We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good but could be a little better.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Old Mill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Old Mill Hotel to your Saves list
Old Mill Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Toll Bridge Road, Batheaston, Bath BA1 7DE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batheaston
Horsham, West Sussex ,UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pretty good but could be a little better.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We booked a Double room at the Old Mill a week before staying and got a double room including breakfast for £70 for the one night. We got a little lost finding our way to Batheaston as we had not visited Bath before, but the very firendly lady from reception guided us over the phone to the Hotel and when we got to the Hotel she greeted us very cheerily and we had a good long chat with her. I couldn't help noticing the duck tape repair made to her chair though! The room was good overall, but I was silly enough not to ask for extra sheets or duvet at the reception as there was only a thin blanket and sheet on the bed which is fine for summer but not for February. The heating was fine. The bathroom was very well decorated with expensive looking tiles and sink and was good quality. Our evening meal was very good, the best part of the stay. I had a delicious Risotto, the best I've had for a long time and my partner had the same. Although we had to wait a while for the food (because there was a big table of 15 eating as well), it was worth the wait. also, one thing, why is the bed shoved right next to a wardrobe on one side so there is no bedside table or light on the one side? So overall, it was a good stay, but there are quite a few little niggles that need sorting out.

Room Tip: Ask for more blankets in winter!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    173
    137
    129
    143
See reviews for
101
390
19
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is a beautifully situated hotel just outside Bath. It really has one of the loveliest settings you could hope to find and we had a real spring in our step when we arrived at seven pm on the Friday night. After negotiating a rather crowded car park we were greeted by cheery lady on reception who made us feel very welcome.

Unfortunately, it was pretty much all downhill from there. The family room we were given was rather small and dingy with an even dingier chocolate brown bathroom. It wasn't very clean - whilst looking for a plug for the reading lamp, I found a packet of biscuits crumbled behind the bedside table, embedded in some well established cobwebs.

There was no room in the hotel restaurant until 8.30pm so with a starving 10yr old to feed we had to go elsewhere for dinner. Some people might find this a bit of a bore but it suited us fine.

The real trouble began when we tried to get some sleep. I think it's fair to say we were woken pretty much on the hour, every hour through the night. The rooms have paper thin walls and little or no soundproofing, so any activity in the corridor or in the adjacent rooms felt deafening. We were also woken by pretty much everyone who left the hotel and most annoyingly by an RAC truck in the forecourt at 2am. The staff did their best to stop people from making too much noise as they left (there were loads of notices asking people to be considerate), but actually the leaving guests weren't even making that much noise - it's just that they might as well have been in the room with us.

This hotel needs a bit of a refurb - fewer, bigger rooms and some decent soundproofing. It has a bit of a neglected feel about it - dusty and unloved. And although the menu claims that all breakfasts are cooked to order - believe me they aren't.

We had such a lousy night that we checked out on the Saturday morning and escaped to the Castle and Ball In Marlborough. A really nice, quiet hotel with clean well sized rooms and quite a lot cheaper than the Old Mill.

Some time after leaving Bath we discovered that our car had been pranged in the overcrowded car park at the Old Mill. A fitting end to a pretty negative experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Well what can be said about the Old Mill.. HHHMMM well to start with the host Gary a man of very few words and none of them said in a particularly friendly manner was hardly endearing. The Bar and restaurant kept in near darkness in the afternoon . Upon our arrival we struggled to park even though it was late on a Sunday afternoon, our room was extremely hot and stuffy when we got in and just seemed to lack any character at all. We had to ask reception if it was known that the sink basin rocked and then went down again to ask how the whirl pool bath worked only to be told it didn't. That evening we decided to eat in the restaurant and had to once more go down to reception to find a menu we choose separate things from what was in the end a rather lack lustre menu. I had Pork escalope in bread crumbs on a bed of spaghetti in a tomatoes sauce, this was an obviously a mistake as that afternoon we had seen the chief in the bar ( an eastern European gentleman ) who when asked about the menu shrugged when asked what he would recommend from the "Italian" menu he told us lamb shank ??(My partner did have the Shank ) when I said I was going to have the pork he curled his lip and shrugged and said that is OK too. We had a starter but for the life of me I cannot or perhaps will not remember what it was, but then the mains arrived the pork was barely luke warm and the tomato sauce was watery to say the least and not presented particularly well. Not good. The shank however well the waiter and then the proprietor (Gary) did not bat an eye lid when we asked for a steak knife to cut it and later when he saw myself trying to cut it away from the bone for my partner hhhmmm, desserts ?? We where beyond wanting to try by then. The most my partner could say for the Shank was it had a nice gravy.

Needless to say the following night we ate out. Finding numerous tiny pubs and cafes which where so much better than the Old Mill.

Upon departure the bad feeling about the Mill did not end. I do not think I have ever been followed out to the car as I packed our suitcases and bags and finally when we settled our bill and went to leave, where we wished a safe journey or a come again?, oh dear me no, not even a good bye as Gary returned to his newspaper.
Oh and by the way Gary psuhing to single beds together is not a double it would of been better if there was not a ridge up the middle.



The area of Batheaston and Bathford and Bath in general have so much to be offered but not from the back ground of the The Old Mill Hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This hotel has a great location, & lots of potential but is lacking in many areas.
Check in was fine, although the staff member had his coat on ( presumably he was cold). The reception area was untidy & unwelcoming- some chairs had 'duck tape' repairs!
The executive double room was a good size with decent furniture. It had a river view.
There was no hotel information in the room.
The bed was 2 singles locked together. No valance. The bedding was inadequate ( a sheet & blanket, plus a spare blanket in the wardrobe.) Not good for winter- it was snowing heavily while we were there.
One bedside light did not work.
In the bathroom, the towel rail wasn't screwed onto the wall properly.
The hot & cold indicators on the bath taps were the wrong way round - confusing & potentially unsafe.
The radiator in the room wasn't on for 2 nights- so it was cold. We complained after the first night & we thought it would be fixed but it wasn't.
Breakfast was awful. There was no explanation given & no menus on the tables. The hot buffet had over- cooked scrambled eggs & cold mushrooms. The bacon was greasy & fatty.
The milk & yoghurts were on the cereal table - & both were warm.
The evening bar meals were good- but only Italian food was on offer.
The staff did not make you feel particularly welcome - & were not customer friendly.
The problems could be easily fixed & are not acceptable in any hotel these days. We would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This could be a lovely hotel, it is in a great position just outside Bath, apparently getting into Bath on foot is 'doable' but the bus service is very convenient so no need to take your car. However, I cannot recommend the hotel, I wish I could. The staff are pleasant but the rooms are not good. We stayed in a superior room and whilst the bathroom was modern and the view was good the bedroom was not good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

I felt the need to write a review as this is filled with negativity. We arrived really early, too early to check in but the staff were very helpful in giving us directions to walk into bath down the canal, also allowed us to park the car there all day. We checked in which was simple and straightforward and we stayed in the lodge which was out the back. It had a bed, wardrobe, safe, 2 bedside tables with lamps and a very nice bathroom with a large shower. Also a mini fridge, but free tea, coffee and biscuits! The following morning we had the full English breakfast with endless coffee and juices, it was very nice and the hotel staff were happy and polite. I enjoyed my stay and would come back again. If I have to leave a criticism it would be only that the heating was on full blast and the room was so hot, but we turned it off and opened a window. Simple!!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Quaint old hotel on the river. Beware not good sign postage of where to turn off main road,nor is calling the hotel for helpful directions. Bed we had was old, sagged from our waist down not sure of other rooms. The rest of our room was fine though just outdated. Clean, small but we made do as room was prepaid. Had buffet b'fast next morning, night staff said one time, morning staff said later time due to it being holiday. B'fast was fine, wait staff not great, very cold...Would not choose to stay here again if choice for somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Mill Hotel

Address: Toll Bridge Road, Batheaston, Bath BA1 7DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Batheaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batheaston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Old Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Mill Bath
Old Mill Hotel Bath/Batheaston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Mill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.