We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Agios Gordios = heaven!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lido Sofia Apartments & Rooms

Save Saved
You added Lido Sofia Apartments & Rooms to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lido Sofia Apartments & Rooms
Agios Gordios, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Morpeth, Northumberland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Agios Gordios = heaven!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed at these apartments for a week in September 2012 before moving to Roda in the north of Corfu for a second week, and these two resorts were the perfect combination for us.
The Lido Sophia apartments/studios in Agios Gordios are traditional, with friendly, helpful owners and a lovely pool area. The owners have a contract with a Dutch holiday company so most of the guests who stay there are Dutch. All the rooms have fantastic views over the resort and to the sea, the beds are comfortable, and the small kitchens are sufficient for breakfast and snacks.

However I need to mention the hill climb up from the resort to the apartments so that other potential guests are aware of this. There are no bars or restaurants in the immediate area so you are obliged to walk into the resort centre. This is fine on the way down, but not so good on the way back! I would say if you have any mobility issues, or are elderly, then you will struggle. There are no taxis in Agios Gordios. However there is a mini-market directly accross the road from the apartments so no need to worry about carrying shopping back up from the resort.

Also, we experienced three days of rain whilst in Agios Gordios which in itself is not unusal for Corfu so I was prepared for the possibility of some bad weather. However we had no hot water in the apartment at all during these three days. And the 15 minute uphill walk from the resort was pergatory in torrential rain!

We loved Agios Gordios. It is small, beautiful and traditional. The restaurants we visited were all very good. There are three or four bars, each different, and a handfull of souvenier shops and mini-markets. The villagers are welcoming and friendly, and we will definitely be returning to this fantastic little resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have just returned from the most wonderful week stay at Lido Sofia!
We stayed in a self catering Studio on the top floor which had a stunning view of Agios Gordios bay from the balcony. This view really made our holiday, the sunsets are amazing & we were very lucky to experience full moon sets too early in the mornings, an experience we will never forget!!
The room was very clean & adequately furnished with great extras such as Mosquito nets on the patio doors (very important), a coffee peculator, hairdrier, free loo rolls & washing up liquid. The beds were a little on the firm side for my liking but this seems to be the norm in Greece.
The pool is very clean & a good size for swimming lengths & the views of the bay from here again are outstanding. The pool bar serves delicious snacks & salads which were all of a good portion size. The Mythos beer served in ice cold glasses was fantastic too! It was nice that we never felt obliged to spend all our time here & were able to come & go as we pleased. The owner George, his wife Sofia & their family are very hospitable hosts. They even very kindly collected us from the airport & dropped us off on our return but in high season or if they're too busy a taxi costs approx 30-35 euros each way.
The walk down to the resort & beach is steep but this wasn't a problem for us & didn't take long either way. Agios Gordios itself is a nice resort with some lovely restaurants especially those on the sea front. Our favorite was the fantastic Theodoros, the last beach Taverna before the large hotel, which serves excellent Greek home cooking.
The beach is clean & the water is very clear & was calm all week for us. The view down towards the cliff & island is beautiful & swimming in this area is a must. We hired a pedalo (20-25 euros for 2 hours off season) & went out to the island & beyond, an incredible time swimming in the turquoise waters all by ourselves. Sunbeds are free at many of the tavernas during the day if you have lunch.
Overall a fantastic holiday & if we return to Corfu we will definitely book a stay at Lido Sofia!!!

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have just returned from a trip to Agios Gordios on the western coast of Corfu and stayed at Lido Sofia apartments from 12th to 19th September 2012. This is a beautiful resort with magnificent views over the bay and dramatic mountain scenery.

After an online booking mis-hap, we arrived and found that we actually had no booking but Sofia and her daughter Gabriela sorted us out with accommodation at late notice. We got to stay in a beautiful "family room" on the top floor for the first 2 nights (room n°22) and then we were moved to a studio apartment one floor down for the remainder of our stay (room n°8.)

A family room is a one bedroomed apartment with a kitchenette + a large separate living area which also serves as a second bedroom. It has a large balcony with breathtaking views over the bay where you can enjoy a drink watching the sunset. Absolutely stunning!!!!

The studio is smaller than the family room but is perfectly adequate for a couple. It also has a kitchenette and a good size balcony and still offers the same fantastic sea views.

You often hear that self catering apartments can be a bit spartan around Greece (excuse the pun) or a bit dated but this surely isn't the case of Lido Sofia Apartments. Firstly all rooms are spotlessly clean and modern and all appliances work perfectly well. There even is a wall-mounted hairdryer in the bathroom. Linen and towels are changed every other day. Crokery and cutlery are plentiful and washing-up liquid is also supplied. There is a TV and air conditioning unit (at an additional cost, but we didn't feel the need for either of those.)

The pool area is lovely and offers the same sea and mountain views as the balconies and catches the sun all day. The pool has a shallow 0.9m end and the deepest part is 2.7m. There is also a separate splash pool for younger children. The pool bar is open from 9:00am until 2:00am and offers a selection of hot snacks, salads, ice creams, soft & alcoholic drinks at reasonable prices. There is a convenience store/mini mart almost opposite across the road barely 20 metres away.

A big thank you to Georgios, his wife Sofia and their daughter Gabriela, their niece Katerina and her husband Marcel (from Holland) for looking after us wonderfully and making us feel at home.

We drove around most of the island and should we ever go to Corfu again, we would definitely return to Agios Gordios and and book at Lido Sofia.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We cannot say enough about this property, the owners were fantastic and made us feel like part of their family. George, Sofia, Katerina, Marcel, and their dogs Daisy and Balu could not do enough for us. We were so sad to leave. At Lido they had a great poolside bar that made great coffee, meals, snacks etc wit a view that is hard to beat. The childrens pool was great too, my 5 year old spent so much time in there. Our kids were quite noisy in the pool but nobody minded and in fact they seemed to enjoy their playfulness. We loved the fact that the property was small and you didn't feel like just another tourist. It really did feel like a home away from home. The rooms were spacious and had everything we needed and we had brilliant views over the bay. The pool at night time is spectacular with all of the lights on. The free wi-fi was very handy and was great to sit by the pool to access it with a coffee in hand. There is a mini mart about 50 metres away and had everything we needed in the way of food and alcohol etc. and the we also rented a boat off the owner of the mini marts son.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor, best sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

My family and I (4 adults and 1 child) have just returned from 10 nights at the Lido Sofia and we had a fantastic time. We were made to feel very welcome by the owners and all of the staff from the moment we arrived. The view from our apartment was breathtaking and the rooms were very clean and modern. The pool was the perfect size for the number of people staying at the Lido Sofia and was never overcrowded and my 4 year old son loved the kids splash pool which was also the perfect size/depth for children. Their is also a snack bar next to the pool which served a good variety of tasty snacks (especailly the Greek salad) and the ice cold Mythos went down a treat on a hot day. The beach is very clean and is only a short but steep 400 metre walk away. For evening entertainment the resort of Agios Gordios is a wonderful place with excellent restaurants and a handful of really good bars (especially Madison Garden). I'd highly recommend these apartments and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lido Sofia Apartments & Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lido Sofia Apartments & Rooms

Address: Agios Gordios, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Gordios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Specialty lodging in Agios Gordios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Lido Sofia Apartments & Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Sofia Apartments & Rooms Agios Gordios, Corfu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lido Sofia Apartments & Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.