We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vamos Traditional Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vamos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vamos Traditional Village
Save
You added Vamos Traditional Village to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Chania, Vamos, Apokoronas, Crete 73008, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Vamos B&B and Inns
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We were at Douliana in the Manolis house in octobre 2012. It's such a wonderful place. Everything is perfect there... The region is just great! So green and calm... We loved the sea down at Almyrida. The village Vamos is such a nice place to be and to buy things... in octobre you could believe that you're the only tourist there :-)

Our cottage was very nice. The owner (Mr. Manolis) is a real nice bloke. We hat our own chickens for eggs ;-). The house was clean and well furnished.

It was our first stay in crete! We travelled around by daytrips from Douliana. But as much as we have seen of the island... the vamos region is the nicest place to stay! We'll come back to that wonderful place for sure!

Room Tip: book your cottage at the vamos traditional village! Worth every cent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    33
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
40
79
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at Vamos Traditional Village in September of 2012. It was our first time to Greece and our first stop was the beautiful Island of Crete and the beautiful Vamos Village. Our cottage was by far one of the most special places we have ever stayed at. Well appointed, great view, wonderful little private patio, pool just steps away, fully equipped kitchen complete with complimentary "Ouzo" (Greece's famous aniseed-flavoured liquor). It was clean, quiet and so very comfortable. We will go back again, hopefully soon :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in Helianthos 1 in the pretty village of Douliana for 6 nights in September. This is a lovely 2 storey house, tons of room for a couple. The house has been modernised, but not lost its character. It is one of four clustered around a beautiful pool. The pool is shared but mostly we had it to ourselves (outside of school holidays). George, Chrystal and Klio were very helpful at the agency. Our plane was delayed, but George and Christina (owner) didn't complain about our arrival in Vamos around midnight. We enjoyed the cooking class in Vamos. We left an item by mistake at the house, and the staff very helpfully posted it to us later.
Strongly recommended if you're looking for a peaceful Mediterranean holiday in a "local", interesting area.

Room Tip: Helanthos 1 in Douliana is super, but other houses look good also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed for three days in Douliana at the end of September. The village is delightful with a wonderful Taverna open in the evenings. The two storey house was perfect with a sunny and private courtyard and a beautiful pool shared with two other houses. The views were fabulous. The staff at Vamos were extremely helpful and obliging and we wished we had been able to stay longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

For a fortnight in Sept. 2012 my wife and me had a wonderful time in the "Aggélamos 1". OK, the weather was super, but that is not enough to make a perfect holiday: The traditional and modern house was charming, clean and quiet, the breakfast-and-dinner-view from the balcony over Old Vamos simply great, and the every-day-service was excellent. We really fell in love with that lovely village and countryside, the marvellous beaches, the friendlyness of the people and, last not least the delicious kitchen. (Special Tip: Cooking course with Mrs. Koula!) Thanks, we come back again.

Room Tip: For a couple, Aggélamos 1 is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed for one week in Douliana.We rented a house from Vamos Village.The service from
Vamos Village was excellent,friendly and informative.The house was beautifully presented and we
were able to relax and access nearby Tavernas,beaches and walks.We were there at the end of September/early October.Temperatures were comfortable but still hot.Not too many other
tourists but everything still functioning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

we spent 5 days in this wondeful gem location and cant express how wonderful it was-the houses are comfortable and located in a wonderful setting and the villages surrounding the place are wonderful as well

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vamos Traditional Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vamos Traditional Village

Address: Chania, Vamos, Apokoronas, Crete 73008, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Vamos
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Vamos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vamos Traditional Village 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you would like to live in a stone and wood Greek village cottage, taste natural honey and virgin olive oil, walk on village paths and in the local countryside, smell the flowers in blooming gardens enjoy our local food and enjoy the sun and sea in nearby beaches, then you will be in Vamos at the right place! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vamos Traditional Village Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vamos Traditional Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.