresh salad. The bar was open 10.30-10.30, with only beer, wine and soft drinks between 1.30-2.30(lunch) and 7-9(dinner). This was fine for me, as I wouldn't want to drink sprirts all day anyway! (although there were a few there that would!!) I would agree with a previous comment that it would be better to have Greek music on instead of some of the rubbish that was played!
The area itself was very quiet but there are some lovely walks around and it's easy enough to hop on a local bus and discover somewhere new. I loved the fact we were in the countryside with the noises of the animals, and the locals going about their business - felt like real Greece, none of the tourist traps of more developed areas. The beach is pebbly, but as I don't like to spend my holiday lying down on the beach or by the pool it wasn't a problem for me. You can walk along the beach about 4kms to the lovely little fishing village of Kolymbari with some great tavernas and a Monastery.
I would say that please think carefully about the fact that it is a quiet, secluded hotel - if you like making lots of noise, drinking all day, loud music, and you would enjoy somewhere like Benidorm, then this is not the place for you. You won't enjoy it and you'll end up annoying people that are trying to have a relaxing break.
So in conclusion, a lovely little quiet hotel with nice staff, clean rooms, good food and plenty within walking distance or a short bus ride away to keep you busy. I would definitely return!

Room Tip: The rooms over the bar can get quite noisy, depending on the other guests!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Spent a great week at the adelias hotel . Staff very friendly but seem to have to work endless hours. The rooms were cleaned daily with clean towels. The air conditioning was first class. The food was acceptable with enough to keep you interested, but please understand it is traditional Greek food. As I am not much of a drinker, I can't really comment on the spirits, but the local beer is really good. The pool is kept clean but is a bit chilly until you get used to it. The local area is a bit quiet and I would recommend a car.

Planatias is about 5 km away which is quite lively. There were lots of different nationalities in the hotel, but everyone got a long fine. If you are looking for a clean hotel and a quiet holiday in a friendly area, I would really recommend it. I will return next year, as we have a lovely relaxing holiday.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Adelais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adelais

Address: Tavronitis, Crete 730 06, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Tavronitis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tavronitis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Adelais 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Adelais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Adelais Chania/Tavronitis, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Adelais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.