We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Cretan holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Natalia's House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Douliana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Natalia's House
Save Saved
You added Natalia's House to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   Douliana, Crete, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lovely Cretan holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Stayed for 10 days with Vasso at her houses in June 2014. Amazing welcome and beautiful traditional Cretan style apartment. We stayed in her 2 bedroom accom - perfect for a family of four.
Vasso treated us to food and drink most days (her stuffed tomatoes are fabulous) and the apartment was spotlessly serviced every other day.
Communal area small but perfectly formed, with a fantastic open kitchen and triangular pool.

Excellent location to visit nearby towns/beaches. Local beach in Almirida a must for anyone with kids (10 mins by car). Stavros beach half an hour away. Georgioupoli 15 mins.

Room Tip: Get in touch with the owner before you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Natalia’s is a special place for those who wish to truly experience Crete. Vasso is a welcoming and warm hostess who speaks English and French. Our house, Dias, was large and charming, some of the decor turned out to be family heirlooms. It was also very clean and fully equipped.

We found this to be a perfect base for our exploration of western Crete. It’s easy to get to Chania and the beaches. But the immediate surroundings also have much to offer. We hiked around the countryside, explored the nearby villages, and ate fine food which was available everywhere. Our favorite outing, which I highly recommend, was taking the spectacular drive to the south beach town of Hora Sfakion. After each day of exploration, we returned to this place of flowers, peace and quiet. Vasso is also a wonderful cook and an offer to sample her cooking should be accepted!

A car would seem to be a must. For walking in the area, go to the tourist office in Vamos and purchase their book on hiking.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douliana, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We spent a week in September 2013 in Natalia's House in the wonderful small village Douliana together with our family and friends. The young couple, Mimmi and Olli, had arranged it all together with Vasso and it was just fantastic - a very good way to meet new "relatives" ! And the wedding ceremony in the church followed by a wonderful dinner and evening on the taverna was a memory for the rest of our lives! Thank you all! Gerd and Kim, the parents of the bride

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

31.8-07.09.2013

We spent a marvelous fun week in the picturesque little village of douliana with 50 wedding guests. The accommodation for us and the guests was put together with the help of madame Vasso from natalia's houses. Many great thanks for her, Manolis from Manolis houses (also the local winemaker) and Constantine from the Iliopetra apartments for making it possible and giving us an unforgettable time!
We arrived to Douliana quite late and tired from the flight so it was comforting to notice that all the fridges contained some complimentary treats for the fatigued travelers (beer, bread, fruits etc.).
Waking up the next day we were like newborns with all the fatigue washed away by the fresh mountain air and the kind warm sun, ready to embark on numerous adventures (and sunbathing on the beach).
During this week we organized a nice grillparty at Natalia's houses with the help of Vasso, she was also kind enough to take us to a local vineyard were we could all help press the wine with our feet, something I don't think many will ever experience! Their wine was delicious!
We even got the village priest to bless our marriage at the church in the traditional way! That was truly fantastic and a interesting ceremony. To finish the week the local taverna with Nicos and Anna made the whole group a mouthwatering dinner with four courses, and the party went on through the night! Fantastic.
To sum it up we felt that everything went really smooth once we got rid of our need for detailed planning, for the Kretan way in "don't worry, we will think about it when it's time to think about it".
Everyone in the village were truly helpful and friendly and we couldn't have asked for a better way to celebrate our marriage with all the friends and family!
Oh, and the houses were really clean and cosy!
We want to thank everyone in Ntouliana, and will warmly recommend it to you all!
Olli & Mimmi

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Truely beautiful, spotless accommodation .Vasso and Andreas made our first visit to Crete a very
memorable one.Tasting Vasso's local specialities was a real treat(superb lunch was prepared for us when we arrived), even goodies in the fridge which was so handy as we were on foot. Vasso is a fantastic host and couldn't have been more helpful, even getting in her car to look for us when we were a little late returning one evening - kindness personified.We were made to feel like one of the family .Douliana is a very pretty village where life goes on unhurriedly.If you are seeking a quintessential Cretan experience then Natalia's houses are the perfect place but would recommend that you have a car if you want to explore as no buses pass the village.A very enjoyable stay and one that will stay with us for long time. Judith & Erina

Room Tip: We stayed in "Lydia" with a small outside patio where we sat to enjoy breakfast in the sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We arrived on Wednesday evening, 18 September, at 9.30pm to be greeted warmly - and with a delicious vegetarian meal , everything either from Vasso's own garden or the garden of friends, and fresh invigorating local wine. We stayed 48 hours (would that longer could have been possible), and can't speak highly enough of both our peaceful little cottage and its garden, and of the generous hospitality we received. Symptomatic of the latter was the way that neither that evening meal nor the very tasty home-made soup (with meatballs) which became our lunch the next day appeared on our very reasonable bills, but more important and striking still was the charm, friendliness and humanity of our hosts.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Wonderful, beautiful, romantic, peaceful and quiet house and the whole village. We all three were more than satisfied. Vasso made us welcome with such an extra kind hospitality. She was like a good godmother from a fairytale, who made our stay very comfortable and easy. The breakfast that Vasso made herself, was generous and versatile. And there was also opportunity to swim in a pool. Unfortunately we had only one night to stay there. Next time we'll stay longer, so that we can experience more of the village. I can heartily recommend Natalia's House for anyone, who long for beauty, peace and quietness.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Natalia's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natalia's House

Address: Douliana, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Douliana
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Douliana
Hotel Class:3 star — Natalia's House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Natalia's House Douliana, Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Natalia's House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.