We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A village you will never forget” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vamos Traditional Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vamos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vamos Traditional Village
Save
You added Vamos Traditional Village to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Chania, Vamos, Apokoronas, Crete 73008, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Vamos B&B and Inns
Paris, France
1 review
“A village you will never forget”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This little village some kilometers away from Chania, is charming, calm and the inhabitant are truly welcoming. Crete is a wonderful mediterranean island and Vamos is the perfect choice to explore the East half of the Island. The Vamos Traditional Village's staff is outstanding, they will provide you with all information you need, visit ideas, smart suggestion... I have been in many many parts of the world both for work and holydays, and I must say that Crete is the place I love the best.

Room Tip: Millopetras houses 1 and 2 are in fact one house splitted in two. baldy splitted, you will ear and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    33
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
40
79
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed one week in Vamos and I have to say that this place met our expectations. The apartment was really nice, very modern and clean. We specified to the staff that we needed a good internet connection, and they guaranteed us a fast and reliable wireless (very useful because our phones were in roaming as we are not greek). Overall a very good impression, well organised and clean. I would definitely come back there...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I recently contacted this agency as I was looking for an apartment around Vamos. Although I gave them a really short notice (and it was mid August!) they found me the perfect place. The staff was absolutely amazing: they spent time on the phone giving me live directions to get there, gave nice suggestions to visit the area, and also gave two beach umbrellas (for free) when we had to visit a beach with no services. My friends and I really appreciated their attitude. The house we rented was the best ever, clean and new. The area is nice and it is worth a visit. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was our first time in Crete and we wanted a place large enough for seven people, but also very comfortable and private. Indeed, we couldn’t have found a better place than Zonera Villas. We rented the villa on the back, conveniently situated outside the nice small village of Vrisses and perfectly set in the beautiful Cretan landscape. It is the perfect place to relax and use it as your base to explore the Hania prefecture. Gorgeous stone villa with a stunning huge covered deck made of wood overlooking the pretty private pool. All set in a lovely garden. The layout of the house is very good, it’s fully equipped and there are bikes, deck chairs a stone oven and a BBQ to make your stay more fun. You feel really secluded and all you can hear is the sound of nature, but at the same you’re close to all the modern facilities. However the myth of Crete does not only consist of the beautiful scenery, the amazing beaches and the delicious food, but also of the Cretan people. And here is where Nikos and Helena, the owners, come in. Without a doubt, the most warm and hospitable owners I’ve ever come across with. Finding as a welcome offer melon, watermelon, olive oil, eggs and fresh vegetables from their garden is not something you see everyday. Also olive oil, wine and “raki” were at our disposal anytime. And they even threw a BBQ for us! These are not just people that rent you a villa, but people that you can call friends. Such was their generosity that our stay was far beyond our expectations. Not only do we recommend the place for an unmatched holiday experience, but we will definitely come back for more!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

E & C from Victoria, Australia
We had a truly wonderful 12 days in Vamos, staying at a very cute 2 level house that was recommended to us by the friendly staff at Vamos Traditional Village. This recommendation was something we asked for and the reason was simple: we were looking for a place that was in an old village and in walking distance to the coffee house, the bakery and shops and traditional Cretan restaurants.
The staff were just wonderful and after 3 emails we were sure that the recommendation was exactly what we wanted. And it was, completely. Giasemi 1 villa has a traditionally furnished dining room with fire stove and fully equipped kitchenette corner and a separate bedroom with two single beds, a bathroom with bathtub, garden under blooming tree, wooden steps leading up to a the second level: a sitting area with tv, a nice veranda with White Mountain view, and another separate bedroom with a double bed and A/C.
We visited for 12 nights in July/August and loved spending the evenings on the veranda sipping some local wine and then going to one of the restaurants for fabulous Cretan food. The days we spent on day trips to various fabulous beaches, exploring Chania and its historic Ventian harbour precinct, and country walks. Evenings we came back to a clean house, a drink and then a visit to one of the cafes or restaurants.
DO make morning and/or afternoon coffee in the village square a routine, this is a great way to chat with the locals, and learn about what is going on. Apart from that the coffee, raki, beer, greek salads, meatballs and more and fantastic!
This house had a small kitchen, and we did cook some some simple meals on two evenings after hectic days at the beach, walking and too much coffee in the square. This was a great option, and made going out the next evening even more attractive!
The staff provided us with a small guidebook, for walks, a map of the village, recommendations for eating out and much more friendly advice. All in all we could not have been more happy, a lovely house, so much to do, great food and nature. And so many friendly people wherever we went. We just loved it! Not to forget that Crete is incredible value for money.
For us, coming from Australia and wanting to get to know Crete and explore its history and people this was just perfect. Would we come again to rent a Vamos Villa? Absolutely!

Room Tip: We looked at the other houses, and they all seem very pretty. Our key to loving the house we rented...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The staff was very helpfull, friendly, honest and flexible. The atmosphere of the appartment is really authentic, not everything is modern like a resort, but that is just the reason why you should go to Fabrica. The village and the surroundings are great!

The fridge worked a little bit too well: it froze pretty much everything.

Room Tip: Choose number 3 (three)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Yerushalayim, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The location of the village, the peace and quiet, the services available in the village all go to make this a highly enjoyable place to stay.

The staff running the property were very patient, plesant and helpful.

HIghly recommended

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vamos Traditional Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vamos Traditional Village

Address: Chania, Vamos, Apokoronas, Crete 73008, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Vamos
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Vamos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vamos Traditional Village 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you would like to live in a stone and wood Greek village cottage, taste natural honey and virgin olive oil, walk on village paths and in the local countryside, smell the flowers in blooming gardens enjoy our local food and enjoy the sun and sea in nearby beaches, then you will be in Vamos at the right place! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vamos Traditional Village Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vamos Traditional Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.