We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete bliss!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stevens on the Hill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Agios Gordios
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stevens on the Hill
Agios Gordios | Corfu, Agios Gordios 49084, Greece   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Complete bliss!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I traveled with our 21year old son and his girlfriend and met my two sisters and there husbands at Stevens on the hill on the 7th of August 2013. The hotel was in a lovely location split into two levels, Stevens 1 where the pool and restaurant/bar was and Stevens 2 a separate building a little further down the hill. We stayed in stevens1. There is a hill that you have to negotiate to get to it which is quite a climb so if you have walking difficulties then it's not for you. There is a short cut, but again there is a steep hill but of a shorter distance.
Back to the hotel! Fantastic is a word often over used but not here! All the staff are like a big family and realy are there to make sure you have the best time. The food they serve is the best in town and we tried a lot between the eight of us. You don't realy need to leave Stevens 1 as they have everything there! Lots of people came just for the food and many a night we spoke to people who said they wish they had stayed here. The pool was just the right size and spotless with a jacuzzi that they filled in minutes for you. The toilets were high tec with automatic taps and hand dryers and always well cleaned. We made use of the tennis court almost every day, take your tennis racquets with you, and the table tennis room is outside but covered so nice and cool.this area does need a little updating but the rustic appearance is part of its charm. The rooms are light and airy with plenty of space and a little balcony to sit out on. The balconies on the second floor are a little larger than the first floor, but on the first floor they have a patio area outside the front of the rooms with table and chairs. We made use of this a lot of an evening meeting up here and having a drink together before setting off for our nights out. The BBQ night, pizza evening, and kleftico nights were amazing, best kleftico I have ever had and I have had a few all over Greece!!
In short a lovely clean hotel with great staff, lovely atmosphere and you will want for nothing due to the attention they give you.
We will definitely return to this little gem, give it a go you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Top floor better sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
52
61
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We have just had another wonderful time at Stevens on the Hill. Thank you so much to everyone there who made our holiday so relaxing.The hospitality and kindness from everyone was really very special.The accomodation was spotless the food delicious and the staff so lovely!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Headcorn, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We have just returned from our second holiday at Stevens on the Hill and we will definitely be returning. This time we stayed up the hill in room 5 and it was perfect for us (two children 8 and 5 years old). The hospitality is outstanding and nothing is ever a problem. Also the resort as a whole is great for families with a shallow sea and lots of lovely tavernas all within walking distance. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Well where do I start? In summary, this was our first visit to Steven's on the Hill and it was all we could have wished for and more.

We were met at the airport by Costas our taxi driver who delivered us safely along the hilly, winding roads to the welcoming smiles of Vlassis, Sephanos and their families. We arrived just before midnight and were immediately asked what we'd lie to drink 'on the house'. After our much needed welcome drink our cases were taken up to our rooms which were very well presented.

Our room (number7) was very spacious with a double bed, small kitchen area and a good bathroom with a modern power shower with jets. We were supplied with various toiletries,(which we've never had before in a self catering establishment) including shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, body lotion and even a toothbrush and mini toothpaste. There was a hairdryer attached to the wall (similar to the type you get at swimming pools) but the hose got too hot to hold very quickly.

The room was kept spotless and towels and sheets were changed frequently. The much needed air conditioning worked a treat. We had a great view over the sea and partailly of the pool from our balcony.

The pool was kept at a lovely cooling temperature and was a decent size. We also made use of the jacuzzi which was emptied and refilled daily. My OH and other members of our party enjoyed a few games of tennis on the full sized court and I escaped from the sun to play table tennis on a few occasions.

We ate at quite a few restaurants in the village but all agreed that the best food was here at the hotel. We particularly enjoyed Greek night and BBQ night and the kleftico was out of this world.

As to the location, yes it's on a steep hill but the hill isn't very long and there is a 'short cut' down to the beach and into the village which cuts out most of the incline with just a very steep area to negotiate directly opposite the hotel.

Now for our hosts- We could tell that all their friendliness wasn't just 'show'. They genui9nely wanted us to feel at home and have a great holiday. Apart from providing us with a welcome drink on arrival, my sister and I were given a glass of wine each whilst we waited to settle our room account as Vlassis had to attend to something in one of the rooms.

When it was time to leave, the whole family came to the taxi to wave us goodbye and also gave us a gift of their home made wine to take home with us. One for hubby and i and another for my sister and hubby.

This was a truly wonderful family holiday and if we were to return to this area of Corfu, Stevens will definitely be the place we'll stay.

Room Tip: Small hotel with 2 floors. Probably only about 10 rooms in building 1. All rooms facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

By far the best SC accommodation we have stayed in, in over 20 years of travelling. Our taxi pre arranged by Stevens was waiting for us at the airport, and we were grateful for our choice of a welcome drink, when we arrived at our accommodation. Although it was late at night, the two brothers were there to greet us and take our suitcases to the room. This truly is a family hotel, and you are made to feel as though you belong there.
Our room was spotlessly clean, was a decent size and had a free safe and air con. There was plenty of wardrobe and cupboard space, and the bathroom was light and airy, with a screened shower, large mirror, built in hairdryer and a selection of toiletries. There were 2 rings if you wanted to cook, a fridge and cooking utensils.Towels and bed linen were changed frequently. We were in room 6 in building one, and the view from the balcony was fantastic.
All public aeas were spotless, and the toilets had automatic soap dispensers, taps and a movement controlled paper towel dispenser – none of which you would normally associate with Greece.
The pool was a generous size, and the loungers were comfortable, and plentiful with numerous unbrellas for a welcome shade in the heat of the day. The jacuzzi which was drained daily,was an extra bonus, and provide excellent respite from the sun with a cooling drink to hand.
Breakfast and snacks throughout the day were always available and freshly cooked. The Greek night is well worth staying for as is the BBQ and Kleftico night – I've never seen so much food available for a reasonable price.
The accommodation is set on a hill, as the name suggests, but there is a short cut to both the beach and the village, which are both within a 6 or 7 min walk.
Our return taxi was booked for us by Vlasis, and we were given a bottle of Stevens on the Hill wine as a take home gift -such generosity. There is nothing that this family would not do for you.
We could not find a single fault with this little piece of heaven. If I was asked for any recommendations for improvement, then I'd say a little toaster could be provided in the room, and perhaps some background music around the pool.
Thank you one and all for an absolutely fantastic holiday. Would we come back here again – definitely!!

Room Tip: Building 1 has the better views- from the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Been back 2 weeks from Stevens and missing it already! Our third time staying at Stevens, and all we can say is it just gets better, we love, love love it there! This year we celebrated our daughters 16th birthday on Greek night, they had a beautiful chocolate cake made for her and made a real fuss, it was a lovely end to a fantastic holiday. All we can say is, read the reviews, its all true, you wont find a more beautiful, chilled out place in Greece. Cant wait to go back again. Thank you Vlasis, Steven, Eleni, Gianni, |Anna, see you all soon xxx

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Why Stevens on the Hill?

http://www.stevens.gr/
http://www.stevens.corfu360.net/

This was the third year in succession that we have been to Stevens on the Hill and we shall definitely be going back again. But having discovered it on a visit to Agios Gordios four years ago, why do we go back each year?

It is a family run business which was founded in 1986 by Steven and his brother Vlasis. The rooms are cleaned every day and the towels and the sheets are changed every two to three days. Our bedroom had a separate seating area and a small dining table with two chairs together with cooking facilities and a fridge. There was a separate coffee table and a comfortable chair, where we were able access the wifi system and read our emails on the netbook we took with us. The shower was always hot and there was plenty of water. Air conditioning was included in the price of the room as was a safe.

Stevens is situated on a hill overlooking Agios Gordios. The long sandy beach is about five to seven minutes walk away and the town is a similar distance in the other direction.

The water in the pool was a pleasant temperature and we have always found a sun bed and an umbrella.

For us, the holiday starts with Costas who greets us with his taxi at the Airport. In the three years, we have been going to Stevens, he is always been there when we have arrived and never let us down. On arrival, we are welcomed by Steven and his wife, Eleni, together with Vlasis and we immediately start to relax and unwind.

There is good selection of drinks and bar food available throughout the day and, for those who want an early start, you can rely on a good breakfast before you leave. For us the evenings are special and Stevens, in our view, has the best restaurant in Agios Gordios with excellent food and wonderful service whilst, at the same time, we have enjoyed some amazing sunsets as we looked across the bay.

Over the three years that we have been going to Stevens, we have met many people who have been going there for 12, 15 and in one case 20 years. As a longstanding family business, it is undoubtedly the people who make it such a great place to spend a holiday. Nothing is too much trouble and they go out of their way to make certain you have a good time and relax.

You will not find Stevens through travel agents, so we have attached two links so that visitors to Trip Advisor can see what Stevens is like and we would recommend looking at: http://www.stevens.corfu360.net/ so that you can take a tour and look at the pool, the restaurant area and the rooms. On the main site, you will find a section where you can book online.

From us, a very warm thank you to everyone at Stevens for three great holidays and we look forward to many more to come.

Room Tip: We booked a room facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stevens on the Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stevens on the Hill

Address: Agios Gordios | Corfu, Agios Gordios 49084, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Gordios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Specialty lodging in Agios Gordios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Stevens On The Hill” is a wonderful holiday venue whether you desire a romantic holiday for two, a relaxing break with good friends, or a fun packed holiday for the whole family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stevens On The Hill Hotel Agios Gordios
Stevens On The Hill Agios Gordios, Corfu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stevens on the Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Stevens on the Hill to your Saves list