We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved every minute of it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pink Palace

Save Saved
You added The Pink Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pink Palace
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Agios Gordios Beach | Sinarades, Agios Gordios 49084, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 hotels in Agios Gordios
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved every minute of it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Our stay at The Pink Palace is one we will never forget. We came away with memories and friendships that we didn't expect! If your sociable, up for meeting new people and up for a few (or more than a few) drinks you will more than enjoy your stay here!

When we arrived we were greeted by the expected shot of ouzo and welcomed by the reception staff with a Sandwich because we had missed dinner (these sandwiches become a nightly routine after a few drinks).
Within an hour of arriving we had already met people from all around the room, everyone was extremely friendly.

The hotel itself does not have a pool (other than the Jacuzzi although this is not appealing to everyone) however there is a hotel directly opposite pink palace that has a beautiful pool with an amazing view and its open to everyone. It also has a great bar with lovely food.

There are plenty of activities available during the day the beach bar is always lively, there's kayaking, quad biking and the infamous booze cruise which is eventful to say the least. All activities are reasonably priced.

One of the highlights is the weekly Toga parties, everyone creates their own version of a toga with a pink sheet of course and everyones up for a laugh. The Ouzo circle is a small taste of greek culture with alot of ouzo, plate smashing and some drunken greek dancing.
The people you meet here make your experience. Everyone's travelling to and from difference places, in groups on their own and there's so many stories to listen to.

Food is provided for breakfast and Dinner (although we gave up going for breakfast as the walk to and from the beach bar was pretty far). Food is more than fine for the money you pay and at night they provide more than enough to prepare you for the partying ahead. The best part about the dining experience was you were seated with other guests which gave you great opportunity to meet people (it helps if your willing to be sociable).

Our room was basic but more than fine as not alot of time is spent there. There was only one problem as we booked a 'Just for girls room' which was falsely advertised as we weren't provided with 2 towels each or full length mirrors but that's our only qualm. The view however was amazing, if you can request a sea view room we saw the sun set every night it was beautiful.

We left Pink Palace after a week feeling like we had been there a month we had met so many people, been welcomed by all staff and created some brilliant memories!

Thank you Pink Palace we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magda G, Owner at The Pink Palace, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Amy,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Pink Palace. We are thrilled to hear that you loved every minute of your stay here. We loved having you, and will be so excited to welcome you back here with us with open arms.
Happy Travels and see you again soon!

Sincerely,
The Pink Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    38
    7
    21
    45
See reviews for
24
33
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Let me be clear in saying you make the trip what it's going to be. If you go out there with a positive attitude you will find it reflected in the other guests and most importantly the staff.

My trip was awesome. So awesome in fact that I'm going again next year with more people!

When we first got there we weren't sure what to expect but boy am I glad we went. Pick up from the airport did take a little while but it saves a costly taxi journey so don't be afraid to call up. While you wait there's a bar outside the airport (you'll want a pre drink)

When you get to the hotel there's a complimentary/obligatory shot of ouzo-the first of many.

They keep your passport but this is in no way a bad thing as you will never be asked for it realistically but if you feel you need it take a photocopy. Plus it stops you from losing it. Also take advantage of the safety deposit boxes for valuables.

The rooms are great and depending on what sort of holiday you are on you won't be sleeping much anyway. Better pillows could be provided but that's an easy fix.

Rooms are around reception (with a 24hour bar) and some nearer to the beach bar.

Activities are run every day; kayaking, quad biking, booze cruise, toga parties, cliff jumping. Most are quite cheap and a great way to meet people. If you are on a family holiday don't be afraid to mingle or even go off on your own. We saw quite a few families while there having fun.

There are 2 meals provided for free. Breakfast and dinner. Both great ways to meet new people. Breakfast if you wake up in time you sit where you want but at dinner you get seated with new people depending on how many are in your group. The food is great and saves you a lot of money. Save that for alcohol or activities ;)

The beach can be a bit rocky walking in but once you're in it's fine. Beautiful waters which are usually quite calm.

Don't really know what else I can say without going into too much detail. The staff and fellow guests absolutely made my trip it wouldn't have been the same without them. Met some amazing guests. The mix of age groups is fantastic and you will most certainly find some interesting characters while there. In fact it was surprising how many guests had either extended their stay or didn't want to leave. It's how my friends and I felt when we had to leave. But we'll be back don't you worry.

Hopefully you find this review helpful and I've made sense.

Happy travels!
Trevor


  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magda G, Owner at The Pink Palace, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Trevor,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Pink Palace. We agree completely with what you said – that wherever you go, if you have a positive attitude, you will find it reflected in other people. We are so glad that you had such a great time with us here! We love hearing that from our guests because we do our best in making sure you all have a great time.
We are looking forward to having you back with us! And YES, bring your friends! The more, the merrier!
Happy Travels!!!

Sincerely,
The Pink Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

I would reccomend this place to groups of youths wanting to get drunk etc every night... This is the perfect place for that... I went with a friend, knowing that it was the kind of place where we could have a few drinks and party quite a lot... The problem was that the staff seem to judge you on how much of a party person you are... After our first night we realised we were being shown to tables (when it came to dinner time) which were for families or solo sightseers, rather than people our own age who we could properly socialise with... It seems like this was because we were not always active within the party nightclub scene... The staff seem to have a lot of fun with everyone else but treated us like a pair of tourists who were a little boring.. The food wasn't great and the room was cleaned at silly o'clock in the morning, whether we were in it or not... Can't even bring a bag of crisps into the room without being scolded! Overall though, fun for a bit of partying! Sue at the 24hour bar was a great laugh and friendly with everyone though!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

When we researched a place to stay in Corfu, the Pink Palace came up as the party place, which for a group of 3 young men seemed fairly enticing. However we felt that the establishment didn't forfill the promises that were advertised. At night there would be always somewhere to go, most nights it was just chilling at the beach bar, however was always seemed quieter and less wild compared to what was advertised and generally lack lustre. Twice a week there is a toga party, however we were largly underwhelmed.The real party was in the infamous 'booze cruise', where you had to pay 25 euros just to jump on the boat.

The overall value of the place was pretty poor they charged extra for everything, including 5% on cash withdrawals, pretty poor when there is an atm just down the road in the town (they didn't tell us this when we asked). They did however provide breakfast and dinner, which was consistently filling and decent. Also our room was quite literally by the beach so we were happy with that.
The rooms were ok, very good air conditioning and were cleaned most days. However the bathroom was small and dirty and the shower would flood the floor. I should also mention that we locked the room leaving our wallets there to go to the beach. Later that night we each found we had a sum of money taken from our wallets.
Overall it wasn't a bad hostel, but defintly didn't live up to the hype and left quite bitterly disappointed.
Also only received 2 free ouzo shots over our stay... Poor form.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magda G, Owner at The Pink Palace, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Hertsagig,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Pink Palace. We are happy to hear that you liked our rooms, and that you enjoyed our food plus our location which was close to the beach.
It is unfortunate though that you felt like we did not ‘live up to the hype’, as you mentioned. The Pink Palace was voted #1 Party Hostel in Europe, and has been in the top 10 for a number of years, and we pride ourselves in giving our guests superior quality service and a crazy good time. Towards the end of the season when guests aren’t as voluminous, the ‘craziness’ has a tendency to decline a few notches, but we do our best with what we have, and strive to give everyone a great party atmosphere nevertheless.
The money taken from your wallets is definitely concerning; thank you so much for bringing this to our attention. Please be assured that we take the necessary measures to ensure the safety of our guests belongings, which is why we encourage our guests to leave their valuables at reception for safekeeping at the safety deposit boxes.
Thanks again for staying with us, and we hope to see you again at the Pink Palace soon.

Sincerely,
Pink Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

What a dump! I agree with other reviewers that they treat you like inmates, keeping passports is utterly disgusting! The staff are useless, rude, dishonest, and completely Inhospitable. The food is dog food, no traditional greek food to be found!

They do not pick you up from the airport, or drop you off, it's all lies. And their transfers to corfu town are sporadic and inconvenient.

There were no activities at all or the 4 days I was there, another total lie! The so called reception bar is a filthy joke, everyone chain smokes in there including the greek bar staff. It's impossible o use their crappy Internet at reception because it is too smokey!,

The parties suck, my grandmother has shown me better times, not even joking!

You get charged for everything! Or should I say overcharged...5 euros beach towel?! Exorbitant credit card fees.

Room was clean but the worst beds and pillows ever! Good air con though. Their website is so false, lies, lies, lies I wasn't the only one who noticed this. The beach is miles away...and covered n rocks, horrible beach!

Staff are downright hostile to each other and guests, they've got no idea. They refuse to give you info on local restaurants, buses, sightseeing, basically all the things you go to a foreign country to do. It is so isolated, I couldn't wait to get off that god forsaken island! All of the staff were telling us it was their quietest season in 10 years, well perhaps you should treat people better! There are hundreds of cheaper and better Accomodation on Corfu, please avoid this dump!
I was recommended by an English friend a few years back who Said it was good and social, it must have changed so much, not it is " The Pink Prison".

Do us all a favour and either renovate this whole place starting with the staff, of close the dump down!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magda G, Public Relations Manager at The Pink Palace, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
JudyLovesWine, we are sad to hear you didn’t manage to enjoy your stay at The Pink Palace. Here at The Pink Palace we pride ourselves on the value for the money we give our guests, all included in their room price. We like to ensure our guests can have a good time and that is why our staff are here. We’ve been here for 40 years and our staff work hard to make sure our guests are happy. We also believe that with the right attitude, everyone can have the time of their life. It is very rare that we don’t run one activity or more each and every day. Quads and kayaks are also always available to hire. The only time our water activities don’t go out is when the sea is too rough and we care about the safety of our guests.

All guests that contact us with their travel details receive a free transfer. This is 100% the case. We can also organise a return service according to our guest’s requests and needs, which is all easily organised at Reception. Our buses travel to Corfu town many times daily.

We receive many comments from guests that the food is some of the tastiest they’ve had – and it’s free. Don’t forget we have families that stay here with children for weeks at a time and they eat our food every day. Our buildings span from the beach and continue up the hillside and it is only about a 5-10 minute walk around the entire complex.

We host thousands of guests each year who do not experience what you write. These guests enjoy value for the inexpensive accommodations, easy access to everything and a good time. We value constructive criticism so that we can better our hotel, but you fail to mention positives about our property which makes us question your motives. We hope this post is legitimate and we thank you for your feedback which we will take on board in some instances.

Again, sorry you walked away without a smile on your face but some of your comments are false and needed to be responded to. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I met so many people here and partied hard every single night. The toga parties are great and the beach bar is really fun at night. The rooms have a/c which is great. The food here is actually really nutritionally balanced and delicious which i appreciated.

The only flaw is the customer service is lacking. There are alway 4 people on reception yet only 1 of them can help you so you end up waiting a long time for help. They missed picking me up at the airport and when i went into Corfu town so I was very disappointed with that. The wifi at reception doesn't work and is kind of shotty at the beach bar but useable.

This hostel was no where as busy as they advertise it to be but Overall if you want a good party this is the place to come!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

When I booked my stay at the Pink Palace, I thought a week wouldn't be enough, but i don't think i've ever been more wrong. I was drawn in by all their false advertising on their website. I like to have a good time, but the people here do not stop drinking, ever. The bartenders will keep serving you liqour even if you can't stand up. When i first arrived, I was absolutly exhausted from a 6am flight and then handed a shot of alcohol with basically no option but to drink it. This is at 9am.. Then they ask you how many nights you know you're staying, so I pay for my reservation, thinking that's what you had to do. Later on though, when i asked for a refund because I hated the place, they refused, and told me i had the choice this morning of how many nights to pay for. They make this very unclear, and after taking shots, it almost seems like a ploy to get more money.

I had booked a 5 bed dorm, and the pictures online looked pretty nice. When i got to my room though, it was a single, and the room looked like it hadn't been cleaned in years. There was cobwebs and spiders in the corner, the floor was dirty, and the bathroom was barely functional. There was absolutly no amenities in the room except a chair and a night stand. No lamps or anything. The door was also broken and I ended up getting locked in the room, having to reach out the window to unlock the door.

The next day I got switched, thankfully, and the quality if the dorm room was unbelievably better. They had soap, hairdryers, and balconies. This place uses so much false advertising, its ridiculous. No where on their website do they show you pictures of the rooms that are 30+ years old.

They also keep your passports for some reason throughout your whole stay, and if you ask for it, they practically refuse to give it to. It seems like they do almost everything in their power to keep you from leaving. It is ridiculous to forbid outside food at a hostel and theire bar is not as cheap as they say. You have to pay for EVERYTHING. Even the toga for the toga party isnt free.

The only thing I have enjoyed about this place is the food. But I will never be coming back. The staff don't care about anything except making money. The resort hasnt been maintained at all, nothing has changed in years. Do not stay here unless you like drinking 24 hours a day.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Pink Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pink Palace

Address: Agios Gordios Beach | Sinarades, Agios Gordios 49084, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Gordios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Gordios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Pink Palace 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pink Palace Hotel caters for all ages, especially the young at heart. We are located 250 meters from the sandy beach of Agios Gordios and a 3 minutes walk to the village center. Our room prices all have beautiful sea view & air conditioning and include a full breakfast and dinner plus free transfer on your arrival from the airport to the hotel.We have multilingual staff at our 24-hour bar/reception area who can provide tour/ticket assistance. Reception are able to help you with the activities such as our quad safaris tours/quad rentals, kayaking, island/town tours, boat trips, scuba diving and car rental. There are safety deposit boxes available at the front desk.At our beach front bar/restaurant we provide long happy hours, cocktails and Greek snacks at low prices. Also available are free sun beds and umbrellas for all our guests on the beach which is in front of our snack bar restaurant.Our breakfast restaurant also caters for lunch or brunch where you will find a large selection of foods to try. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Pink Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pink Palace Hotel Corfu
Pink Palace Corfu
Pink Palace Hotel Corfu
The Pink Palace Agios Gordios, Corfu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pink Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.