We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful views and relaxing holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thermes Luxury Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Thermes Luxury Villas to your Saves list
Thermes Luxury Villas
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Megalochori Caldera, Megalochori 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Megalochori B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dorking
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful views and relaxing holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Villa was clean but does have many faults. The decking around the pool needs replacing, the sun cushions are thin and tatty and one of the outside chairs was broken.
Internally, the decor and furnishings are sparse and minimilistic. The bedrooms lack sufficient wardrobe space, mats beside the beds and chairs. The kitchen is a joke; all you get is a modular unit with 2 electric rings, no oven and a miniture sink - no pots or pans to cook with. Our kettle did not work and there was no microwave; The plumbing is "an experience" and the smells from the sinks and shower were not pleasant. You cannot drink the water and you are charged for bottled water. One evening, the water had run out so we had to do without a shower for the next 2 hours until a tanker braught in a tanker load and had to unload it ito the tanks. The nearest shop is a ten minute walk up the hill along a road with no pavement. Locally, the nearest restaurants are a ten minute walk away, again along a road with no street lights or a pavement, - quite intersting at night ! Saying all this, the view from the terrace and from the first floor is quite simply breathtaking and makes up for the faults. The staff are brilliant and extremely helpful but the villas do need some repairs and tidying up urgently.

Room Tip: All the Villas are basically the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    10
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
52
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were really looking forward to our stay at these Villas- the website and reviews got us really excited. But I couldn't help having a feeling of disappointment during our stay. We were a group of 2 couples and 2 little girls aged 2 and 5.

Yes the view is amazing, and watching the sunset with the bottle of sparkling wine left in our room was special. Some really nice finishes have been used to make the villa appear nice, but there has obviously been little maintenance undertaken to keep the villa in good condition. Examples include-
-the spiral metal staircase, which is really a deathtrap. Two bolts were dislodged from the floor and wall, the whole structure sat crooked and creaked and swayed when walked on. At the top the floor is cut away with no handrail, and a child could easily fall away to the floor below. Needless to say, our children were forbidden to use the staircase.
-the wooden floors creaked so loudly, it was impossible to walk around without waking up others.
-glass shower panel missing so bathroom flooded.
-internal framing of 2 out of 3 dining chairs broken so couldn't be sat on comfortably/safely.
-access panel in other bathroom hanging at an angle, not fixed properly.

The top bedroom had such a low ceiling it was impossible to stand up in, you hit your head and it was not possible to dress in it. The room felt stuffy.

The villa is fitted with a kitchenette and cooktop. We bought some pasta to cook up for a simple dinner for the children one night, but realised there was no cookware or utensils- you aren't allowed to actually cook in the room?! Thankfully reception organised for the restaurant next door to cook up the pasta for us, which we were grateful for.

Room service expensive- add 8 euro per person for delivery. Cocktails around the pool $14 euro each.

We came back to our room one day at 3.30 and our room was still not made up. My little girl had a nap in one of the rooms, and when the cleaning lady came I said it was fine to go in the rest of the house, the door to the room was shut and she'd stay asleep. But for some reason she wouldn't go in, so none of the villa was serviced and we weren't even given clean towels which we needed. Not quite sure why.Also not given the order form for breakfast the next day, so delivery for that was mucked up.

So just a few things that all added up to take away the 'Luxury' feel about the villas, as they certainly weren't a cheap place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syrigos A, Ιδιοκτήτης at Thermes Luxury Villas, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write your detailed review. This way we will be able to make sure that our guests receive the superior and excellent service they are entitled to and also make some clarifications regarding your points.

Thermes was built and operating since the year 2010 so there is no actual question whether the maintenance of the good condition of the villa Artemis which you have been accommodated was overlooked. The villa is 3 years old , brand new and perfectly maintained, especially due to the 2 following facts:
1) The natural and therefore alive wooden floor and,
2) The metal staircase connecting the two floors
Thermes Luxury villas are designed and built according to traditional architecture and style, thus the metal staircase, the wooden floor and the domes. Combined with the modern facilities we try to create the unique experience of an unforgettable stay.
Therefore we need to state
1) That the metal staircase is built as it is in order to maintain its form during the changes of the temperature and also operates as an absorber for a comfortable and safe usage.
2) The unavoidable light squeaking of the wooden floor derives from the natural origin of the structure

Regarding your other points we are truly saddened and to find out you have been disappointed with our services during your entire stay and we thought opposite.

The bathroom in the ground floor consists only of a Jacuzzi tab with no panel hanging from nowhere and yes indeed the upper bathroom was missing a panel from the shower due to shortage of the particular part but the bathroom could not have ever flooded because of the 2 drainage systems on the floor.

The dining chairs were and they continue to be in excellent condition. We are very surprised by your remark and we truly cannot understand how you mistook them for broken. And we are really also surprised to find out that although you were so uncomfortable for not having a proper equipment to sit and dine you didn’t even mention it.

The top bedroom was designed under the notion of a loft-attic, therefore neither closets nor wardrobes were installed. This is why the wide and large living room area of the first floor exists. You may also find a space under the stairs with a trail and hangers.

The room service of the Athermi restaurant costs 8 € PER ORDER NOT PER PERSON. Since we rely on an external restaurant associate for meals to be brought inside your villa upon your request, we may not present them packaged. We place them in dishes and we serve them properly as a luxury unit ought to.
And also regarding breakfast being mucked up. The normal order takes either a phone call or an on the spot request order in the front desk. Since none of the 2 occurred respecting your privacy and also thinking you may disliked the dishes we served for breakfast we haven’t insisted on calling you to give us the breakfast order.

Finally regarding the very important matter of cleaning service of a luxury unit as Thermes is, the particular day when you requested of the maids not to enter in the room that the little girl was sleeping, you or your friends told them to just leave the clean towels and that it would be fine.
Respecting the guests privacy and do not disturbing them, is our first priority, therefore it is no question that the maids always service the villa as they are supposed to unless the guest asks differently or at a later time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Thermes Luxury Villas for 3 nights during our honeymoon. We first arrived and were happy with the large personal pool and 2 outdoor sitting areas overlooking the Caldera. Upon entering we saw that the old charm to the quarters was nice and Romantic. The woman that works the desk was very helpful with everything we needed including advice on where to go and helped set up daily trips. Breakfast was brought to the outdoor patio every morning and was set up like a 5 star restaurant. The staff was very accommodating and polite. The location is beautiful and quiet, with a short taxi ride to Fira for some shopping and food.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in villa Athina in Thermes Luxury Suites for 2 nights. This is a villa suitable for 2 to 6 persons.
Thermes Luxury Suites is located atop of one of the cliffs of Santorini, exactly right across where the sun sets every night. It is quiet and offers a lot of privacy. Do rent a car or something else to get around though. The day before we went to Thermes, we went to Oia to watch the famous Santorini sunset and were appalled by the amount of tourists with the same idea. Thousands of people gather in the small streets of Oia to watch the sunset, causing crowded alleyways and terraces of restaurants ( who don't have to deliver real quality since the tourists will come anyway). In the end, it was just a sunset (beautiful of course), but enjoying it with so many people ( even sitting on rooftops to do so) takes a lot of the romance away. To return to your car (and the 45 minutes back to the south of the island ) takes forever, since the many people cause pedestrian traffic jams in the small alleys of Oia. It must be torture to live there and experience this every night.

Now: the next day at Thermes: different story, a gorgeous sunset, with also a real view of the caldera, with a glass of wine in beautiful serene surroundings, quiet, the ABSOLUTE best. A1- location for sure.
The villa is gorgeous, lots of white, blue and simplicity. No frills, but functional and pretty. Every villa has its own pool looking out over the sea, each villa has strategically placed balconies/terraces. 2 bathrooms and 3 bedrooms (in our villa), with very comfortable beds ( they call it queen size, but in fact they are king size ), 3 floors, 2 living rooms (although you really want to spend your time outside). There are 7 villas in total, varying in size.

Breakfast can be ordered the day in advance (included) and is wonderful, served poolside on the terrace. Eggs, toasted sandwiches, fruitsalads, etc.

Now for the tips:
they have an arrangement with the Athina restaurant (which isn't very good, but has the same killer view ), where you can order food in. However, you have to pay a huge 8€ per person extra to have it delivered to your villa (50 -100 meters away). This is a ridiculous price and even if you can afford it (Thermes is not cheap of course), for 5 people, you'd pay 40€ just for a small stroll!.
Also, we made a reservation for 5 people. We had to call several times to remind them we were with 5, because everything was brought to us for 4. 4 Pooltowels, 4 bathroom towels, 4 breakfasts; just a tiny bit more attention and professionalism would increase the stature of this place enormously. Drinking water should be provided for free in a place like this; it is 35 cents a bottle (large) in the Carrefour supermarket, it wouldn't hurt to provide 2 bottles a day.

These are only tips however, because the staff is most agreeable and friendly and we had an absolute wonderful time. We loved the place! I would recommend it to everyone!

Last but not least: my son walked a pathway to a small beach at the bottom of the cliff. It was beautiful, he said. Totally isolated. There is a small pebble beach down there. You can probably snorkel there too (check with reception first for safety). The way up is quite strenuous though, don't underestimate it and bring water along. Our 16 year old was completely out of breath when he returned.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Our first visit to Santorini and this hotel made our stay amazing! Beautiful villas, stunning views of the Caldera and just wonderful, wonderful staff. Very central and easy to rent a car and explore the rest of the island. We left to go sailing the other islands and missed our villa; highly recommend staying there when you visit!

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Had a lovely stay at the Thermes Villa for a friend's wedding. Could not have asked for more between the private pool, gorgeous view and the friendliest/nicest staff I've ever encountered. They really made our stay. It was easy to rent a car and explore other parts of the island. The villas are clean and with a contemporary Greek feel. If you're considering this for a wedding, you and your guests will not be disappointed by the location and the service. I would love to come back here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corfu, Greece
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed at the Termes suites for 6 nights at the end of June for our honeymoon. We had been told over the phone a few weeks before our stay that we had been upgraded and that we were going to receive a complimentary couples massage but unfortunetly when we arrived we discovered that they had forgetten. Netherless, everything else was perfect. The staff and owner were very freindly and helfull and always willing to help. Breakfast was more than enough and it was great to be served at our villa. I read another review that it was not alsways served on time. That never occured with us. Our villa (the smallest) was huge and more than enough for two people. I do recommend the 4 dinners offered. We had one served the first day we arrived and it was excellent. We ate it on the balcony overlooking the caldera during sunset. Wow. I highly recommend staying at this hotel. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thermes Luxury Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thermes Luxury Villas

Address: Megalochori Caldera, Megalochori 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Megalochori
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Megalochori
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thermes Luxury Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thermes Villas is a traditional Cycladic hotel where the elements of rock, wood, white and blue colors dominate in its decoration. Simple yet chic, traditional yet luxurious with a sense of space, style and colorful ambiance. Along with the stylish interiors come the outstanding exteriors. All suites offer large balconies with wooden floors giving you a sense of being in a deck of a deluxe cruise liner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Thermes Luxury Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thermes Luxury Villas Hotel Megalochori
Thermes Luxury Villas Santorini, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thermes Luxury Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.