We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the place, best for able bodied.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rethymnon Mare

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rethymnon Mare to your Saves list
Hotel Rethymnon Mare
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Skaleta, Skaleta, Crete 74100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Skaleta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Loved the place, best for able bodied.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I can't fault this hotel, except for the amount of steep steps, however it was really beautiful and the rooms were clean . We had a room facing the pool & it was so nice to wake up to, the guy who took our bags was so helpful we arrived late & he had food ready & waiting for us. The food did not really cater for my English taste , more for German, Greek & French however my partner loved it,as he lived in Greece most of his life, so from his point of view it was excellent. We went all inclusive in August 2008, the beach nearby was lovely & the water was warm (plus point for me). The entertainment was not great so we went for walks and entertained ourselves most evenings. This hotel would is excellent for families and couples and able bodied people who want peace & quiet. If you have young children however I do not know how you would manage a buggy or toddlers the steps. The man in the little shop was so nice & the taxi drivers so good. Would go back, however in 2008 the prices were ok and not within my budget now.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    76
    33
    14
    8
See reviews for
99
64
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

This has been our favourite family holiday to date, our children (12 and 10 years) had a great time and enjoyed the relaxed, safe environment with suitable activities that they could enjoy with no pressure.

Our son was poorly soon after we arrived (nothing to do with the resort) and within half an hour of reporting this to the hotel reception we were in a taxi on our way to the 24 hour medical centre. As a result we were able to identify the problem and get him on the the mend.

We loved the food and availability of it, if you didn't make breakfast or didn't feel like using the restaurant for lunch you could eat at either of the pool bars.

One of the many highlights of the fortnight was watching the sunset with cocktails before going to the restaurant for our evening meal.

We had a fabulous time and met and made friends for life who also found Hotel Rethymnon Mare ticked all the boxes for a fabulous family holiday!!!!

Room Tip: Ours was a family apartment with all 4 of us sharing a room. This wouldn't of been our first ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

We stayed at this hotel and arrived a day late due to our flight being delayed. Our room was not ready when we got there and had to sit in reception for half hour whilst they got it ready. Once we found our room which was a trek up lots of stairs and hills there was no towels in our room so had to track the maid down to get some. I felt that the room itself was very basic and not in keeping with the 4* rating and our garden view was a dried up field. Overall we had a good time the bars were nice and the food was good and there was entertainment for those who wanted it. Bus tickets are sold in the little shop into rethymnon which I would recommend doing. Also should you wish to hire a car the reception will sort it out for you. It did appear like we were the only Brits there. If you have a disability or dislike stairs and hills then this hotel is not for you. Therefore apart from the room being below standard I had a nice time. Also tipping the staff seems to help you get served better.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

We enjoyed our week's stay here, although it had an end-of-season feel about it and some of the advertised activities weren't happening. The food was wonderful and the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the animation team led what activities there were with enthusiasm and charm. The gardens are beautifully floral.
The main difference from the Olympic brochure was that it was in no way as flat as the pictures showed - 123 steps from reception to our room, which was not on the highest level. Admittedly there were a few small lifts to bypass some of the steps, and a steep road without steps, but if I were someone with walking difficulty I'd have had trouble.
Our 'garden view' room looked out on a wall behind which was a piece of scrubland with goats and rubbish, the bed was the firmest I've ever slept on and the airconditioning fought a losing battle with the heat generated by the fridge. But the room was clean and the fridge came in handy for storing water and drinks. We were fascinated by the way the geckos were able to disappear into the smallest gap, e.g. into our bathroom alarm switch.
We also were amused by one of the many tiny cats playing rather timidly with the most enormous caterpillar I have ever seen.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

I decided to buy a last minute holiday and went with my sister and friends, we are around the age of 30. The room where we stayed wasn't the best as didn't have modern furniture but it was nice and clean, my bedroom was close to the restaurant and reception, but the hotel is huge so you will always be far from somewhere like from the pool or annimation team, or the beach or the other pool, so people don't see those things and complain for nothing. We went for the all inclusive deal, the food was very nice, a bit of everything for every taste, plenty of options. The drinks were ok, they are local I guess and just taste like every all inclusive holiday that you go to, people still complain about those things but they should know that! The annimation team were cool, was a guy with a curly hair with a very funny accent, I used to go around the pool and do the exercises sometimes or used to just be around to listen to his funny accent (I am brazilian and have an accent too) lol but his accent was the best haha. In general the staff were great, the manager was great, the staff in the restaurant, reception staff, bar staff always smilling and happy to help, which we don't normally get in a all inclusive holiday deal, in a way they made our holidays, also there was a man every monday, wednesday and friday playing the piano e singing, it was fabulous, very kind and friendly people, just loved. The hotel was kind of in the middle of nowhere but the hotel had everything you needed, but if you go to somewhere like Crete which is an amazing island, it's worth to rent a car and go around other beaches. I would defo go back to this hotel. It was hard to say good bye, some nice people that probably will never see again. It's all good, all life experience. I know everyone have different rooms, different holidays in different times of the year but some people were born to complain, they are used to not having a life and find any single thing to whinge about it, so they will complain anywhere they are about anything, it doesn't matter how perfect everything is. Don't let any negative reviews change your mind about this place. Have a great holiday anywhere you go to anyway :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room next to the restaurant, you will be located in the middle of the hotel which is the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We've just come back from a 2 week stay at the Rethymnon Mare and having booked only 2 weeks before travelling were delighted with our choice.

We have two young children who loved their stay and were more than happy with the food and facilities. There is also a chinese restaurant but we didnt feel the need to use it as the food was varied at the main restuarant. (if you are looking for english food then there are chips etc everyday and occasionally bacon and sausages) we like trying different dishes so the variety suited all of us including our kids.

The all inclusive was excellent although it closes at 11pm, although to be fair with 2 kids that was late enough anyway for our needs.

Two very clean pools one which was quiet for the more leisurely clients and the pool at the top of the hotel which was where all the entertainment took place. Entertainment was avilable including a Kids club for younger children but most of the entertainment was aimed at the over 14's and adults but our kids were happy enough just playing in the pool. The entertainment staff do work hard and we enjoyed joining in the daytime activities when we felt the urge to do so...the evening entertainment was different!!! but you dont go on holiday to see what you can see on the TV at home do you?

Nikos in the lobby bar deserves a special mention for his quality cocktails and for his well kept and organised bar along with his friendly chat and attitude. Nikos in the Hotel restaurant also desrves a mention for his friendlly approach to customers and he made our stay very pleasent.

Rethymnon itself was a bus journey away for 1 euro 60 cents for anyone over the age of 7, so 6 and under go free with tickets purchased from the hotel mini market.

There are quite a few steps upto the pool bar area but thats simply a consequence of the Hotel being built on a hillside. Our kids managed to negotiate the steps easily and there was a road at the side of the hotel for those who wished to avoid the steps and for wheelchair access.

The beach at Skaleta isnt very wide but there are other beaches within travelling distance if thats what you are looking for.

We had a lovely time and met some very nice people from all nationalities.

Room Tip: Our allocated room was just right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We arrived at 4.30am to be faced with an uphill (and I mean uphill!) walk to our room. Then steps up to our family room............ the door was opened and in front of us........... more steps, but down, this time.
The reception we got, at such an unearthly hour, was good, but no offer of refreshment. Our cases were taken to our room for us (thank goodness!). The accommodation was a bathroom, down steps to a room containing wardrobes, fridge, TV and 2 single beds. Through the sliding doors to a room with king sized bed, TV and drawers. Through sliding glass doors to good sized balcony which overlooked the pool, hotel and sea. The bed linen was changed every 2/3 days, the towels every 2 days if you needed them. The room was tidied and beds made every day (our cleaner had to work round 18 year old with typical teenage sleeping patterns, but still did our room every day) The downsides? With older teenage children, having to walk through their room to get to the bathroom was not ideal, nor was the proximity of our room to them! Also, only 2 sockets (not counting the bathroom) so we had to charge gadgets in shifts. The power (and AC) doesn't remain on when the key is taken from the room.
The site. A mentioned, it is on a very steep hill, with steps and slopes to contend with. There are some lifts for those who find the walking challenging, but I'd recommend that you highlight any dificulties you may have with walking when you book so that you are accommodated in a less taxing area. There is space, paths and plants are well looked after. It is clean and well arranged. There are 2 main pools (in addition to a small one reserved for just a select few rooms) and plenty of sun loungers. Both pools have a bar nearby that provide a wide range of drinks and snack foods. The beach is a short walk (yes, downhill) under the main road and is sandy with some areas of pebbles and rocks, the sea is warm and not aggressive! The water is clear, so you can see the fish and the odd patches of seaweed. There is a member of staff to ensure that you receive water melon and drinks, FoC to all-inclusive visitors.
Food. The restaurant is always buffet style, with a large selection of foods, both local and international, for every meal. Always things that even the most fussy will try, and also some for adventurous eaters. You also serve yourself with beer (local, like a pleasant lager), wine, soft and hot drinks as well as water and juice. A wide selection, as much as you want. You are shown to your table and can then stay for as long and as much as you want. The staff will remove your plates as soon as you finish each plate - very efficient. There is a Chinese restaurant that we didn't try (previous reviews) but those we spoke to said that there were some good dishes but others were salty.
Drink. There are 2 bars, one is the upper pool bar, the other is just for the evenings. Drinks, ranging from soft, beers, wines and a vast array of cocktails, are free until 11.00pm. After that, the evening bar remains open until 1.00am, but you do have to pay - and the prices are high. The Head Barman, Nikos, is great. Very helpful, friendly and gets to know your needs quickly. He will also, sometimes, offer goodnight 'shots' FoC. Beware - it's very easy to have just a bit (?) too much! There is a disco on Sunday and Tuesday evenings from 11.00pm - 2.00am and they seemed quite popular.
The Animation team were also great. They offer a wide range of activities by the upper pool, starting with morning exercises (yoga type), water aerobics, darts, archery, water polo, volleyball........ BUT you never feel pressured into doing any of it if you don't want to. We enjoyed watching others doing the exercises! The music, all day starting at 10.00am (apart from lunch break) every day (but for Sundays) is ok, a mixture, but not unpleasant. The pool is large, clean and a pleasant temperature, and floats are left by previous visitors so you can chill on water or by it.
There is a shop (good for bottled water which is advised although not essential) and postcards as well as nic-naks, souvenirs, biscuits, chocolate and beach/pool stuff at a very reaonable price. They also post your cards for you! Also a jewellery shop, some nice stuff. As in all shops, watch out if the price isn't visible..............
There is pool (2 Euros), table tennis, tennis and some computer games. WiFi everywhere, but some upper rooms don't easily connect. Beach/pool towels are hired and can be changed every 2 days if you wish.
The reception team are wonderful, just as well as our rep (Olympic holidays) never came when he was supposed to, so we booked our trips through the hotel. For 5 Euros you get a packed lunch, which is ok, and reasonable value for the money. Even fussy daughter had enough to eat and drink.
All in all, I ate far too much, but the exercise of slopes and steps meant that I have gained no weight and feel fitter now I'm back! I wouldn't hesitate to return, but with a 16 year old and 18 year old, a family room isn't a good choice and I wouldn't do it again.
Good value for money and great staff make the holiday!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rethymnon Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rethymnon Mare

Address: Skaleta, Skaleta, Crete 74100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Skaleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Skaleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rethymnon Mare 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Rethymnon Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rethymnon Mare Hotel
Mare Hotel Rethymnon
Rethymnon Hotel Mare
Hotel Rethymnon Mare Crete/Skaleta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rethymnon Mare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.