We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aegagros Caldera Houses

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Megalochori
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aegagros Caldera Houses
Save
You added Aegagros Caldera Houses to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Megalochori 847 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Megalochori B&B and Inns
Athens, Greece
1 review
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The first time I visited Aegagros place, it was night when we arrived. The hosts welcomed us warmly and the first impression was very good.
But when I wake up next day, oh god, it was a big surprise the view I had in front of me when I opened the window: I stayed breathless!
And the breakfast a little later: fabulous!
And the overall stay for the whole week: wonderful! I felt like home. The hosts were always there whenever we needed something.
It is worthwhile to visit it!
Looking forward to go back again!

Room Tip: in front suites are large and sunny with fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

A small note to add to the raving reviews of staying @ Aegagros: the comfort of the houses, the quiet location, the kind of tourism which is promoted, the outstanding level of service and the wonderful sea view made it all worthwhile, and I must add that the excellent breakfast was exceptionally good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Where do I begin....I spent two amazing weeks at Aegagros Caldera Houses. Everyone there was so welcoming and friendly from the minute I arrived until after I had left. The house I stayed in was perfect, very comfortable and relaxing, everything you could ever want or need on your holiday. The views of the caldera and sunsets from the terrace, are the best in Santorini! They are centrally located just outside of a small village so it is nice and quiet but easy to access everything on the island. There is a market and gas station just a few minutes away which was so very convenient. The owners are very helpful and knowledgeable of where to go and what to do and will help you with arranging anything you want to make your holiday unforgettable. The best part about staying here is the breakfasts! Simply delicious, authentic, local Greek cuisine. Delicious!! I just left and can't wait to go back, the most memorable stop on my three month adventure in Europe.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Aegagros is a little paradise on earth. The view is amazing (possibly the most beautiful sunset I’ve ever seen), and the houses are all decorated with great taste and personal touches. The site is easily accessed and sheltered from the crowd and noise of Santorini’s tourist centres. The hosts were all warmly welcoming, helpful and hospitable – even the cute little kitty was friendly! And the homemade breakfast was delicious, varied and cooked with mostly local produce. In many ways the place combined the best aspect of a hotel in the level of service and comfort with the coziness and charm of a family home. A perfect base to spend some days in Santorini!
I spent a week there many years ago in my teens and had always hoped to go back one day. I left this place a few days ago hoping for exactly the same thing again in the future!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in one of the Aegagros Caldera Houses.
It was wonderful, beautiful view from our terrace, quiet and peaceful, well away from the crowds in Fira.
The house was very clean and imaginatively furnished.
The hosts were very friendly and helpful (even taking us across to the beaches to go swimming) and gave us lots of information about the area.
A highlight was being taken down to the local family church, also perched on the side of the cliff, and learning its history and customs.
The welcome meal was a gourmet surprise and the wonderful breakfasts, served on our terrace, kept us going all day.
A rental car or bike is recommended as its great to explore the lesser known areas of the island. It would also be good to be able to go to Fira and Oia in the late afternoon when the towns are quieter. The local buses are good, they use Fira as their hub but stop running early in the evening.
This was one of the best places we have ever stayed.
We would return in a flash if it wasnt so far from New Zealand.
We hope to meet up again some day.

Room Tip: The end house was very private and had a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Last summer me and some friends stayed in this beautiful place for some days. I must say that the view over the caldera is simply awesome. The appartments are far from the main towns but the isle is not big and you can easily reach any place by quad, scooter or car. I recomend rent any of them because is essencial to enjoy all Santorini from there. The best, apart the nice view, is the quiet atmosfere, no sounds can be heard from any road due to his proper location. It seems to be a family run business, and they try to make you feel confortable. The wellcome dinner was a great surprise, the quality and care they put to give greek food is remarkable. In the morning they place a fantasitc breakfast on the outside table as soon as you decide to open the window as signal. The dinner watching the sunset is a whole experience. Last day they gave us a lift to the ferry (so nice). I really recomend this place and once I've been there I think it would be a great option for that ones who want give a suprise to his couple.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aegagros Caldera Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aegagros Caldera Houses

Address: Megalochori 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Megalochori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Megalochori
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aegagros Caldera Houses 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests are welcomed in our traditional Cycladic accommodation, which are large houses, traditionally furnished to the highest standards. Views from huge verandas overlook the Volcano and the Aegean Sea with ships silhouetted on the horizon and sunsets that are guaranteed to be captivating. Your breakfast includes organically grown fruit from our grounds as well as the famous Santorini tomatoes which you can pick from our vines in the grounds. Sincerely yours, Katerina Akyla ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aegagros Caldera Houses Santorini, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aegagros Caldera Houses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.