We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aquis Agios Gordios Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Aquis Agios Gordios Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Aquis Agios Gordios Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Agios Gordios 49100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Agios Gordios
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Just go people, its aFantastic hotel and helpful staff and very Friendly. Food was ok lots of choice Drinks ok too. Michael in the main Bar is the greatest.!! Best barman and very Friendly.We will go again and can recommened this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    460
    217
    48
    22
See reviews for
79
950
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Staeyd at this hotel after a cruise ....very disappointing.We stayed on an AI basis and all I can say about the drinks is awful!The hotel itself is nice although a bit higgledy piggledy,and the views are fantastic...pity cant say the same about the staff food and drinks.

Room Tip: stay in the hotel as if you get put in a "bungalow""..they are actually flats!you cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDeimezi, Director of Operations at Aquis Agios Gordios Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we are really sorry to hear about your experience.
Customer service is always of the utmost priority here at Aquis Agios Gordios and we pride ourselves in delivery an exceptional experience to each of our guests. Even guests experiencing difficulties in their stay when offering to us their critics, always have only positive comments about the friendliness of our staff.

Additionally, In contrast to what is been offered to all inclusive resorts in the Mediterranean area, namely no label local spirits, Aquis Agios Gordios offers apart from local drinks, predefined international brands for each one of the main spirits therefore your comment regarding quality is quite surprising to us.

We would be extremely grateful if you would be willing to contact us about the specific issues you encountered so that we may address any deficiencies that arose during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My wife and I had a very nice week stay at the hotel on an all-inclusive package. The food was of a good quality, but choice was a little restricted (but still a wide selection) compared to another all inclusive package we have done (in a Riu hotel so maybe not comparing like with like). As with all buffets you find that is a little difficult to have a leisurely evening meal, because as soon as you have finished a course you feel the urge (helped along by a waiter taking away the finished plate) to go and get the next coarse. But if you can resist this urge (this is easier if you eat on the balcony section where there are slightly less waiters to promptly clear your plates away) of rushing the evening meal and do eat on the balcony section, you will be in for an absolute treat with stunning sunsets on clear evenings.
The area by the pool gets very busy and air movement is limited so it can get very hot (Temps in Corfu the week we were there was 30 degrees C). It is much better to go down the steps to the beach where it is less busy and sun beds are still free at the hotel end of the beach, and there is also a very nice bar with waves crashing just feet away. Air movement is much better and the sea temps. were superb, plus the shallow slope of the beach means you have to go a long way out before you are out of your depth.
We like to go on walks of which there are several very nice walks if very steep and hilly. If you do do any of these you will almost certainly come across one of the small villages that are well worth a visit and a trip to the village bar where the locals all are very hospitable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Enjoyable two weeks in June Returned 14th. Found this holiday very relaxing in room 1309 half board! But you do have to go down a few stairs before getting to a small lift to get to this room as it was on the left side of the hotel as you face it at the front. In the other reviews most of it has been said extra details are as follows. Private Balcony was a plus and large kettle + fridge with a bottle of water in it when we arrived. Safe cost 3e a day.

At breakfast time the tea and coffee came in thermal jugs freshly made not the stewed type in the machines as had at previous hotels. We had two free vouchers for the A la Carte, Tassos made you feel very welcome, included free drinks, coffee and liqueurs and our food was great.

The parasols on the sun deck moved easily on wheels - great idea.

The products in the hotel shop was reasonably priced large bottle of water was only 20 cents more then from the village and as everyone has said is steep to walk down and back up.

As everybody has said if you speak to the staff, they are very friendly, helpful and polite - full marks.

If you want to have a trip to Corfu Town we did it on the local transport it's fine but you do get the scramble to get on as usual. It cost 2.50 euros one way - bus left at 9:15 & 10:00 am and returned 1:30 and 5:30 pm. The second time we went booked it with Papanagiotou Travel which was in the village for 8 euros return each and guaranteed a seat. Left at 10:00 am waited at shop in shade and left Corfu Town at 3:00 pm - it was brilliant only 4 of us returned on a large coach! The travel service was very friendly and helpful.

Would go back but want to travel to other countries. But if a deal comes up might think about it!

Room Tip: Our Room 1309 if you don't mind walking up and down a few steps nice and quiet, brilliant view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The only thing I can agree with others is spectacular views and location.Rooms are small and smell
like cigarette ashtray we asked to be moved and they agree to move us to bungalow.That locale was great little bit of a walk to the hotel but worth it.Regarding food howe ever we were very disappointed, no seafood at all, limited fresh fruit and only canned fruit!!!
For all inclusive not worth the money and this Hotel is not 5star at the best 3star

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDeimezi, Director of Operations at Aquis Agios Gordios Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the spectacular views of Aquis Agios Gordios Beach Hotel. However, we sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced regarding the smell of your room; smoking is not permitted in all communal areas of our property and of course is not allowed in guest rooms and for this reason it is extremely surprising to read about the smell you refer to. We glad that our occupancy level those days permitted us to fulfill your requirement for a room change immediately and it is good to read that you enjoyed the bungalow guestroom for the rest of your stay.

We are honestly sorry that the food was not of your preference. Food quality and variety is an extremely important issue for us and we test it daily in order to get the highest demanded results and we assure you that all issues are thoroughly addressed internally with our F&B Manager.

Thank you for your review and we certainly hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again in any of our Aquis Hotels and Resorts properties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Hey,

I have just returned from a weeks stay at the above mentioned hotel and would like to share my experiences with others in order for them to make the most of their stay in this wonderful part of the world.

Firstly to start with a slight negative point, when we decided to stay at this hotel I was told by the agents (Thompson) that the Bungalow was superior to the hotel rooms, and that we could get a bungalow suite for the same price as regular room. This seemed a no brainer and we went for it on the promise that it would have a good sea view, On arrival when we got our bungalow it was what can only be described as a 10 minute donkey trek away from the hotel up extremely steep hills and steps and could only offer a spectacular view of a pine tree. We took this up with the main customer rep in the Hotel (Alexandra) and she seemed dismissive and uninterested in our needs and wants. After arguing our case we got a regular bungalow slightly closer to the hotel but with a decent view (all we really wanted) It was safe to say after this request Alexandra had nothing to say to us for the duration of the week.

With all that said that was our one bad experience of the trip, Every other member of staff we came in contact with was an absolute pleasure to deal with, great manners, big smiles and made us feel extremely welcome, from the bar staff to the waiters and even the cleaners went out of their way to aid us in anyway they could.

We travelled on a half board basis which entitled us breakfast and dinner at the hotel every day. And also received a free a la carte menu (all guests did) The selection of foods served on a buffet basis was very good and we had our dinner there quite a few times. They had a great variety of food we had no problems filling our plates. The hotel has all you could need, several bars, all of which are very different, restaurants and ideal leisure facilities including a gym, sauna, hot tub, pool, darts, table tennis and a massage parlor.

Additional information, I'm sure every review has the same warnings but the terrain is extremely hilly and if in any way immobile make sure u are located in the hotel as the bungalows are not an option. I read on other reviews that wasps were a problem, we did not experience this but be warned mosquitos are a major negative and I would advise anyone traveling to pack some repellent..

Outside the hotel

There is a small town just 10 minutes down the road which has several bars and restaurants, we tried the mexican which was lovely, In a lot of reviews we noticed the name of two pubs, Robins nest and Stevens, and in our humble opinion its a mis match. Stevens is far superior on price and quality.

We took several excursions, Paxos/Parga, Sivota and Blue Lagoon and a Corfu at night, All of which were enjoyable. All involve a boat ride of some degree and the decision between them all comes down to a personal preference, All the islands are beautiful and I would suggest getting in as many as possible,

I have failed to mention weather the whole time, it was 30+ all week, perfect for sun worshipers but also allows people who struggle with heat the mornings and evenings to get out and about.

Finally the best part of our trip was renting our own boat, This openly available to anyone and a MUST do. You can head out in the boat and anchor it up and a number of private beaches only accessible from the sea. We used http://www.odysseus.gr/ and the service was excellent, They owner is a really down to earth guy who picks you up from the hotel and drops you back afterwards. Great service and a great day out, Get involved!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had a fantastic week of pure relaxation in this lovely hotel.The rooms are very clean and serviced every day, The staff are very friendly and helpful as was our rep Tom. The food was very good and was catered for all requirements. We were going to venture out for a meal at nearby 'Stevens' restaurant on the tuesday as we wanted to try more traditional Greek food but discovered it was Greek night at the hotel so decided to eat in, we were so pleased we did as the food was amazing! Moussaka, Stefaddo etc was fab! It was an added bonus to have such good food. One thing we wish we had done was go all inclusive, we certainly will next time. We normally like to go on the beach but I found it a bit seaweedy for me! we did take a trip out to Pelakas beach for a change but taxi's are quite expensive 25 euros each way! we also wanted to venture out to another beach but that would have been 45 euros each way so left that one. And although we don't normally do pool holidays I must say it was lovely and relaxing lying on one of the many sunbeds looking out to sea and having dips in the pool to cool off and sipping cold beer. And we love children... but it was lovely to stay at an adults only hotel. One thing we found is the location is isolated so I think if you want to venture out you need to hire a car. we will certainly make a return journey to this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was 2401 which was perfect as not over looking the terrace bar, more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aquis Agios Gordios Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquis Agios Gordios Beach Hotel

Address: Agios Gordios 49100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Gordios
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Agios Gordios
#4 Family Hotel in Agios Gordios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquis Agios Gordios Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine yourself on a sandy beach, crystal waters and thriving, green mountains rising on the top. Relax to the rhythmic sounds of waves and offer yourself the holidays you deserve.This Adults only hotel located on a picture-perfect hill spot in one of Corfu’s best locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Aquis Agios Gordios Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquis Agios Gordios Beach Hotel Corfu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquis Agios Gordios Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.