We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“incredible underwater life” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aquis Agios Gordios Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Aquis Agios Gordios Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Aquis Agios Gordios Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Agios Gordios 49100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Agios Gordios
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“incredible underwater life”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

PRO's
- spectacular views over the Ionian sea, from the comfort of your balcony you'll enjoy incredible sunsets (at least from corp 4 of the hotel :)
- only adults are checked-in so you won't find any noisy kids around
- good animation team and programs
- various thematic evenings
- beautiful underwater landscapes just in front of the hotel - ideal spot for snorkeling lovers
- 10min walk from the bus station to Corfu Town (30min away by bus)
- has a small and good looking gym also with a nice panoramic view over the sea

CON's:
- no hot water after 7pm, that being a problem if you want to take hot relaxing evening showers
- the showers on the beach are a shame, are incredibly old and rusted and also provide only ice cold water
- very poor internet speed, the slowest wi-fi connection I've encountered so far

Room Tip: ask for a room on an upper floor of corp 4, incredible sunsets from balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    457
    214
    48
    22
See reviews for
79
941
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

After reading some of the reviews in had an open mind before arriving. We stayed in bungalow 7205 which was stunning, really clean with a great view. yes it here was a steep hill to walk up but I knew that before booking so it wasn't a problem. The hotel staff were so polite and couldn't do enough for you. The food was good but like any hotel it did become repetitive. The beach was lovely and the steps weren't a problem. Met some fantastic people but if you book the trip to Corfu town with Lord Travel don't eat at the restaurant they drop you off at they state you will get 10% off your bill the waiter was rude and they added 10% to our bill rather than deduct it. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who has no walking difficulties. Had a great time

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

we stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks, and we had a sea view bungalow.the hotel is situated on a hillside and has lots of steps around the place. the food was ok and the public areas nice and clean. the bungalow had a lovely clean, spacious lounge and a first class bedroom. the bathroom left a lot to be desired, it had a water tank which was in the way when you wanted a shower, you had to duck around it. the bungalow we stayed in was the highest in the lot of them, we needed to be mountain goats to get there, we had to ask reception for a ride in their golf buggy, which they did except on a couple pf occaisions when it was'nt available. there were lots of steps to the beach and this was the only way to access the beach unless you walked to the town then you still had problems getting back.the hotel site was fantastic for the sunsets which were out of this world and a site to see. this was supposed to be a platinum hotel, the sunsets were platinum and some bungalows were but generally i would say this was a 3 star plus hotel at the most. the main problem was laundry, we had to share 1 bath towel for 4 days before we made an official complaint then we had clean towels daily. also this hotel should have a warning that it's not suitable for people with walking difficulties.

Room Tip: stay i main hotel unless you are very fit.all hotel rooms had a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed there for 10 days and i would definitely recommend this hotel.

I would suggest that you speak to the hotel before your stay and ask for a room in the hotel as we were put in a bungalow and the hill to get to them is rather steep! We asked to be moved into the hotel and were moved the next day so that was great.

Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Food is nice although does get a bit repetitive!

2 local restaurants we visited are Stevens and Sebastians both lovely! Definitely try them.

The hotel was clean and rooms nice, the views were amazing! Just loved it all and would go back in a shot :-)

Room Tip: Dont settle for a bungalow! Choose a room in the hotel to save your legs as the hill is quite steep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

We've just spent a very enjoyable and relaxing 2 weeks in this extremely good hotel in a beautiful location. Went all-inclusive for the first time and this worked well, though we ate out a few times during our stay, when exploring the island. Staff are a great asset - charming, friendly, attentive. A spacious, terraced hotel above the village resort and built to take advantage of a terrific setting, it has wonderful views at every level. Rooms are also spacious with large, very comfortable beds and all have sea views from a balcony with 2 chairs: a great way to start and end the day. The sunsets were beautiful. We found the food excellent - a wide variety and delicious. Dining staff particularly good. Place is very well-maintained and spotless throughout. Drinks were fine by us as we only drank the occasional vodka and brandy with tonic (Tuborg - delicious), Mythos and Zorbas beers and some wine with meals - plus a lot of water, of course! The walk to the beach is perfectly fine down broad, shallow steps - good exercise! (but not, of course, if you have particular walking difficulties). We always managed to get sunbeds and umbrella. We swam every day - though some days, it was very choppy out there! The beach bar has comfy chairs, snacks and drinks available till 6pm. From there, the resort village is less than 10 mins walk along the boardwalk (admittedly, in need of repair and broken in some places, so wear adequate footwear) via some very nice and pretty seaside restaurants - Sea Breeze and Elena's in particular, where the food is very good. The village has 8 small supermarkets, other shops, bars and restaurants down one main street - this is not a big resort and that's why we chose it. From the village, a bus to Corfu town is a mere 2.20 euros and takes half an hour and well worth a visit - it's a World Heritage site in the old quarter. Otherwise, hire a car to look around - there are some delightful villages and more beautiful bays around. One tip: as there is no pharmacy in the village and the nearest one a bit of a hike a few Kilometres away, bring some essentials like aspirin/paracetamol with you as you can't get these except from a pharmacy. (however, there is a 24-hour call out doctor in the village for emergencies). Evening entertainment is so-so at the hotel, but we were not relying on it, so it didn't bother us.... All in all, we would highly recommend this hotel and resort.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

i have just returned from a weeks all inclusive holiday at this very good hotel. The staff, rooms and food were excellent. We had a lovely sea view bedroom which was very well equiped, air con, fridge, tv, hairdryer and tea and coffee facilities. Public areas very clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. If you have mobility problems though, then this hotel is not for you, unless you don't want to go to the beach or pool as there are lots of steps. Only downside were the wasps, and i did get lots of mosquito bites so go with plenty of repellant! There was something for everyone regarding food choices, which was very good. All in all, a very good holiday.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must away from the pool area though, which i think would be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Our first visit to Greece was 12 years ago, to a small apartment in an even smaller village in Crete. We had been advised by the Tour Operator to pack a torch as the area had no street lighting... ha ha ha!! During our week long holiday, we had several major storms, lots of power cuts(the little torch worth it,s weight in gold) though no help with the cold showers which somehow always flooded the apartment!! We had ,however ,a wonderful holiday due entirely to the hospitality, generosity and kindness of the Greek people. We had three more wonderful holidays to Crete, another to Zakynthos, three terrific holidays to Corfu and then................"Mama Mia"..!!! We discovered on the internet, by accident really, one evening in winter 2008, Aquis Agios Gordis Beach Hotel, which for some years previously had been a Thomson Gold Hotel. We did a little research and made our first booking at this Hotel for May 2009. We have just returned from our 8th visit at this Hotel, and already can,t wait to return!!
This is a wonderful Hotel in the most beautiful Island, where if you embrace the people, their culture, their lives, you get bucketloads in return!!! The staff here are the nicest, warmest people we have ever encountered anywhere and like most UK travellers we have had many holidays in mainland Spain, Balearics,Canaries Italy etc. and never met people like this! Nothing is a trouble to them so already your holiday is off to a good start. The rooms are comfortable, spotlessly clean, gianormous beds and views to die for. The public areas the same. Spotless, comfortable and modern. Four Bars, all different...each with it,s own ambience and atmosphere.....go where your mood takes you.We go all over the place!! The beach.....so beautiful..not like big manufactured Spanish beaches....this beach has "character"....rocks,trees even a boardwalk to the village.....loads of sunbeds, parasols and a fabulous Beach Bar.
The Restaurant . Some reviewers have described this as like a "canteen" which I thought offensive to the Hotel and to my intellect. The Restaurant is very big as it caters for a large amount of people. It is bright, modern.airy and aeshetically pleasant. If you so wish,there is also a lovely outdoor eating area. Show cooking, breakfast, lunch and dinner. The food and choice, simply amazing. Eight holidays and eight times go home 6-7 kilos heavier!! To UK potential travellers my advice is this.....if you havn,t travelled to Greece before don,t expect Benidorm, Majorca Ibiza etc.....Greece is wonderfully different. If you are thinking of travelling to Corfu 2013...looking for the best Hotel....make a booking here. You won,t find better!! Eight times... and my heart still misses a beat when the Hotel comes into view on the journey from the Airport.....eight times...and each and every time I look from my balcony, morning ,noon or night I still say "Oh My God" what a view!! The Hotel is not a new build.......it is a genious of engineering built into a cliff face.....a labyrinth of corridors, stairs,lifts...all adds to the fun and you always end up somewhere with an amazing view......my advice......book it !!!! before it is truly discovered via Thomson and you will be too late!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aquis Agios Gordios Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquis Agios Gordios Beach Hotel

Address: Agios Gordios 49100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Gordios
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agios Gordios
#5 Family Hotel in Agios Gordios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquis Agios Gordios Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine yourself on a sandy beach, crystal waters and thriving, green mountains rising on the top. Relax to the rhythmic sounds of waves and offer yourself the holidays you deserve.This Adults only hotel located on a picture-perfect hill spot in one of Corfu’s best locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Aquis Agios Gordios Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquis Agios Gordios Beach Hotel Corfu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquis Agios Gordios Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.