We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Djerba Sun Club

Save Saved
You added Djerba Sun Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Djerba Sun Club
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Zone Touristique, Playa Sidi Mehrez, Djerba Island 4116, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Room was not ready but only waited 20 minutes with a beer by the pool.
Reception were helpful & friendly.
Room was basic but sheets & towels were clean and the bed was so comfy, balcony with no one over looking us.Toilet worked, shower over bath and hot water all the time. Lighting very dim, if you want to read sit outside on the balcony. One socket for the whole room, telly worked and found an English channel. Air con also worked. Take your own hairdryer.
Food was fine, also beer & wine. There is another place to eat on site at lunchtime, like pizza, kebabs and omelettes, very nice, you have to book the day before at reception.
Entertainment during the day & evening was very good they always make you laugh and are not pushy at all. The staff like English people, they are polite & friendly. Sue in Sussex

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    328
    165
    67
    56
See reviews for
241
222
46
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hedon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

As per other reviews we arrived at the hotel at 10.30am to be told room was not ready and sat in reception. After 1 hour we checked again to be told room still not ready, no rep on our bus so no directions given! we sat outside near the pool for another hour then went back to reception. We were told we could have lunch, the choice was excellent and tasted great. After lunch our room was ready and again as other reviews stated not brilliant but clean and basic. We met other english holiday makers and there were 8 brits out of 400 staying here. Although staff did not speak much english they really made the effort to try to communicate with all of us and were very helpful and friendly. Entertainment was fantastic throughout the stay and they made special announcments frequently for the brits as they really love us!. We did a taxi to the port which was 5 dinars (about £2.00) and went on a pirate boat trip to Flamingo Island for 25 dinars each (£10 each!) instead of going through the reps which wanted to charge 45 Euros!. It has its own private beach with security staff who looked after all bags whilst we were swimming in the sea or if we wanted to go back to the hotel for lunch. After a poor start we had an amazing holiday and cannot wait to go back again next year!! The staff work so hard and were very happy to try and learn to speak english as best they could so patience and understanding with them was very rewarding xx

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We chose Djerba because we like to holiday off the beaten track and this hotel seemed reasonable priced and looked ok on the internet and in the travel brochures. We were not prepared for the disaster which took place on arrival on 6th September 2012.
We arrived at the hotel mid morning after quite a good flight, but were told in very broken English that the room was not available until 12pm. We were too tired to argue so sat in reception to wait. At 12.15 we went back to the desk for an update and were told it would now be 2pm but we could use the restaurant for lunch. So we did, we joined the queues of what seemed like hundreds of people all at the only serving area, we were told there was more food outside but the queues were just as bad there, and also at the self service drinks machines. After about 20 mins we sat down to eat our food which was now cold. We both left more than we ate as it was floating in oil.
We returned to reception to wait some more. Eventually we got to our room at 2.30 and because we had been up over 30 hours, we just crashed. When we woke we were able to see the enormity of how bad the place was. The place was so old, dirty and worst of all, falling apart. The toilet seat was cracked, how unhygienic is that, the skirting boards were rotting and falling off. As for the decor in the bathroom, if you weren't ill to start with, you would be after a visit in there. Which brings me to my next point, suddenly we both made a mad dash for the loo, the lunch had taken its toll and wanted to make an entrance!!! and that is how it was for the rest of the day and night. Following morning we called Sandra, the Thomson rep, we said we wanted out of this hellhole or on the next available flight home. She suggested a choice of 3 hotels but as this was Friday, the booking offices was not open until Monday, that meant we had to stay in the Sun Club, apart from when we sat in reception, close to the loo, we sat on our balcony. We were both so ill, but we had to eat, and each time we did, it made it worse. I could not wait any longer, I called the rep again and told her we would go to the Riu Palm Azur as soon as possible. In the meantime, we texted First Choice asking about the earliest flight home, their reply was only one seat on the plane on the Thursday at a cost of £185. No good to us, we went as a couple but they did not even ask why or if there was a problem, anyway, I digress. Back to this hotel, there was only one plug socket in the room which the TV was in, but we couldnt watch that, there was a channel for BBC news but the picture was so bad you could only listen. The lighting in the room was totally inadequate, hardly bright enough to read by and certainly not enough to do hair and make up by. There was no hairdrier and the room itself was like something out of the ark.
I would not recommend this place to anyone, even back packers would reject it. The staff were not friendly unless you were French or Polish and the food was catered for them as well. There were a few bars on the resort but mainly juice bars, one sold alcohol, lager, the British Pub only sold branded spirits at a cost of nearly 10 Dinar, nearly five pounds for a single shot. Luckily we bought a bottle in duty free so were able to have a drink in the evening.
To say never again would be an understatement and I cannot imagine that anyone English would sing this places praises as there weren't any.
We are currently trying to get back the extra £300 cost for changing hotels, including the taxi fare between them. Please see this as a warning, for the good of your health and pocket, DO NOT GO THERE!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa Sidi Mehrez hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I stayed here in May 2012. My room was - frankly - below standard, not very clean, no hairdryer, no hangers in the wardrobe, the TV had nothing for me (English) telephone not working - normally that would not bother me but the evenings here are so noisy in the communal areas that I wanted to be as far away as possible! The food is ok, they have to cater for so many nationalities the chef's job must be a nightmare. In. In common with many of the mass- tourism hotels here there is a lot of enforced jollity and "animation" which personally I hate but each to their own and the hotel staff seemed to do it very well. I will give a huge "thumbs up" for their spa which does fabulous facials and massages.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My trip started badly, was not initially chosen this hotel ... however due to overbooking we were put in this hotel. The late receipt by dawn brought no good impression and in the morning the sea water and part of sandy in the hotel's private beach was "almost prohibitive" due to a enormous concrentation of algae. After several complaints from many guests on the two following days the beach was finally clean. Daily we had a visit of several horses and camels along the beach for tourists who like to walk with them, which has become typical and an excelent background for these holidays. The distance to the beach is about 5 min walking inside the complex. Also the food on the first day seemed very precarious and the idea that I was to be at the time of Ramadan, but that idea was quickly contradicted with a enough quality and also showing some variety in dishes buffet and show cocking presented. The animation team is very fun, making a great show alls nights and various activities during the day in the pool and on the beach. The better rooms are located in the villages within the large complex, are simple but spacious with shower and with a modern air conditioning, however the window frames of the roof remained entire stay without being repaired. The hotel have 2 swimming-pools, one biggest and other normal. The hotel staff is polite. In short, I liked and would back, bearing in mind that we are talking about a 3-star hotel in Djerba, Tunisia, and in time of Ramadan.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Last year, we were in 5 stars hotel in Mahdia. This year we have chosen 3 stars hotel in Jerba island. Here is our review.

Room:
When we arrived we got the room with traffic view. The room was not good for us, so we changed it next day. We got a very nice room which was situated near the small pool, and with a view on the big pool also, one balcony and one terrace. TV with French, Arabic, German, Polish channels. No safe, fridge and hair dryer in the room. Rooms were daily cleaned. Towels were daily changed.

Food:
Be prepared for Tunisian food. For someone is good for someone not. Everything tasted the same for us. Breakfast is ok – croissant, chocolate cakes, French baguette, cereals, milk, cafe, jam, butter, vegetables, apple, peach, cheese, frankfurters, …
No water in plastic bottles, only big bottle of water but you can fill up your own bottle.
You should drink some alcohol in the morning before a first meal to avoid stomach problems. If you get the stomach problem, buy the tablets in the pharmacy. Good and fast busboy service.

Beach:
Sandy beach, clear blue-green sea, no palm on the beach. Beach bar – no alcohol in the bar, on the right side of the beach is a ruined old hotel, that is not good, break sun chairs, free windsurfing and water bikes and volleyball.
Sometimes the green and dark seaweed is on the beach, in the water. It is an island and nature, so you should be prepared for these days.
The sea is cold in the morning but very hot after lunch. Every day the sea was different. It depends on the weather. It is an island.
If you go to the beach, you must cross the public road. The security man is on the entry. Hotel beach is closed after 19:00.
Horse and camels are on the beach. Ride a horse and camels, it is a nice experience.
A lot of water sports near the hotel beach as parachute, water scooter…

Entertainment:
The night animations are only for french speaking, disco club was closed, british pub was opened for a disco, but the bar is very small for a dance, billiard is in the reception hall.

Used languages:
If you are french and german speaking it is good for you. A few people are english speaking.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripoli, Tarabulus, Libya
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

It's a nice place, well located, focused in an all-in concept to mass tourism. The check-in was very bad, I was waiting for 3 hours and they were saying that sorry we do not have avilable rooms and do not rely on booking by internet and they said I have to call the hotel one day before to find out about my conformation, we arrived by 2h15m AM and the restaurant is prepared to serve us a little snack (we are about 2 persons), after check-in. The rooms are very small, ; our don't have bathtub but a shower. The.food was awful .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Djerba Sun Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Djerba Sun Club

Address: Zone Touristique, Playa Sidi Mehrez, Djerba Island 4116, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island > Playa Sidi Mehrez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Playa Sidi Mehrez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Djerba Sun Club 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Djerba Sun Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Djerba Sun Club Hotel Playa Sidi Mehrez
Djerba Sun Hotel
Hotel Djerba Sun
Djerba Sun Club Djerba Island, Tunisia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Djerba Sun Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.