We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but not luxury” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Irene Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Irene Apartments to your Saves list
Irene Apartments
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Agios Gordios 49100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Agios Gordios
Manchester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good location but not luxury”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We booked the Irene only a few weeks before going to Corfu and the description of "luxury" on the hotel website was appealing. This is not a luxury studio by any stretch of the imagination but merely a standard 2 star hotel I expect to find all over Greece. Putting an ash tray and some shower gel in the bathroom doesn't make it luxury. The fact we didn't have any fresh towels in 5 days would put pay to any description of luxury in my opinion. The rooms are split between 2 blocks - sea view and village view. We were in room 105, village view but actually the only view we had was a wall since the room was below the level of the road. Also the bathroom is a typical "spray everywhere" type shower typical of Greece, but unfortunately the toilet wasn't secured to the floor so leaked every time you sat on it.

The room was freshly painted and the hotel grounds are well kept with a pleasant pool area. BBQ and pizza nights occur a couple of nights a week by the pool.

Agios Gordios is basically a long road coming down the side of the hill, levelling off before going down to the beach and the Irene is situated just as the road levels off so no strenuous walk to the beach or restaurants - it's a 15 minute lazy stroll to the beach side taverna's.

I paid for a transfer with Irene and she was there waiting even though my flight was delayed for an hour. It was when I was checking out and organising the transfer back that Irene told me the transfer was only one way. True the paperwork did confirm this but when booking the transfer, no option to book a return was there, so please bear this in mind. Irene charges 34 euros each way which seems steep to me and there is a taxi office near the beach. I'm sure someone else will confirm if 34 euros is expensive for a 20 minute journey to the airport, but a taxi is certainly an easy option for you to sort.

Agios Gordios is a fairly typical Greek resort - a single road, taverna's, tourist shops but it's nicely relaxed for couples.

Delphi tavern is very good , also Ark and Thallasa by the beach, highly recommended. Avoid Alexis at all costs, plastic cheap décor and food to match - boiled cucumber anyone ? Madison Garden also excellent for a drink and a chill.

The beach is ok, should be cleaned and also be aware of a sea weed problem to the left of the beach - unfortunately where the best sun beds are.

We would certainly go back to Agios Gordios but not to Irene, maybe try Taverna Sebastian for rooms - also seemed a very good location.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an upper level room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    13
    14
    6
    9
See reviews for
27
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Irene Apartments don't offers you a luxury stay nor any spa treatments. What this hotel offers is cozy, friendly and a relaxing stay. And this is exactly what you get when you check in at Irenes. Rooms are basic equipped but works, cleaned every day and bedding etc changed every third day. The Family who runs Irenes are all working the Harts out to meet any of tour needs and demands to make tour stay As pleasant As possibly. This is not Hilton, but it's Hilton of Agios Geordis when it comes to cozyness and servis, and we Will highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Good location close to the beach. We staid for one week and the day we arrived the floor of the apparment was dirty, but the rest of the week they cleaned every day so that was not a problem. The pool area was nice and the breakfast was good. The beds were hard, but not extremly hard. The only downside was that you could here the cars from the street at night. We didn't really use the kitchen, so I can't tell you much about that. We would probebly stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wymondham, Norfolk.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

This year I have chosen their annex, being on my own it suited me. The room was VERY clean and serviced on a regular basis. Irene Pool is great and is a sun trap even when the weather is not at its best. The whole family look after their guests very well and Gregory at the Pool Bar is great. They also do a range of good food at reasonable prices. A big thumbs up for this location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Arrived here for 11 days of nice experiences and I will give you a truthful appraisal
Well situated ,close to bus stop and shopping, Quiet area only 300 metres from beach up an easy incline...all the restaurants are first rate especially Dandidis which overllooks the beach at the bottom of the street turn left ! Also for a really good low cost Grill House there is the Grill House near the bottom of the main street on the left.......owners are Super Nikos and his charming sister Margarita ! Right next door to the Irene appts is the super market ALEX'S..run by two charming sisters Pelagia and Sofia....lovely clean shop with plenty to choose from...Also excellent self catering facilities !
Back to the Irene, all rooms have free WiFi, there is a superb pool area and they do breakfasts and lunch/dinner etc at very reasonable prices...Irene and her brothers Grigori and Yannis will fall over backwards to make your stay a very pleasant one....these rooms have all been refurbished in 2012 and they really are much more deserving of at least 3 stars...very Highly Recommended !

Room Tip: All rooms get the sun....and depending on which way you are facing depends whether you get it in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I spent a week in Irene's house in early October 2013.
I would recommend this place to others, however you must be aware of few things.
We asked for double bed and found 2 single beds only put together, so they could look like one large bed. Sleeping together wasn't comfortable as beds were moving apart so you or your husband may end up sleeping in a gap...We also asked for a room on high floor with balcony facing garden or anything but not street. What we got? A room on a first floor which from a street level is like ground floor with a balcony facing a street. I really wasn't happy with that and I kindly asked for a different room after realising that the place isn't very busy in this period. However was told the day after that there isn't any other room available with balcony facing a garden. Shame. I can only say we were lucky that October was so quiet as a noise from the street wasn't very disturbing. I only felt disappointed because I emailed to that place 2 days before arrival saying hello and making sure that we were expected. I never received any answer on that but maybe informing me in advance about not being able to meet my requests would minimise my disappointment.
Information for ladies-you won't find a hair dryer in there.
Kitchen is equipped with 2 pots, cutlery x 2, 2 mugs, 2 glasses (no wine!), and quite old kettle.
Bathroom OK, a shower with a curtain way too small (we are normal size of people and we found it very small plus you constantly stick to that curtain while showering!)

People who run this place are very nice. We asked for 2 more hours for check out and it was fine.
A lady who works/run a shop on the corner called Alex is extremely nice and helpful.

Pool is situated a little bit further. There is a small path which leads there. A pool is quite big and has different depth.
I didn't eat much in there but I guess it's not pricey.

We picked that place because we were scared about comments about other places. An owner who makes you to buy food/drinks in their place and chase you for not doing so was a big NO.
Here, in Irene's apartments you don't feel that pressure. You feel welcome but nobody is watching you, or spy on you.

Agios Gordios is a small village but also very cosy, because of spectacular mountains the beach has one of the best views.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I have visited Aghios Gordios for eleven times now and stayed in various apartments.
Have stayed at the Irene a couple of times and would not hesitate in recommending it to any of my family and friends. The people are very friendly and helpful, cannot find fault with them. Try the food at the Splash Poor Bar, definitely worth a try.

Room Tip: If you can, book a Garden Room which overlooks the pool and a lovely view of the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Irene Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irene Apartments

Address: Agios Gordios 49100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Gordios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Gordios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Irene Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Irene Apartments and Studios are situated in Agios Gordios, a verdant area surrounded by trees and rocky mountains. It is 300m from the beach and 20m from the village centre. The beach is almost 1km long and is one of the best on the island. There is a bus stop right next to the hotel which provides daily bus services to Corfu Town.The apartment complex provides a calm and tranquil atmosphere. Also worth mentioning is the marvelous, spacious (1000m2) garden, in which there is a superb swimming pool. There are regular evening barbeques organised in the garden, providing guests with the opportunity to savour Greek-style mezedes (light snacks). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Irene Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irene Apartments Hotel Agios Gordios
Irene Apartments Agios Gordios, Corfu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irene Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.