We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please, do not have high expectations!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Djerba Sun Club

Save Saved
You added Djerba Sun Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Djerba Sun Club
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Zone Touristique, Playa Sidi Mehrez, Djerba Island 4116, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Odense, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Please, do not have high expectations!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

If you have read some of my other reviews, you may have noticed that I normally don't give negative reviews. This is unfortunately not the case this time. I've stayed at quite a few hotels and resorts, and experienced the All-Inclusive concept before. This time all my negative assumptions about eating boring tasteless food in cafeteria-like surroundings unfortunately were spot on!

The rooms:

Simple rooms with a bed, a chair, a small table and a non-working 14" television. Everything has seen better days, but I guess it's OK for a 3 star hotel, but it was not very clean. There are only 2 power outlets (one for the TV and one in the bathroom), but they don't work unless you are in the room. This makes charging cameras, laptops etc. difficult. The bathrooms have a bathtub.

The food:

The buffet is really low quality, and probably the worst I've seen. Normally I enjoy trying local food, but this was so boring and tasteless that I might as well just have stuck my tongue out the window. Everything tasted the same, and nothing contained spices what so ever. Everything was overcooked and most of it was even served cold. The bread was so dry that I wouldn't even feed it to the birds! The cakes were pretty good though, and the breakfast was OK with eggs, pancakes, salad (?!) and croissants. The restaurant only serves wine, water and other soft drinks. If you'd like a beer with your meal, you'll have to get it from the lobby bar, and that's pretty annoying. The same thing goes for a cup of coffee after dinner. The wine served is not very good, but some may find it OK.

The beach:

The beach was not very clean, but that may be different in the summer. Besides the garbage it seemed nice.

The pool areas:

The large pool was nice, but the animation team was a bit annoying. They play loud music most at the day, and arrange silly games and shows. The sunbeds are totally worn out, and if you have no intention of breaking your spine or ribs, then please don't use them! There is a smaller pool area as well, with no music and entertainment, and that's where we stayed most of the time. The sunbeds there were just as poor though.

The surrounding area:

If you like going out at night this is certainly not the right place. Besides a large casino nearby, there is absolutely nothing to do! No bars, shops or even a café... There is a marked in Midoun about 6 kilometers from the hotel. A taxi is approx. 4 TND in the daytime and double at night. If (when) you get tiered of the buffet, the casino next to the resort has a great restaurant. It’s a very nice place with first class service, very good food and affordable prizes. We had Chateau Briand for 4 persons and two bottles of nice local red wine and a large bottle of water for 150 TND. Please give it a try if you ever visit Djerba.

Conclusion:

This was my first time in Tunisia, so I really can't compare Djerba Sun Club to other hotels in the area, but I'm sure I will not come back to this place. Please note that I’m not the kind of person who pays for a 3 star hotel and is expecting a 5 star resort with gourmet meals. I will recommend everyone to find another hotel in Djerba to stay in or - even better- to go somewhere else!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    304
    159
    61
    54
See reviews for
214
200
44
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baden-Baden
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

I was sick the first days but I guess it is normal in a place like that - fortunately another woman told me not to eat the Salad (they wash it with the tap water). Food is great and apart from some things that are not fresh the value for money is incredible here! Hotel is large and if you want to meet someone you have a good chance to do so - older crowd seems to have fun. Internet connection is very unstable in the lobby (free while it works). If you need to be online for work go elsewhere, the router frequently breaks down (30 mins) and you will have to talk to the reception to restart it again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

This hotel caters for French only. The cleanliness standard is poor, food is awful, beach is covered in seaweed and more than 400 metres from the hotel.
The only bar is reluctant to serve you, beer is served in small plastic "glasses", the only spirit served is Fig Schnapps - note: there are not any spirits avaliable!!!! The wine is sour, soft drinks are yukkie. Don't trust the "diet" coke, it's too syrupy to be diet!
There isn't a quiet place to sit in the evenings and you are constantly badgered to join the FRENCH entertainment. You are badgered by the pool to join in the "fun" and "games" and "no" is not acceptable.
This hotel shoiuld most certainly not be an all inclusive, more like a cheap B + B somewhere!Rooms by the pool didn't have locks on, one key fitted all of the safety deposit boxes, and everywhere has steps, steps and more steps.
Thought it would be a superb holiday - it was dreadful, and we couldn't wait to get home. A total waste of money

Room Tip: Don't have a room near the main road - very noisy all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

I have just came back from a week stay at this place, 14/05/2011, it has to be the worse holiday i have ever been on, there were 300 French, 10 Germans and little Me,the Only English person in the hotel, The hotel is ok, the food is rubbish, the beach is full of Seaweed, Bolders, and Dead Animals,The Pool Bar was shut for some same strange reason and you could only ger soft drinks from anouther bar , if you wanted a beer then you had to walk into the " Main Bar " to get a very small cup full, they look at you strange because the Frence drink Coffee most of the time, i do not complain at all, i just want to let you all know what your letting yourselfs in for, best of luck, Billericay Bobby

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

I just came back from this Island on the 14th May 2011, it was bad, i stayed in the Djerba Sun Club for 1 week, i was the ONLY English person in there, about 10 Germans, Me and 300 French, the Hotel is all for the the French, and i understand that Thomas Cook are trying to break into this area, i will be E - Mailing them as well, The food was bad, Beef, Turkey, Beef, Beef, Turkey, the Beach was one of the worse i have EVER seen, Seeweed, Bolders, and dead Things ?, the pool bar was closed, i never found out why ?, so only soft drinks around the pool, or you could walk into the Main Bar and bring out around a quater of a pint of Lager if you were lucky, i dont run down where i go or stay, But Please be advised that you will be the Only English over there, i couldnt speak French and apart from that they dont like us anyway. Best of luck if you still go, Billericay Bobby

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

I had a funny week meeting new people there. But let's have a short look:

-First impression: Hotel was easy and clean. Rooms in the first floor less clean because of bugs and ants .. so we changed the room and it was better on the second floor.
-Restaurant: i didn't like the food ... but the food in general is fit to eat (i prefere more the food of my mom haha)
-Pool: if you don't want to fall in love with an animator, don't spend your time there! ;-)) I was the fulltime on the beach .. for people who likes to play volley and ride horses it's good!
-Show's in the evening: very professional.. there are a lot of artists who are wasted for a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dordogne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2007

just back from one week in this hotel and would rate it as a good holiday, I am an expat living in france and booked the holiday on a french website, flying from paris, the hotel and facilities are basic but clean and set in a nice garden area, the sea is only a few minutes away. The food was excellent although the breakfasts were a bit mundane and had no worries about any tummy upsets compared to staying at the sheraton sharm el sheik last year where I had food poisioning for a week. The staff are all friendly, but of course speak mainly french and a bit of german which you will find on most of the island, the souk at houmt souk is a pain with all the hassling but if you stand your ground and not be intimidated it is good fun, overall a good cheap holiday, compared to something the same price in say Spain

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Djerba Sun Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Djerba Sun Club

Address: Zone Touristique, Playa Sidi Mehrez, Djerba Island 4116, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island > Playa Sidi Mehrez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Playa Sidi Mehrez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Djerba Sun Club 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your Djerba Sun Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Djerba Sun Club Hotel Playa Sidi Mehrez
Djerba Sun Hotel
Hotel Djerba Sun
Djerba Sun Club Djerba Island, Tunisia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Djerba Sun Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.