We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Malthouse No 4

Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Kitchen
Family Bathroom
Ground Floor Beams
Batheaston
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mjdeshma
arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

No surprises here. Everything we expected was available. Fully furnished and equipped, this place is a great accomodation for families. Very scenic location, close to Bath. Fully equipped kitchen (we used it to prepare 1 meal a day). A large grocery store called morrissons is 5 mins away by car. The view from the top floor is breathtaking. There is a walkway next to the river which is also a hidden gem in this part of the country. very comfortable beds and lots of room in this cottage (especialy after paying the same price and staying in london for 4 days, this cottage felt like a big upgrade). Very safe location as well. Wi-Fi & Cell Phone coverage quality is POOR and unreliable.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Nipanddip
Sutton Surrey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Undoubtably the best cottage we've stayed in and we've stayed in a few! All the other reviews are spot on. Well located, tastefully decorated, clean, and fully functioning are all we ever expect but this had that little touch of class that not many cottages have. Contemporary but full of character too. Avon river just outside the back window, cockerel wake up call, views of the Avon valley and close enough to Bath, (appx 5 bus stops into the centre). The lovely host even supplies guests with a complimentary bottle of wine, biscuits, bread, butter, milk, tea, coffee and sugar! Well done Terri and David!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Erisina
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
“A lovely cosy-but-modern cottage wonderfully close to Bath.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We really enjoyed staying at The Malthouse no 4. It was a comfortable and welcoming place to be. Having gone there on holiday from our current home in Brazil, we had quite a few visitors while staying there and everyone remarked how lovely it was.

Only way it could have been better was if the midway clean (after a week) was more than just a bedding change.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The sofas, bath, having a dishwasher, countryside and proximity to Bath!
Liked least: We had some issues with the internet at a time when it was essential.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
SeasonedT...
Wirral England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Break!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Having booked 5 star self catering properties all over the British Isles during early December for the last 20 years, I have become something of an expert! I travel all over the world in 5 star hotels and have very discerning taste.I expect excellence on every level and the Malthouse did not disappoint. I booked this property for my husband and I and my sister and her husband for 4 nights on the run up to Christmas.
Before arriving, I corresponded with Terri several times and found her to be warm, accommodating and friendly, always a bonus when you don't know the area terribly well. The property is delightful and furnished to a high standard, we even enjoyed the benefit of a Christmas tree! It is warm and cosy, but roomy enough not to get under each others feet. Parking was a welcome bonus and being secure, very reassuring although I cannot imagine it is necessary! Location is excellent with a bus stop into the city literally a stone's throw away and views from the bedrooms are quite lovely The cottage is fairly well equipped although as an enthusiastic cook, I missed some of the additional dishes and dining paraphernalia that I would have liked, probably not a consideration most would think about, but I am trying to be both fair and honest. Some extra casserole type dishes would have been useful although if you are not planning anything elaborate, the pots and pans provided are adequate. We had only one problem during our stay and that was with the heating system but David was round almost immediately, during the evening, to fix the problem and provide back up heating in case it went wrong again, very impressed with this!! The Malthouse is a lovely property and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay; wouldn't hesitate to book again if we need somewhere to stay near Bath!!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Almost everything
Liked least: Lack of cooking utensils
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Dave C
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect cottage in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed in the malt house for NYE for three nights. The cottages are beautifully kept and looked after, and has been decorated perfectly. The location is great, with only being a few miles from bath city centre. Would recommend for anyone looking for a get away.

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
SadBanjo
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“traditional charm with contemporary appeal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed for a week at Malthouse No.4 with my partner and child and it provided an ideal base for us to explore Bath, Somerset and Wiltshire.

The Malthouse has a nice combination of traditional charm and contemporary fittings, so provided home comfort and decent facilities alongside some nice decorative touches.

Whenever contacted during our stay, the owner David was extremely helpful.

The location is interesting in that despite being off a busy main road, it's surprisingly quiet (the property has countryside views at the back).

It's ideally located for driving into Bath, and within 10 minutes walk there are some decent local shops, pubs and newsagents.

Nearby Northend is a pretty village off Batheaston that's also worth investigating.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Angela T
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay anywhere else!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We've stayed at the Malthouse for a long weekend for the last 3 years (staying in No. 2 & No. 3 previously), & did not hesitate in booking No. 4 for our visit this October. Once again we were delighted with the accomodation. The decor is superb, well thought out & very clean. There is secure parking for the car & a place to sit out when the weather is good.
OK it's not in the middle of Bath, but for the price & excellent accomodation we definitely wouldn't stay elsewhere.
I regularly use the very convenient bus stop near the cottage & very regular bus service which gets you right into the centre of Bath, this from a person who does not "do" buses normally!
We always eat at the Bathampton Mill which is close by.
The booking process is very easy, & Terri & David are always contactable if there are any queries.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Decor & cleanliness
Liked least: Liked everything!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$219
/
Night
Week
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
David B
44 0117 9670167
Speaks English
Listed since : Feb 2009
Response Rate: 95 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 37 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing